Can someone look at my spreadsheet?

Status
Not open for further replies.

starling

Member Since 2014
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... sUkE#gid=0

After a life of eating dry food, he's been eating only canned Friskies Pate for the last week or two. And he gets one unit of ProZink twice a day.

I just started testing Mini on Sunday, and I just started recording the results yesterday, but Mini's BG was 80 a few hours ago, and I don't know if I should give him insulin or not. I'm still not feeling confident about this at all. Thank you, Starling.
 
Starling...you need to change the permissions on your spreadsheet. We can't see it

Go to the top right where it says "Share" and click there.

A new little box will come up. Under "Who has access" change it to "Anyone who has the link can view" and then hit "Done"
 
OK..I don't use ProZinc, so I'm not an expert in dosing it, but there are some things I can help with.

First, on your spreadsheet, in the U column, that's where you should put how many units of insulin...so if you gave 1 unit, 1.5, 2.25..whatever you gave each cycle should go there. There's a place for the AM dose and the PM dose

Next, we tell new members that if they get under 200, that's their "no shot" number. That doesn't mean you don't shoot. You should Stall, DON'T feed, and post and ask for help. Make sure the subject line in your FIRST post of the day is edited to say something like "Stalling, please help!"...only that first subject line shows up when we're scanning the board for people who need help, so make that line clear that you're looking for help.

If the board is down, or it's taking awhile for someone to get back to you, retest every 20 minutes or so until you get a rising number. That lets you know that the insulin is wearing off. Don't forget, if you stall, you have to adjust your next shot time so you're only shooting every 12 hours. (although you can work your way back to the schedule you want 15 minutes per cycle, or 30 minutes per day)

You can also choose to skip the shot, or shoot a reduced dose. Here's some information from the ProZinc Forum When you get a low pre shot number options

When is your next shot due? If below 200, please edit that first subject line and hopefully someone will be around to help advise you. (I'll watch for you too and also see if I can find one of the members who uses ProZinc to help)
 
Hi. Thanks for getting back to me. I try to give him insulin around 7-8, and he's due now. I just retested, and now he's at 180, about where he was last night at this time.
 
He seemed to do well this morning when he started at 182

I think I'd go ahead with the same 1 unit dose. As long as you're home testing, you ARE in control! If he starts to go too low, you just have to feed a higher carb food. That's why home testing is so great!
 
Also, I see you don't quite understand the spreadsheet (don't worry, I didn't either)

Since we all live in different time zones, we use the + system....so no matter what the actual time is, in the morning, your AMPS is your AM Pre-shot number. If you test 3 hours later, that number goes in the +3 column...If you test again 8 hours after the shot, you put that test result in the +8 column

When it's PMPS (PM-Pre-shot) you start over, so you'd do your pre-shot test, enter that in the PMPS column, then the U (units given) and then when you get a test later in the cycle, put the result you get in the + column for however many hours it's been since the shot.

Example...I test/feed/shoot at 6am
If I get a test at 9am, it goes in the +3 column on the AM side. If I get a test at noon, it goes in the +6 column...and on and on

Then I test/feed/shoot again at 6pm and tests I get in the evening go into the PM side of the spreadsheet the same way.

We're watching for how low the dose takes them, and trying to find where they "nadir" (the point in the cycle where they're the lowest) ECID (every cat is different) but as you get more tests and more data, you'll figure out when to expect YOUR cat to be lowest (and then they'll change it!...LOL)

It will also help if you'll fill out your signature line (like you see all my and China's information below)
You just go to the User Control Panel at the top left side of the page and then click on "Profile"
Then "Edit Signature" and a new little box comes up.
Put your name/cats name
Diagnosis date
Type of insulin
Type of meter (if using the AlphaTrak, it's best to put this in LARGE letters and use a different font color because most of us use human meters because we can't afford the strips for the Alpha)
Type of food
Any other health problems?

Then hit "submit"....that way we don't have to keep asking the same questions over and over again! We also will know what to call you instead of "Mini's mom(or dad)"

Edited to add.....Forgot one of the most important parts! You can put your spreadsheet link in your signature too and then it's there for everyone to look anytime you need advice! Just copy the address, click on the URL tab along the top of the signature box (like it is here) and "paste" it
 
His numbers look good. i'd give him a couple more cycles on the one unit. Sometimes it takes awhile for their bodies to adjust to the insulin and food. I wouldn't shoot lower than the 182 at this point, until you have more data. If he gets down in the 50 range at nadir or below 180ish for preshot, i would lower the dose. (if under 180, wait 20 minutes without feeding and retest. You want to make sure he is rising, not falling, and high enough to dose.

Have you seen the ProZinc protocol?


http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=109077

To put your spreadsheet in your signature so it comes up each time you post, do this:

Go back to your original google copy. On the left hand side, choose Publish to the Web. When the url comes up in the box, copy it. Then go back to the forum, choose User Control Panel, then edit signature. Paste the url into that box. You might also add the insulin you are using and the food so we won't ask you each time. Then choose Submit.
 
Chris, thank you so much. I think I'm finally getting the time thing with the spreadsheet, so I adjusted it, sort of, and will do it right from now on. And better understanding the scheduling of testing regimen really helps, too. How often should I be testing, beyond the two preshot tests?

Sue and Chris, I added a sig, but I'm afraid the Prozink protocol is hard to understand and hard to apply to my numbers so far? I'm still confused about the finer points, but if everything looks okay, I'll keep doing what I'm doing.
 
Did you give one unit on a 126 this morning? It is quite possible that he will drop low. Please do a test now and see where he is. (We strongly urge new diabetics not to shoot under 200) It is possible that you will need to intervene with food to bring his numbers up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top