? CANNOT get this poor cat out of pinks

garbagecat

Member Since 2021
Hello!!

frank was diagnosed in January and started on 1u of ProZinc. His numbers keep climbing and we can’t get this poor guy out of the pink...it seems his numbers are consistently getting worse, despite upping his dose slightly to 1.25u.

can someone help? We can’t do a curve this weekend (we are moving) but I try to get mid cycles whenever I can. He never drops below 200!

do we up the dose? On the 1.25 his numbers only seemed to get higher. Why could that be? I thought NDW at first but isn’t that only for a day or so?

He also seems to puke every once in a while, usually very early in the morning - but our spot checks at night don’t indicate he is dropping too low.

Any advice is very welcome!!
 
Since he’s a relatively new diabetic, me personally, I would not shoot below 200. For me, once I got a feel for how Max was doing, 150 got to be my number, but I’m also teleworking and can monitor him. Since he’s on Prozinc you can stall for up to an hour (no food) and recheck in 30 and then 60 minutes and then determine if you want to shoot.
 
Since he’s a relatively new diabetic, me personally, I would not shoot below 200. For me, once I got a feel for how Max was doing, 150 got to be my number, but I’m also teleworking and can monitor him. Since he’s on Prozinc you can stall for up to an hour (no food) and recheck in 30 and then 60 minutes and then determine if you want to shoot.


Well crap. I gave him a skinny 1u.
 
185 is pretty close to 200... i think he'll be fine, esp. since you lowered a bit.

I am truly perplexed by this cat. At +3 he’s now at 298.

Our first preshot we got 195 - thought that had to be incorrect so tested again, then 175. Averages to 185. Fed his low carb pate wet for breakfast, shot and:

now he’s gone up 100 points?! So confused
 
You probably just had good duration on the last shot and it wore off. Not unusual. prozinc can sometimes last 12-14 hours. Next time if you are able to stall and you see after 30 or 6 0 min that it's going up you can usually shoot the full dose.
 
What Janet said.

Also, would you please only put the dose in the units column please? Any notes on food should go over in the Remarks column over there to the right hand side of your SS. Doing things that way will make it easier to see the doses.
 
What Janet said.

Also, would you please only put the dose in the units column please? Any notes on food should go over in the Remarks column over there to the right hand side of your SS. Doing things that way will make it easier to see the doses.


Wow, didn’t even see the notes section! Unfortunately I’m using this on my phone mostly so it’s not very easy to keep track of food in the notes because of the scrolling, and we want to note what he eats for each meal. He has been on 1.25u for a little longer than the last week

though I think I figured out why he had the jump in BG. The wrapped up bread loaf that was left on the counter has a very large chunk missing
 
though I think I figured out why he had the jump in BG. The wrapped up bread loaf that was left on the counter has a very large chunk missing
So is his new name countercat? ;):p:)

Cats that are not regulated will seek out food wherever they can find it.
Have you thought about getting some of those childproof locks for your kitchen cabinets, so you can keep the people food "under lock and key"?
 
So is his new name countercat? ;):p:)

Cats that are not regulated will seek out food wherever they can find it.
Have you thought about getting some of those childproof locks for your kitchen cabinets, so you can keep the people food "under lock and key"?

He has always been a little scavenger (He was a feral foster fail - found him in the trash of my first apartment building along with a younger kitten..she was adopted quickly but by the time he was socialized a year later I couldn’t let him go!) so usually we put the food away but someone left out the bread...

I guess that explains the jump. Definitely will be double checking to make sure everything is put up!!

these little gremlins!

we have an appointment with our new vet on the 12th after we move. It’s a cat specific clinic so hopefully they are more knowledgeable than my current vet who discouraged home testing.

we should increase to 1.5? We would start tomorrow morning, I’m too nervous to do a new dose at night in case he tanks.
 
we should increase to 150?
Did you mean 1.5U?

One change I can see for you to try with your cat is to not feed after the middle of the cycle, so not past +6. Because feeding after that point in time, after the insulin has been used up, usually leads to higher BG numbers at pre-shot.

You can record the feeding times in the Remarks column, with the associated + time.
For example on 2/21/21 those remarks would look like this.
AMPS 3 oz FF, +7 1.5 oz FF, PMPS 3 oz BBF
 
Did you mean 1.5U?

One change I can see for you to try with your cat is to not feed after the middle of the cycle, so not past +6. Because feeding after that point in time, after the insulin has been used up, usually leads to higher BG numbers at pre-shot.

You can record the feeding times in the Remarks column, with the associated + time.
For example on 2/21/21 those remarks would look like this.
AMPS 3 oz FF, +7 1.5 oz FF, PMPS 3 oz BBF


Yes, 1.5! It’s been a long day.

we will try feeding him lunch earlier. He seems to get so hungry in the middle of the day!
 
Back
Top