Can someone look at SS for Felix

Status
Not open for further replies.

Felix and Ron

Member Since 2015
Not sure what to do. Will test again in 2 hours for pmps. Not sure whether I should skip shot today. Never have seen a 76 for him.
 
I am not a prozinc user... but how great that he is coming down to a nice normal green.
That might be why you've had some blacks.....
he is a drama cat , flying from the high trapeze down to the ground ( 76)

maybe put prozinc in the subject line to get prozinc users attention.
I"ll post over in LL forum to get attention too.
 
I would be surprised if he rises at close to 200 by PMPS; and we do not recommend shooting below a pre-shot # of 200.
Let us know when you'll be getting that preshot # - at what time will that be & in what time zone are you?
 
Thanks! I will be getting that number at 5:30 AZ time (pacific right now). I did give him a little food because I freaked out a little. He has never been close to that low.
 
Hey, we're in the same time zone (crazy AZ:p)! Yes, I know it's a little scary when you see your first green ... and although we'd rather see that earlier in the cycle, we'll take 'em when we can get 'em.
Felix may be holding onto the dose longer than expected this cycle (I call that "hang-time," Bat-Bat used to do it); I will be watching for your post at 5:30, Ron.
 
While I understand why you felt a little panicky seeing that 76, that's not into hypo-zone territory --- & you should not feed in the two-hour window prior to your AMPS/PMPS - as the food will "artifically" now raise his pre-shot number ... how much did you give him & what was it?
 
While I understand why you felt a little panicky seeing that 76, that's not into hypo-zone territory --- & you should not feed in the two-hour window prior to your AMPS/PMPS - as the food will "artifically" now raise his pre-shot number ... how much did you give him & what was it?
Ron, please don't think I was in any way chastising you with the above; all of this is a learning curve. (Is just something you need to know for future reference.) :bighug:
 
I'd be surprised if he is up to 200 at pmps too. Looks like the insulin and food have decided to work together. If you look back, you've had some hopeful signs: A yellow pmps and then several blues mid cycle (with the bounce after). So, if you have to skip tonight, he is bound to be higher tomorrow morning. Regardless, I'd lower the dose - maybe to 4.5 - as long as he is above 200 in the am. The 76 wasn't too low, but you want two shoot able pre shots every day, so I'd lower the dose, and monitor carefully.

I'll watch for your pmps.
 
@Sue and Oliver (GA) - I agree. My concern tonight is that (without that food after that +10) Felix probably wouldn't have risen anywhere near 200 anyway ... so my gut's saying might be best to just skip it tonight altogether?
 
I know. Messed up. He just tested at 300. Fed him 1/4 can of fancy feast classic. Talked to vet he said just keep up 5 units.
 
I'm not sure I'd go with that advice from vet unless you plan to stay up tonight & test repeatedly! (As he really could bottom out, given that low # at #10.) Just MHO ...
 
Ron, if you do plan to go ahead & dose (if you feel you must) I'd reduce it considerably tonight - and would still be up testing, if it were my cat.

ETA: Of course, you could always call your vet back, and ask if the vet would like to sit up & test your cat overnight ...;)
 
He definitely bounced. The issue for me that is it is overnight and you can"'t monitor so carefully. How about reducing to 4.5? (He is lower than amps and if he'd drop 20 points lower, it'd be approaching too low)
 
Ron, don't know what you've decided to do, but need to hop off for a while; will look in on you later. Hope all goes well!:)
 
So as you can see on Felix's SS I went with the 5 units. Ended up a lot last night. He was at a decent level all night it seems. High again at AMPS. How often and for how long should I keep testing? I feel bad for his ears and he does like being poked of course. But it has to be done I know. His ears are so transparent being the color he is, so every poke shows for a while.
 
So as you can see on Felix's SS I went with the 5 units. Ended up a lot last night. He was at a decent level all night it seems. High again at AMPS. How often and for how long should I keep testing? I feel bad for his ears and he does like being poked of course. But it has to be done I know. His ears are so transparent being the color he is, so every poke shows for a while.
You really need to get more mid-cycle tests: You might want to go for a +5 & +7 today, and perhaps a +9, as well. (The reason for the +9 is this: In case he's trending for another of those late-cycle drops again, you can give him a little food while still well outside that 2-hour window before PMPS time.)

I know you feel bad for his little ears; but trust me, there aren't many nerve endings there (not like our fingertips). :)
 
Two other things: Have you checked ketones within the past couple of days?
And can you tell me how much Fancy Feast Felix gets over a 24-hr period (total in ounces) & what times of day you normally feed?
 
Have not been home to test mid cycle today. Have to make money for test strips. He eats at 5:30, 12;30, 4:30 and 8:30. he probably eats 12 ounces a day. He is a big cat and weighs 15 lbs. Have not checked ketones for a couple of weeks.
 
I'd test him for ketones again, just to be on the safe side.

I'm sorry to have to say this, Ron, but ... unless your Felix is a Maine Coon (from his photo he doesn't appear to be), it's possible that he's over-eating at present. This may help explain why his BG #s are not coming down, despite a high dose of insulin.

Believe me, I have a big cat - long & with a large skeletal frame (my vet made a point of showing me that, when she'd been x-rayed after tearing an ACL) - but at between 10.8-11 lbs now, she is fed only a little over 7 oz. of food per day (Fancy Feast @ 4% carbs & Purina dm canned @ 3% carbs) & maintains her healthy, slender weight nicely on that. (If you're going by the feeding guidelines printed on a can of cat food, those usually don't apply very well to a diabetic cat - unless that cat happens to be underweight. Before Bat-Bat became diabetic, I went by what was printed on the bag & on the can - and that helped her balloon up to 18 lbs a few years back!)

I would imagine that at present Felix acts hungry all the time ... and he will, until his diabetes is well-controlled. (I know it's awfully hard to resist feeding more, when a kitty seems to be starved all the time.) But you might want to consider cutting back on Felix's rations just a bit - gradually, of course. You might even talk with your vet about what his optimum weight should be, given that he's diabetic & actually needs to be slender (not skin & bones, but slim); maybe the vet can offer some advice on the amount of food he should be getting every day.

If he needs to lose a pound or two, you must be careful not to let him lose weight too quickly; slow and steady is the safest course. He might be better off having more like 10 oz per day, but - again - don't try to reduce his rations all at once; I'd only cut the amount of his daily rations gradually - maybe only by a half ounce over the course of a week, at a time.

Also keep in mind that reduced rations & a little weight loss may result in dropping BG#s - and the need for a reduced dose of insulin, too.

Are you currently using a timed feeder to give him his 4 meals per day? People at FDMB who use them find they're a big help in maintaining portion control, especially when you have to be gone for work.

These are only some ideas I'm offering up, Ron, in an attempt to help you troubleshoot the problem of these high #s. Ultimately, it's up to you what you do as relates to feeding Felix. :bighug:- Robin
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top