Can I stop giving insulin? Need advice.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aspen

Member Since 2015
Based on my cat's numbers, I feel like he's in remission. We are down to 0.25 units, which feels like nothing. Would love some advice if you think I can stop the insulin.

Thanks!
 
Maybe post on the Lantus forum for some more experienced Lantus opinions. My guess is that the Lantus users will suggest micro-doses.

Good to hear that Aspen is doing well.
 
We actually suggest dropping to .1 before discontinuing insulin...we want these remissions to be strong ones, so the longer you give the pancreas support, the better.

Since you just started on the .25, I'd wait and see if she can stay in normal numbers for 7 days...if she can, she earns a reduction down to .1 for another 7 days of (hopefully) normal numbers before you'd consider an OTJ trial

Congrats! Aspen is looking great!!!
 
I just posted this on your thread on the Lantus/Lev board:

Just to clarify... It doesn't look like you are consistently dosing 0.25u. Your spreadsheet indicates you're shooting 0.5u at PMPS and 0,25u at AMPS.

I'd suggest shooting 0.25u consistently and getting some spot checks during both the AM and PM cycles If numbers drop below 50 if you're following TR or if your kitty is in normal range numbers for a week, then drop the dose to 0.1u. If Aspen stays in normal range at that dose for a week, then an OTJ (off the juice) trial is in order.


 
Thanks for all the great advice! We are consistent at 0.25 units (there was a typo in my spreadsheet that Sienne and Gabby caught). We'll stay the course and do a mini-curve today. Thanks everybody!

Also, I posted on the Lantus forum so I'll stop this thread here. Have a great weekend!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top