Re: Cassie 10/26-27 -- TID help? Dose reduction fail
Hey Lisa......I like that you changed the dose based on the preshot. I think that is the right approach at this time. When Kitty is low 200s I shoot 3.5 if she is in the high 200s or 300s I shoot 4 units. I realize that I am shooting a lot more than you are, but the rationale is the same. If I shoot too much in to the low 200s, we get a big bounce. I am thinking that when the low preshot occurs, it is based more on longer duration for the previous cycle, than the actual dose. So, my thinking is that when you get a lower preshot, that the duration on that cycle was better. Why was it better? Who knows. But, things such as absorption play a big role. So, when shoot a higher dose into a lower preshot, I think you are getting overlap and Cass is fighting the insulin....it is too much.
I agree that the .2 didn't look like enough on the higher preshots --300s, maybe if you take the approach you are doing now and vary between .2 and .3 based on the preshot, you might see some good results. I think it is worth a try. You could argue that it follows the sliding scale theory.
I never get true deep curves with TID. I think it is because with TID, the insulin is more consistent in the body. It is more evenly distributed during the 24 hours, which means the potency is not necessarily greater at anyone time. Yes, it is a little stonger at times, but not as drastic or obvious as it is with bid. Kitty's curves are very shallow. I have reviewed a lot of TID curves and am yet to see any with deep curves.
I hope this makes sense!
Let's see what this cycle brings. Either way, you are getting much better numbers on TID.
Hang In There!