Cassie 12/5-7 blue at +11

Status
Not open for further replies.

bookw0rm

Member Since 2011
So yesterday's PMPS 309, .2u (+12)
+6 265
+12 254

So I went home (losing my parking place) to give him a shot, and he's lower at +12 than at +6! I went ahead and fed them (it's been 6 hours, after all). I'll try to get home at lunchtime to check on them but there's no guarantee. Silly cat! Yes, it's good he's getting good surfs but it's driving me CRAZY! :dizcat
 
Re: Cassie 12/5 Argh!

Lisa
I don't know why I've never noticed this before. But Cass has no greens on his BID SS? Since you went back to BID?

We gotta figure out how to make him see a green...

Carl
 
Re: Cassie 12/5 Argh!

+6 187 blue!

I don't think.he's ever really had a green except at the.very beginning. I'm happy to see blue.

I've been wondering if I need to increase for better numbers, maybe just a bam dose. I.ve got finals next week but then I have some time off so maybe we can experiment then when I'll be around.
 
Re: Cassie 12/5-6 blue; how do I go green?

I think a bam dose or a cycle with no insulin at all (when you are home) would help clear up the picture, Lisa. Both are scary propositions, but you know what to do if either case goes off.

I have never seen a kitty on such a low dose with his numbers.
 
Re: Cassie 12/5-6 blue; how do I go green?

amps 263, .2u (+12)

I don't think I've shot a .2 into a ps this low; let's hope he doesn't bounce! (but knowing him, he probably will)


+4 237
 
Re: Cassie 12/5-6 blue; how do I go green?

Wonder what the Pmps will be
but the numbers dont look bad, but I do wonder, as Carl said, no greens....
 
Re: Cassie 12/5-6 blue; how do I go green?

Anyone other than Sue have a suggestion (or preference between what she suggested) on how to get Cass boy to.see green?
 
Re: Cassie 12/5-6 blue; how do I go green?

I am thinking you have a gut feeling here, Lisa. What is it?

Remember whatever you choose you will be able to deal with the numbers. You know what to do with low or high numbers and you can always change it up if it doesn't work.

Send Carl and Robin pms to see what they think. And then, you decide.
 
Re: Cassie 12/5-6 blue; how do I go green?

I'll agree with Sue. My first choice would be to go without insulin, that is the safest first choice to make sure he even needs insulin, if he shoots up high than you need the insulin and should probably increase your dose and can do so with confidence after trying the no insulin route.
 
Re: Cassie 12/5-6 blue; how do I go green?

I agree with Robin that the safest first thing to do would be to go without insulin. However, due to the history of "bouncing" on as little as .2 or .1, I am not really sure that "zero" will make him drop to green. I don't see how all the above green numbers can be due to too much insulin. But it's worth a try. You'll know fairly quickly if it's the right way to go. If his numbers drop, that would be the easiest solution for sure! If they climb, then you'll know for sure that no insulin won't fix things. It should be obvious either way within one or two cycles. If you decided to try "zero", another thing you can try is to see if Cass is producing any insulin by himself. Still test him like you had given a shot. See if his numbers drop a couple hours after eating, like an "OTJ" trial. If so, even if it isn't enough insulin he's spitting out, at least you'll know that some is coming from his pancreas, right?

You have to follow your gut Lisa. I know what my gut says. You also need to think about what it is that your ultimate goal is with Cass. Maybe it's ok if he just stays in blues and yellows? I don't really know how you feel about that. And I sure as heck don't want to tell you to give him a bigger dose if that isn't what you want to do.

We're just guessing, just like you are. It's hard when it's not "my kitty", you know what I mean? It's sometimes hard to sit here and suggest something that might not be "right", and have you do it just because maybe I've been right about something else with Cass or any other kitty.

No matter what you do, please know we're right there with you, and will help and support any decision you make.

Carl
 
Re: Cassie 12/5-6 blue; how do I go green?

Pmps 269, .2u (+12.5)

Thanks for your thoughts, guys. I'll think about everything and let ya'll kniw what I decide & what happens. I appreciate you going "out on a limb" because I honestly have no clue at this point. I won't do anything one way or another before.this weekend unless I have to.
 
Re: Cassie 12/5-6 blue; how do I go green?

Lisa,
There isn't a "have to" with this. You do what you feel comfortable with, and what feels right to you. We're just the backup band, you're the lead singer.

Carl
 
Re: Cassie 12/5-6 blue; how do I go green?

+6 247

Flat again.

When I said "have to" I meant if Cass does something unexpected that requires dose adjustment. ;-)

That said, I won't be able to check at +12 today due to a meeting at work. It will probably be +15 before I can get back unless I come early. Given his propensity.for late drops on flat days I may be betrer off waiting.
 
Re: Cassie 12/5-6 blue; how do I go green?

Actually, I'm kind of afraid that I've reduced too quickly. I don't understand how he gets such good numbers on a low dose either--but after what I've seen recently with Copper and Sev's Kitty, I wonder if a bigger dose would work wonders for Cass. I've been thinking about some of the comments Dr. Lisa made about bouncing, but I'm not sure I understand her distinction. The lantus "TR" policy is not to reduce unless you get numbers under 50--which has never happened for Cass. In fact, the only green he's seen (I think) was that very first week he came home from DKA on 1.5 u bid and went scary low on the 1u I shot by mistake. Maybe I'm being too conservative.

I always thought I would start getting good, low numbers before trying on OTJ trial, or even shooting such low numbers. On the other hand, if he doesn't need the insulin any more, taking a cycle (or a day or so) OTJ is the only way I know to find out.

Of course, to complicate the mix, it's the insanely crazy end of the semester, so my schedule is all out of wack. I've got a nasty sinus infection and I don't think I"m thinking very clearly because I can't breathe. I'll do some serious thinking (and reading) in the next couple of days, but I"ll probably try the OTJ trial first. Honestly, it kind of scares me, but I think it's in a "it's too good to be possible" kind of way. And if he goes too high too quickly, (my other worry) I can always give him a shot to bring him down. (Of course, I just ordered a new bottle of ProZinc from the vet--maybe I won't need it.) I think I"m overanalyzing and over-worrying the whole thing. Cass has just driven me crazy with this whole whirlwind 4 months that I"m not sure how to react any more.

(Okay, sorry for the random babble. Just trying to get my thoughts in some semblance of order.)
 
Re: Cassie 12/5-6 blue; how do I go green?

Breathe, Lisa, breathe. He is in nice safe numbers so no hurry. Take your time.

One caution. I wouldn't try to adapt any of the Lantus protocol to ProZinc. It is such a different insulin. Lantus has the shed and that allows for a longer cycle with less chance for sudden drops. With Lantus, you can't mini dose as needed and they don't recommend that you change up the amount given. ProZin is more flexible but less constant.
 
Re: Cassie 12/5-6 blue; how do I go green?

Thanks, Sue. I know Lantus is different--it's just confusing. I'll figure something out this weekend.

+11 175.

Guess he gets to wait for a shot today. I'll be back at +15 and hope he's not sky high. :dizcat

?ps 320, .2u (+15)

Wish I'd caught him sooner.
 
If I do decide for an otj trial (& I probably will at this point), what's a good "panic.number" to decide to use to give him a shot? 350?

I know it may take time for him to adjust but I don't want him too high either.

+6 252
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top