Can anyone tell me on average how long a shot lasts & when the blood glucose levels start to rise again ?
Hi Lynda,
I started out on Caninsulin (am also in the UK).
It
usually has a fairly short duration, and can be out of the system in as little as 8 hours. However, we have had members here whose cats had much longer duration with it. As Sue said, the trick to figuring out how it works in your cat is to do some tests and gather data.
My own cat's experience of Caninsulin was fairly 'typical'. The insulin would start to work about 1.5 hours after the shot. The lowest blood glucose of the cycle was around 4 - 4.5 hours after the shot. After that the blood glucose levels would begin to rise again. And about 8 hours after the shot I'd see a much steeper rise in numbers because the insulin was no longer active in the system.
Not all cats show that pattern though. A little while back we had a member whose cat was getting really good duration from the insulin, and it seemed to have some effect for 12 hours in her cat.
In some cats the blood glucose drops very fast in the first few hours. And if that looks like being a pattern it can be helpful to feed a snack/mini-meal a couple of hours after the shot; that will often slow down the blood glucose drop.
I'm intrigued by Squiggles blood glucose numbers...
Have I understood correctly that her preshot was 7/126? That is a
normal blood glucose number. (And in fact we'd interpret that number at something like '6' because you're using Alphatrak and the A'track reads a bit higher than the human meters that most of us use).
It is unusual to see that low a number at the end of a Caninsulin cycle because, as I said above the 'typical' pattern is that the duration is short, and so numbers at the end of the cycle tend to be relatively high.
It may be that Squiggles gets good duration from Caninsulin; or it may even be that she's produced a little bit of insulin of her own. But in order to find out what's going on we really need to see more data.
As a general rule, we recommend that - for folks new to dealing with diabetes - no insulin is given if the preshot number is below 11/200. Once some data has been gathered to show how the insulin is working in the cat's system it becomes safer to give insulin at lower preshot numbers. (And, in fact, giving Squiggles insulin on this occasion hasn't done her any harm, because her numbers rose quite quickly anyway.)
Well done, Lynda. You and Squiggles are doing just fine.
Eliz