caninsulin advice - soon please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Just-As-Appy

Active Member
I'm not sure if anyone still uses caninsulin, but I'd appreciate some advice. My cat has been hi dose (up to 14 u BID) and recently started Leukeran MWF. His insulin had dropped to 9 u in just over a month, and then Mon, really dropped (4 at +3). No insulin Mon night.
Tues amps -1 26.8 (gave brekkie)
Tues amps 27.1 9 u insulin
Tues +2 20
Tues +8 9
Again, vet recommended no shot in evening. Didn't want him dropping too low overnight.

Wed amps 24

Not sure what to give him this morning. I don't like the rollercoaster of lots in the morning and none at night and then high #s again the next morning. I'm thinking maybe 5 u, but I'd sure appreciate some input.

edit - on Monday, the bg dropped to 4, not the insulin.
 
Well, since you don't have a profile or a spread sheet filled out it is next to impossible to really tell you what to do. That said, I don't understand your rationale for not giving insulin. Converting your numbers, that 4 the other day is a 72 in US measurements (I'm in Canada but the majority are in the US) which is perfectly respectable, although a huge drop. I do not understand why you aren't giving SOME insulin, nor why you are giving so much and how you got to a high dose.

My suggestion without knowing any of the details requested above, is that you should be giving a much lower dose and testing to see what happens mid cycle.

Jen
 
edited to add

the rollercoaster could be simply the caninsulin action, or it could be from giving such huge doses. So again, more info on how you reached that dose would help. Sorry if you've explained this in posts, I don't have a chance to go back and read through them.
 
So he had an infection, right? Has that cleared up? If so, that could explain the nice lower numbers. (I know they are scary when you have only been seeing high numbers, but Jen was right - not a bad number at +8. Next time, see what he is at his regular shot time and maybe you could adjust insulin if he was in the 200s) At one time, you were feeding dry, right? If you have recently changed to wet, that also could explain why things are changing.

Give us some more information. We can't just say "shoot this" when we are so in the dark.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top