Casey just barfed up a hairball- should I shoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ohiogal

Member Since 2012
Hi all,

OK, I was getting ready to give Casey her 8 p.m. dose, when out of nowhere she lets out that low-pitched "Look out I'm going to hurl" meow, staggers into the other room, and pukes twice. The first, um, 'result', just looked like a puddle of her dinner and some hair, and the second was a smaller puddle containing a hairball.

I just went into the kitchen and she was at the fridge meowing, so I gave her a little FF mixed with a lot of water.

Should I go ahead and give her her shot? She's getting 3.25u Lantus 2X. Can I give it to her now, or wait until the food settles a bit? I normally give her Zobaline for her neuropathy, but I'm holding off on that. I did take her BG, and it's 244.

Any advice is appreciated. Thanks!

(PS she barfed up a much larger hairball Saturday.)
 
If that was the only reason she hurled, and she has eaten some to make up for what came up, it is probably safe.
Will you be able to monitor her if you shoot as usual? If yes, then I'd probably shoot.

If you aren't able to monitor, then to be cautious, you might reduce the dose for tonight and let the shed come down a notch. What my vet has had me done for a morning with fasting is shoot half the regular dose, then get back to normal at the next regular shot time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top