CANT STAND, BREATHING FUNNY, INCONTINENCE

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mara and Mitzi

Member Since 2014
Mitzi's AMPS just read 250 and gave her 5 units of Lantus. Not concerned about that as she's been on Baytril for a week or so and it raises her numbers. My SS is not updated but her numbers have been in the 100s and 200s, occasionally higher but not often. Just trying to give anyone background info so they have as much as possible in case you don't know much about Mitzi as I post more on Facebook than on here, which I know should be vice versa. Anyways, Mitzi has CRF, a heart murmur, diabetes (obviously), anemia, etc. She hasn't eaten on her own in over a month...I've been force feeding her with a syringe because she doesn't mind it. The past couple weeks she has been peeing in her sleep or on the floor by my bed. Literally doesn't go in the potty box unless I put her in there, which I do whenever I'm home. I've been noticing the last few days that her mouth has a foul, and I mean FOUL smell coming from it so last night I investigated only to find a HORRIBLE molar on the right side/back side of her mouth. It is BADLY infected, bloody, swollen and red and obviously causing problems. However, Mitzi will be 17 this next week and clearly can't be put under due to her age or problems. I'm super concerned on what to do and what can be done. I haven't slept all night because her breathing is off and I'm so scared something will happen if I sleep. It doesn't sound like it's coming from her lungs from the fluids I give her, THANK GOD, but it sounds more like she has shi*/slime/crap/drainage in her mouth that she can't swallow and is causing her nasal problems as well. Another thing, I noticed last night that Mitzi was kind of wobbly. She went to lay by her water to get a drink and literally laid on top of her right back leg. I lifted her booty and pulled the leg out and she didn't even seem to notice. I then tried standing her up and she was having a hard time so I put her in bed with me, where I've been keeping her ever since. This morning she was still in bed with me and I put her in the potty box, which she absolutely hated...she couldn't even stand up in there so I held her butt and she went pee just fine. I took her out and she walked maybe a few steps and fell over on her right side because her right back leg gave out on her. Tried standing her up and she couldn't do it. She's now not leaving bed with me unless I have to take her potty. In fact, I haven't cared in weeks and have been putting towels under her butt so she can pee on them and stay in bed all day if she wants to. I have a bed protector sheet so my bed can't be ruined so I just do laundry multiple times a day. I don't know why Mitzi wont use the potty box as she has literally NEVER went outside of it in her whole life so I'm getting new bloodwork done today along with them checking to see if she has a uti, kidney infection or whatever the problem may be. I just have a feeling this tooth thing is causing issues. Last night she was pawing at me to stop looking and it broke my heart cos I know it must be really painful and hurt her. I don't know what to do. She seems so different the last few days. I got her in as soon as I possibly could today with a different vet because I don't wanna wait till tomorrow to see mine so she will be going asap but I"m worried, freaking out and can't stop crying. I just don't know what to do because I can't lost my baby. I literally can't. Does anyone have any advice or experience with any of this?! There's no way her kidneys have gone down hill so much to cause all this as I have numerous kitty friends on Facebook who's cats have MUCH WORSE kidney values than Mitzi's and are doing just fine. I'm concerned about neuropathy in her back leg but why would it happen now if her numbers have been so much better than they used to be?! Her diabetes wasn't controlled for quite some time but it has been steady for a couple months now. UGH I'm just so worried and scared. Should I be?! Should I not be?! She is limp like a noodle and can't stand up, let alone eat on her own. I'm fine with force feeding her cos then I know how much food she's getting in her system but I'm not fine with her not being able to stand up and the fact that she won't go potty in the potty box. She's just laying her with a plugged up nose, or so it sounds that way.
 
Have you taken her to vet? It seems like her tooth would have to be removed if she is to have any quality of life. Is there some way to have a light anthesia done? Maybe contact a feline dential specialist in your area?

This sounds awful for both of you. I hope you got some ideas from the vet and that she has improved.
 
How is her heart murmur? Has that been checked lately? She may need a change in heart meds. And, as Susan and Oliver suggests, if her quality of life is so bad with the infection, maybe the risk of a dental would be worth it. It's clear she (and you) need help. A visit to the vet is needed.

As for not using the litter box, you might try a shallow tray with doggie piddle pads in it. My guess is that she can't get over the ledge and into the box plus she may be afraid of falling because the litter is uneven under her feet. My Maggie didn't like the litter near the end and the piddle pads (on top of a couple of layers of newspapers) in a flat tray really helped.
 
Has her weight decreased? If she's not able to eat well due to the tooth, it could explain the lower glucose levels AND the unsteadiness if her weight has decreased.

A dental specialist or an internal medicine specialist may be able to work out an anesthesia protocol which may be used for her, using local anesthetics and nerve blocks with lighter sedation than usual.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top