Can I go ahead and give another shot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa and P

Active Member
I gave a partial fur shot this morning. AMPS: 323

I just tested him at +8 and he's 506...I was wondering if it would be okay to go ahead a give him an early shot. And if so, what do I shoot?
 
I wish I had advise for you. I'm sorry. :sad:

Maybe check and see if Sue is over on the Health board, I'm sure she'd have a suggestion.

If it was me and Lucian, I would shoot, but I have no idea how your doses run.
 
+9: 527 He's working his way up. I just don't want him to go too much higher.

I've been doing some research, but the only things that are coming up are for Lantus land.
 
Would you be able to get his shot time back in line, like in a couple days, if you went ahead and shot early?

I know Prozink and PZI does have a lot of flexibility with the timing, that the 'L' insulin don't have.

You can move his shot time back to normal about 30 mins a day. Can you do that with your work schedule?
 
Yes, I would. I've actually been trying to get him back on schedule since I didn't wake up to my alarm one morning and missed his shot time by about 4 hours.

I just don't know what to do with daylight savings time and all that...GAH! There's too much going on lately.
 
You hold the syringe hon. If you'll be around to monitor and it will also help you get him back on the schedule you both need, then go ahead.

I can sure understand not wanting him to get any higher. That's why I have to give Lucian R sometimes or he skyrockets.
 
@ Sue...Apparently it will help her get him back on schedule, he's off now. So glad you could pop in. :YMHUG:
 
Well...I was going to shoot early, so I got a pre-shot test, and he's at 443 now. Meter variance?

I still want to shoot. Getting back on schedule won't be a problem.
 
What I sometimes do with Gracie when I know my schedule is going to be nuts is calculate how much a specific dose drops her per hour, then use a dose based on the number of hours I need to cover before I can get to her again for periods less than 12 hours. The dose after that may need adjusting, too.

For example, I know she drops about 200 mg/dL on 1.2 units. If I need to shoot earlier at the next shot, say +10, I'll reduce the current shot by 0.2 (1.2 per 12 hours is 0.1 units per hour). That way, she should be safely shootable at +10, though I test to check. Because she may not read the math books, I'll be cautious with the shot at +10 and may need to slightly reduce it too, based on her glucose level. Better too high for a day, than too low for a moment.

I've also tested out what giving her 0.2 units around +10 does, when I won't be able to test and shoot right at PMPS. It seems to help hold her down a bit until I can do the remainder of the shot. (I subtract what I gave early.) It isn't perfect and you do need to be aware of the potential overlap which may happen when you do this. Very much a "know your cat" situation.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top