Carol and Zoey

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zoey & Carol

Member Since 2015
Zoey's BG has been bouncing around the last couple of days, and I am wondering what's going on. It was 176 on 2/16 AMPS so I didn't give insulin. I checked again at +4 and it was 445, so I gave 4 units of Vetsulin, which is what she has been on since 2/4. She was 343 at PMPS so I gave 4 units. On 2/17, her AMPS was 287, so I gave 3 units; PMPS was 268 gave 3 units. Then I tested her at +2 after PMPS and she was 23! At +3 she was 66. She was eating well and seemed to be feeling OK, but those low readings worried me. This morning she was 389 AMPS so I gave her 3 units. Any ideas why she is jumping around so much? My vet has ordered the PZI, but it hasn't come in yet.
 
She eats mostly Fancy Feast, but sometimes low-carb Friskies or 9-Lives. I have another cat (large Maine Coon) who doesn't like Fancy Feast. I am trying to switch him to canned so I tempt him with the Friskies or 9-Lives. She sometimes gets some of that, but only the very low carb varieties.
 
Please don't ever shoot blind - without a preshot test - or you are risking hypo

Vetsulin is like that, it's a very harsh insulin, drops them fast and doesn't generally have the duration necessary for cats. I expect you will start seeing much better results when you get the prozinc
 
I'd suggest talking to your vet ASAP about a dose reduction in the Vetsulin. Zoey went very low twice on the 4 unit BID dose and very, very low on the 3 unit BID dose. With those low numbers she might be more sensitive to the insulin, too (especially that 28). When I was treating Saoirse with Caninsulin (same as Vetsulin) I used to watch both her PS values AND her nadirs like a hawk. As Vyktors Mom said above, it really can drop the BG hard and fast. Zoey had a +2 nadir on yesterday's PM cycle but she was also quite low early in yesterday's AM cycle, too. If she were mine, I would put in extra tests early in the cycle to catch any big drops early and also speak to my vet ASAP about the dose.
 
I did check her at +5 today, and she was back up to 318. Thanks to all the reading I've been doing on this site, I am doing preshots every time, except the one day when we were out of town and a friend (with experience) did the shots. I'll check her again at +2 and +4 tonight.

I'm hoping the PZI gets in tomorrow.

I sincerely thank everyone for their help. I am very hopeful that I will get her stabilized soon.
 
When the glucose drops swiftly and/or drops to an unfamiliar number, this triggers compensatory hormones which release stored glucose (glycogen). This raises the glucose level back up and then some, and the glucose may stay elevated for up to 3 days or so.
 
Good news! My Prozinc is in and I will start Zoey on it tonight. Any suggestions on how to move her from 3 units of Vetsulin twice daily to Prozinc? I printed off the Protocol, but want to know if I should start her low since she's already been on insulin for a month and a half. Also, I haven't picked it up yet, but do I use U 40 or U 100 needles?
 
You can use the U-40 syringes if you already have them. It is possible to use a conversion chart and use U-100 syringes; let us know what you prefer.
I would go with about 1/2 to 2/3of the Vetsulin dose you are using now.
 
Thanks everyone for your help and concern. I updated Zoey's spreadsheet. Her numbers are still all over the place, but at least no 400s! One low one last night of 83. I'm wondering if I should increase her dosage. She's been on 1 unit of ProZinc for 3 cycles.
 
If the experience of Saoirse and myself is anything to go by, one of the hardest aspects of treating a diabetic cat is the urge to want every number to be in the healthy range NOW!!! I've always struggled with patience in all aspects of my life but feline diabetes is a great teacher. That 83 was a 300-ish point drop from preshot. I have no experience of using Prozinc, but based on overall body chemistry that's a very significant BG difference. And on just ONE unit! (Encouraging.) If Zoey were my cat and I was getting numbers like that I'd be very cautious about dosage. Hopefully some members with experience of treating with Prozinc will give you more and better feedback.
 
Last edited:
Thanks so much for keeping me calm! You are right, patience is not one of my strengths. I am going to wait a week and do curve testing again next weekend when I'm home. In the meantime, she is still her sweet, loving self...just a little more hungry! And the good thing is, when she gets hungry, she jumps up on my dryer where we do all of her tests and shots. So she obviously is not traumatized by the whole process. I can't tell you how great it is to have a support group with caring people to get me through this. When I got the news of her diagnosis, all I could think of was that I was going to have to put her down. I'm very optimistic now...I'll try to have more patience!
 
When I got the news of her diagnosis, all I could think of was that I was going to have to put her down. I'm very optimistic now...I'll try to have more patience!

When I took Saoirse in to see the vet last year knowing that something was seriously wrong - pulling fur from the right side of her abdomen, peeing like it was going out of fashion, insanely hungry, and with a markedly distended abdomen - my worries were pretty much completely dismissed by the examining vet, and so was my request for diagnostic testing. I brought Saoirse back to the practice about a fortnight or so later (when she was drinking nearly a litre of water a day) with the attitude that I wasn't going to leave the premises until she got a proper examination and proper diagnostics. I saw a different vet, and the vet's initial worry was about the severity of Saoirse's abdominal distension. The preliminary assessment was that there was a fluid build-up and that was indicative of "nothing good" and, if their suspicions were correct, I might have "a few months, maybe a year" left with her. Thankfully my suspicion that she might be diabetic was more accurate than the vet's preliminary opinion (the fluid swishing in her abdomen was down to an overfull bladder, not abnormal abdominal fluid accumulation!), and I was OVERJOYED that, after initial blood and urine testing, the preliminary Dx was changed from something imminently terminal to diabetes mellitus - a treatable condition. And something I could do something about - even if it has been mildly terrifying and beyond exhausting at times. :) (My best friend and his mum are both diabetic, so the FD Dx didn't freak me out as much as it might do for someone with no connection to diabetes.) The worry and the weariness that can go with caring for a diabetic just pale into insignificance when one contemplates the alternative. I have lost count of the number of times I have given thanks to all the scientists who made insulin treatment possible - they helped to save my darling girl; my baby...

Don't get me wrong. I really wish that Saoirse wasn't diabetic and didn't have pancreatitis. But when push comes to shove, I'd prefer her to be happy and healthy on insulin than to have a condition that I could do nothing about. I'm very grateful that she is currently diet-controlled. That's a bonus. (For her more than me - although I'm not complaining about not having to worry about hypos all the time. :) )
 
Last edited:
PS ... I'd still suggest having a word with your vet and also asking for feedback here about Zoey's current dose.
 
That 83 was a 300-ish point drop from preshot. I have no experience of using Prozinc, but based on overall body chemistry that's a very significant BG difference. And on just ONE unit! (Encouraging.)
If Zoey were my cat and I was getting numbers like that I'd be very cautious about dosage.
Hi Carol,

I've not used Prozinc but have used a couple of PZI insulins which are in the same 'family'.

I agree with Aine, that was one heck of a drop on one unit. That 83 is a lovely number, but it was quite a steep dive for your girl.
There is no reason to increase the dose. It's a new insulin and there hasn't been enough time to see exactly what this dose will do for Zoey, so it would be good to see what happens over the next few days. If you find Zoey dropping too low though then you may want to decrease the dose a tad.

Great hometesting and data collection BTW! :)

Eliz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top