Cassie 2/1-2 6 month anniversary

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Cassie 2/1-2

Blech. Was hoping Cassie would hold steady. "Well, another great run is only a cycle away."- Lisa & Jax. That's my motto and I'm sticking with it. Stay encouraged.
 
Re: Cassie 2/1-2

We've now been dancing for 6 months. Cass was dx'd on 8/1/11. We've settled into things surprisingly well, although every time I think we're close to regulated something happens and he goes too high again. Cass seems to be feeling pretty well lately--he's at a stable weight, he picks occasional fights with his brother, and he sometimes even leaves food in the dish for more than an hour or so. (big improvement) There have (antijinx) so far been no more signs of ketones, so I'm hoping that was just the nasty uti and not enough insulin (original dose 1u sid). While he was in the hospital for dka I found this site. FDMB has been with us for most of the six months and PZIland has seen us through dka, rapidly decreasing doses, a (brief) otj trial that convinced me we had to go up instead of down, and an amazing 6-hour long run at 50 bg last week. Cass regained the weight he lost so quickly, has finally learned to eat wet food, comes running when the meter comes out (it's really the chicken), and has turned into a lap cat. cat_pet_icon

Okay, less rambling, and time to run to a meeting. Just thought I'd reflect a bit today.
 
Re: Cassie 2/1-2

Very nice reflection, Lisa. I hope some newmems will read your thread and Kim's thread today and be reassured and inspired. I am amazed at how much you do for your boy with a busy working life (and on only your phone a good part of the time). And you have never been afraid to try something new. The move downward didn't work but if it was the catalyst for increasing, it was a good thing. He is doing very well, but always willing to throw Mom a curve.
 
Re: Cassie 2/1-2

You do a great job, Lisa! I remember our first meeting.....the original hypo post in health! I was at the beach eating dinner on the waterfront and keeping track of you and Cass on my phone!

Glad things are going well for Cass!
 
Rob & Harley said:
I'm glad you rambled. Who would have thought that a side effect of FD would be turning him into a lap cat. cat_pet_icon

It's actually kind of funny. He liked attention--if he initiated it. He was more likely to want to be nearby but not touching (or touching my foot), but now when I sit in the chair he hops right up and makes himself at home. If I have time to hang out in the evening/weekend, sometimes I even have both boys in my lap at once (sheer bliss).
 
Pmps 334, 1.2u (+12)

1.2 still looks iffy but I'm holding off increasing till the weekend. 1) Cass needs to settle and 2) mom will be shooting Friday.
 
Happy half anniversary!
you have come such a long way!
and you are an amazing mom, you are both very lucky!
 
+6 116

I hate to lose momentum, but mom will be shooting on Fri. & probably won't test. Should I tell her 1.2u or 1u?
 
I can get a +4 in the morning before I go to work, but will be on the road for nadir tomorrow night. May be able to get a +4.5 or +5 before I leave, though.
 
Morning Lisa. ~O)
Seems like many kitties here are coming in high this morning. Hope he has a nice curve this cycle (anti jinx) to make it easy for you and your Mom on Friday. Have a good day today.
 
Amps 275, 1.2u (+12)

Was gonna tell mom to shoot 1u to be safe but packed wrong syringes. She'll have to shot .8 or 1.2 (u100s with no half marks & 50u capacity.
 
Lisa,
Thanks for rambling! When I see a post like this one, I always love to go back and look at the person's very first post on the board. It's awesome to read what they said then, and compare it to how they are doing "now".
I hope you don't mind my linking it here....
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=49785&p=535864#p535864
Lisa, I just reread it. What an awesome transformation that was. You went from Cass almost dying (went through two BG crashes and a short coma! Not to mention DKA), and thinking you might have to consider losing him, to picking him up to bring him home 8 days later. It was cool to see posts from me and Kim in the thread, along with all the other wonderful people who chimed in. Seems like forever ago, doesn't it?

Carl
 
You know what else is cool? The very first person to respond to you was "Jen and Squeak". Jen was also the first person who responded to my very first post in June.
Carl
 
Nice run so far.

Glad to read the linked thread only to see a picture of Cassie!!! What a pretty cat! Very handsome indeed.
 
Thanks for reflecting with us today. It's nice for us newbies to be able to read where y'all came from, too, it makes us feel like we might get where y'all are. Know what I mean?

Happy 6th month Anniversary!

Libby
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top