Can someone help me understand SS??

Status
Not open for further replies.

RockStar033

Member Since 2012
Hey everyone.

So Annie's numbers have spiked alot since her return from the vets for a couple days. It's anyones guess at to why, but it seems she spikes really high at night. she hasn't had numbers this bad since she was first diagnosed. Is it possible the Lantus isn't lasting 12 hours?? When she was at the vet, they still gave her insulin and she stayed around the 280 mark according to them. Right now she is on Zeniquin for her E-Coli infection. On the 25th her pmps was 139 and i opted not to shoot because i really really needed sleep and wouldn't be up to watch her. But since that 139.... her numbers have gone up and stayed up. I\m not sure how long i should hold this 1.5u dose?? should i hold it a few more days or up it to 1.75 starting tonight?

Annie has never been consistant yet so i dont know what her patterns are or how the Lantus really works on her.

Do i switch insulins? Try Levemir?? or just keep going with the Lantus. Last time she starting doing well on the insulin she was at 2u BID a few weeks ago. but we dropped it back down to 1u once she returned from the vet because for one, they only gave her 1u while she was in there, and 2, i was hoping she wouldn't need so much insulin after getting flushed out and being on meds to get rid of an infection.

Thanks everyone.
 
Are you following the Tight Regulation protocol? If yes, the guidelines for dose adjustment are posted in that sticky.

You've got 5 days at 1.5 units and continue to have high mid-cycle numbers; increasing 0.25 to 0.5 units makes sense to me. The last greens you got were at 2 units.

If there are other medical conditions in the mix, I'd start with an increase on 0.25 units, to be cautious.
 
Yea, i'm following the TR protocol, and i totally understand the increasing/decreasing etc. I guess i'm just frusterated! This is a really emotional journey. :YMSIGH:
 
Tell me about it - I never was able to regulate Spitzer due to all the comorbid problems he had.

You may get more feedback on Lantus if you post in one of those forums.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top