Cassie 10/26-28 -- TID back to bouncy

Status
Not open for further replies.

bookw0rm

Very Active Member
AMPS 297, .2u (+8)

Coming down out of the pinks! Maybe this lower dose is working. Will try for a mid-cycle this afternoon; won't be able to get one this morning.
 
Re: Cassie 10/26 -- TID dose reductiont trial cont'd

Good Luck!

I have been reading and keeping up with Cass, just extremely busy....but, I think it is fair to say the .2 looks no different or worse than the .3 and .4. There doesn't appear to be a lot of difference. I am glad you are sticking with it and seeing where it leads.

Have a Great Day!
 
Re: Cassie 10/26 -- TID dose reductiont trial cont'd

Mdps 324, .2u (+8)

...or not. I thought this morning was.a good sign. This makes 3 days at .2 and it's not looking.good.
 
Re: Cassie 10/26 -- TID dose reductiont trial cont'd

At least you tried the dose reduction....so you know
now if you have to you can go up confidently!

have a great one!

Denise and Shakes
 
Re: Cassie 10/26 -- TID dose reductiont trial cont'd

+4 367

Ok...still looking inverse, which is odd. I think he's not getting enough insulin now. Been at .2 for 3 days now. Should I go ahead and increase? Back to .3 or .4? Or something else?
 
Re: Cassie 10/26 -- TID help? Dose reduction fail

Get another test at +6--lets see what is going on with this curve.
 
Re: Cassie 10/26 -- TID help? Dose reduction fail

+6 263

Now I'm just confused. I guess it depends on the pmps now. confused_cat
 
Re: Cassie 10/26 -- TID help? Dose reduction fail

Pmps 363, .3u (+8)

Realy confused now. Could he have gone up 100 pts in 2 hours w/o food? Went ahead ang gave .3 in an attempt to bring him down. May go back to .2 for ps under 300.

Thought the meter was bad so I tested myself (diabetc). His meter.said.312; mine said 297. Low test solution read 54 so should be okay. Dunno what's going on with this.cat!
 
Re: Cassie 10/26 -- TID help? Dose reduction fail

Well, he dropped 100 points in the two hours just before that, so I guess it makes sense.

MDPS 324
+4 367
+6 263
+8 363

Odd shaped smile....sort of like Elvis.

I think I suggested you combine TID with a sliding scale a couple weeks back. Maybe the line between .2 and .3 needs to be at a BG of 300? I just can't see where .2 can continue to be "too much". There's only one more step down.
 
Re: Cassie 10/26 -- TID help? Dose reduction fail

To me, the curve does not look inverse. It looks like too little insulin.
 
Re: Cassie 10/26 -- TID help? Dose reduction fail

AMPS 265, .2u (+8)

Okay, got a good PS but I didn't know whether to go with .2 or .3. Can it be too little insulin sometimes and enough others? Since it was on the lower end (for him) I stuck with .2 this morning. This is also the day I have the night class so I won't be around much today. My gut is telling me .2 isn't enough but... Dunno how to read this. Advice appreciated.
 
Re: Cassie 10/26-27 -- TID help? Dose reduction fail

Sorry but TID confuses me...I understand the theory
but there isnt much a a drop cause you are always shooting...
dont know but hang in there...with Kim's help soon enough Cassie will be regulated!
 
Re: Cassie 10/26-27 -- TID help? Dose reduction fail

Hey Lisa......I like that you changed the dose based on the preshot. I think that is the right approach at this time. When Kitty is low 200s I shoot 3.5 if she is in the high 200s or 300s I shoot 4 units. I realize that I am shooting a lot more than you are, but the rationale is the same. If I shoot too much in to the low 200s, we get a big bounce. I am thinking that when the low preshot occurs, it is based more on longer duration for the previous cycle, than the actual dose. So, my thinking is that when you get a lower preshot, that the duration on that cycle was better. Why was it better? Who knows. But, things such as absorption play a big role. So, when shoot a higher dose into a lower preshot, I think you are getting overlap and Cass is fighting the insulin....it is too much.

I agree that the .2 didn't look like enough on the higher preshots --300s, maybe if you take the approach you are doing now and vary between .2 and .3 based on the preshot, you might see some good results. I think it is worth a try. You could argue that it follows the sliding scale theory.

I never get true deep curves with TID. I think it is because with TID, the insulin is more consistent in the body. It is more evenly distributed during the 24 hours, which means the potency is not necessarily greater at anyone time. Yes, it is a little stonger at times, but not as drastic or obvious as it is with bid. Kitty's curves are very shallow. I have reviewed a lot of TID curves and am yet to see any with deep curves.

I hope this makes sense!

Let's see what this cycle brings. Either way, you are getting much better numbers on TID.

Hang In There!
 
Re: Cassie 10/26-27 -- TID help? Dose reduction fail

Pmps 406, .3u (+8)

I sincerely hope there's a bounce involved. Maybe the .3 is too much for numbers under 300? We'll see where he is in the morning.

Yes, Kim, you make sense. Cassie, on the other hand, doesn't.
 
Re: Cassie 10/26-27 -- TID help? Dose reduction fail

One more thought....maybe on a cycle like this that you have that "high" +8, don't shoot. Wait and test at +10 or +12 and see if he continues rising or goes back down. Joanna use to say, that a "true" rebound pattern, would have a "high" +8 to +10 and then the curve would come back down as the insulin left the body. I really think it might be interesting to see where he went if you didn't shoot at +8 on a cycle.

This might sound crazy, but it might give you some data.

Does anyone think that this would make sense?
 
Re: Cassie 10/26-27 -- TID help? Dose reduction fail

Well, I think that anything is worth a try. It's all data that will help solve the puzzle that is Cass. Kim's idea should tell you if what you have been seeing is really rebound.

I've also been wondering ...
If Cass decides to give you a really low PS, I've been wondering if it's because there might be some overlap going on. I have wondered what would happen if you held off on shooting, how long it would take before you see him go up a good bit?
Like if you have a 350 amps, and you shoot .3, then he gives you a 210 MDPS, instead of shooting the .2, hold off and see how long it takes to get up to 300 or more.

Cass is odd, IMO, because it seems he doesn't get enough duration to shoot BID, while at the same time, he seems to have a long enough duration that shooting TID can cause some overlap of doses.

Is there such a thing as B-and-a-half-ID? I guess that would be every 10 hours? Don't imagine that would be too hard to work into your daily schedule :roll:

Carl
 
Re: Cassie 10/26-27 -- TID help? Dose reduction fail

Almost had to be a bounce; he's coming down fast. AMPS 336, .3u (+8)

At some point I'll figure out what dose to give him. I'm a little discouraged because we seem to have lost the good momentum we had before I did this last dose reduction.
 
+5 319

ugh.

Oh well. If I don't get snowed in I'm going to the fabric store tomorrow. If I do, then I have an excuse to quilt. Either way I win.

And now I have 2 purr-balls and a good book. So no matter how crazy Cass's numbers are we're doing just fine.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top