Cassie 8/1-2;1 year dx anniversary

Status
Not open for further replies.
One year ago today, I took my boys to the vet for a checkup. It had been several years--I had been a broke grad student, and then I moved and hadn't established a new vet in the area. Cass has lost a LOT of weight fairly quickly--5 or 6 pounds in about 6 weeks. He was down to around 10 from 16 lbs. They ran bloodwork and announced that he was diabetic.

I didn't panic, although I was overwhelmed. I think I surprised the vet with some of my questions--but I'm a type 2 diabetic myself. Came home on 1u prozinc once a day, with prescription canned food. Just over a week later he was back at the vet with ketoacidosis. He was vomiting everywhere, would sit in front of the water bowl but couldn't figure out how to drink, and willing to be manhandled by my neighbor, a relative stranger. My vet is not a 24-hour place (the closest is about 1 1/2 away--but they implied that the price for hospitalization was out of my reach). They were force feeding him. The third day they came in in the morning and he was unconscious from low blood sugar. I ended up taking him to the "local" vet hospital (also 1 1/2 away). He spend a total of 8 days at the vet or in the hospital before they let him come home.

While he was at the vet I found FDMB and made my first post. I learned about home testing (which I had asked about but the vet wasn't interested) and feeding low carb. Cass came home and almost immediately crashed. The board helped me through the hypo and we started reducing his dose.

There was a long transition to canned food (wouldn't eat it a first). We reduced, tried dosing tid for a while, went back to bid, reduced to nothing and went back up. He became a pro at bouncing. It took about 8 months before I felt comfortable considering Cass regulated. He's now on half his highest dose, and doing fairly well (anti-jinx). My stand-offish youngest has become a lap cat. I sit in the recliner and I have an instant cat.

OTJ is still a distant dream, but he's come much further than I ever expected. It's still depressing when someone posts in a panic, and then is OTJ three weeks later, but I've learned to roll with the punches. I don't worry when I leave for work. I know Cass will be fine, and the Prozincers will be there for advice when I need it.

One year anniversary. Didn't expect to make it here. Keep up the good work, Cass cat.
 

Attachments

  • 102111163629-1.jpg
    102111163629-1.jpg
    12.9 KB · Views: 664
What a wonderful story, Lisa. Cass is so lucky to have a Mom who was willing to trust some crazy cat people on the internet, learn how to hometest and jump into the sugar dance with both feet.

I don't understand why some cats go off the juice within a month or less and some don't. I have seen cats who celebrate their one (and two) year anniversaries as diabetics and then eventually go OTJ. After his Tigger episodes, I am just glad he stopped bouncing and that he is in regulated numbers. He seems to be a kitty that is especially sensitive to dose changes - even .2 changes his numbers pretty drastically - which is fairly unusual.

Congrats to you and Cass on your journey. Glad you are here in the PZI family.
 
'Happy' Anniversary - altho' I know we'd rather say "OTJ" instead. I have a very soft heart for all black and white kitties with masks. We just passed our 1 year dx in June - I keep hoping we'll have to do that day/night testing nightmare/feeding/worrying too. But....our babies are still needing help so we'll just keep dancing to the same tune! You've been thru a lot this last year but you've learned SO much. BIG HUGE HUG and BIG pat on the back too!!!!
 
I remember how scarry it was in the beginning. What a long way you and Cassie have come in one short year.

You and Cassie have made great dancing partners and look how nicely regulated he is. Good job by both of you.
 
Lisa,
Thanks for posting that last green smiley! And thanks even more for posting the link to your very first thread. I just re-read it. It actually got me all choked up.
Cass almost died, honey. Those first few days must have been hell for you. And look at you and Cass and Bennie now. Is he OTJ? No, but he's alive, and he's well, and he's your lap kitty.
You have done an amazing job with all of this, Lisa. You're a terrific momma bean.

Carl
 
What a moving story and Cass has come such a long way.
The bouncing has slowed down immensely; hes regulated and doing well.
Hes so cute!
And what a nice green for your one year anniversary, Cass!
 
I finally broke down and got a cheap auto feeder. I decided that as long as [*]I'm there for shots, I can set the feeder for the +6 feeding, and if I have to test early or late, at least their food is consistent. (2 door petsafe; each boy gets his own side)

I introduced it last night when I was there; had to coax Cass to eat, and then they were begging to be fed "normally." I left at +4 today without feeding the cats (feeder set at +6); they gave me such dirty looks....hope the thing works or they'll really be mad at me.
 
Good for you and GOOD FOR THEM!!! Cass - you ROCK baby!!! So, you boing a little. We can't appreciate the pretty greens unless they're accompanied by some complimentary colors! ;-) It's his way of introducing a little art into the world of geeky spreadsheets!

Happy anniversary. You're still here, and he's doing great - it's a really good place to be, and you've done amazing with him! So pat yourself on the back, throw them each a FD chicken, shrimpie, or the treat of their liking, and raise your glass to a job well done!!! drinking24
 
Phooey. I got distracted by setting up the feeder & actually FORGOT to give Cass's shot! :oops:

So really, pmps 361, 0.6u (+16)

Reduced so I can shoot at +8 or +10 in the morning.
 
Hi Lisa
See that CAssie is still CAssie...BOING!!
Happy anniversary!
you are an awesome momma! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top