Kim&Buddy
Member Since 2012
Hi everyone,
I'm noticing a change in Buddy's eating habits and I could use some objective feedback. I find myself swimming with this new experience and obsessing over everything
Buddy starts Lantus tomorrow presumably if his numbers are in a safe range. His BG levels have been for the most part declining and as a result, I've been able to lower his dose of glipizide by half (see spreadsheet ). This morning he was at a pre-dose of 104 so I didn't give him anything. (120 is the threshold for giving him medicine.)
But I'm concerned. Buddy is a grazer. With the exception of right when he became diabetic and when I first adopted him and he was eating "kitty crack" (high carb wet food), he has always been a grazer.
The past couple of mornings he's been crying for food. The same thing with the past couple of evenings when I get home. Last night, he inhaled his food at 6:00 pm (pre-meal BG = 133) and again at 9:00 pm with what usually is the feeding that carries him through the night. The two nights before that, he was eating more quickly as well. (Sorry to say it never dawned on me to get readings at 9:00 pm.) This morning he cleaned his plate soon after feeding him and when I brought him back from the vet for his adequan shot, I gave him another 1/4 can so he would have something to eat throughout the day. He inhaled that too. In addition, I scooped a large clump from his litter box this morning but don't know if it's because he urinated in the same place twice or if it's more urine output than usual. No behavioral changes that I've observed.
My new vet did have me reduce his food intake from 2 cans a day to 1.5 cans a day but that was well over a week ago and he was fine with the change. (He had gained a little weight and she wants to get him back around 14 pounds.)
Three questions:
Is there any chance that this morning's 104 is deceiving and there could be something going on?
Can I be overreacting and this merely be a delayed response to the reduction in food?
My inclination is to head home at lunch today and give him more food thinking it's not healthy for him to go from 8:00 am - 6:00 pm without food. Good idea?
I'm noticing a change in Buddy's eating habits and I could use some objective feedback. I find myself swimming with this new experience and obsessing over everything
Buddy starts Lantus tomorrow presumably if his numbers are in a safe range. His BG levels have been for the most part declining and as a result, I've been able to lower his dose of glipizide by half (see spreadsheet ). This morning he was at a pre-dose of 104 so I didn't give him anything. (120 is the threshold for giving him medicine.)
But I'm concerned. Buddy is a grazer. With the exception of right when he became diabetic and when I first adopted him and he was eating "kitty crack" (high carb wet food), he has always been a grazer.
The past couple of mornings he's been crying for food. The same thing with the past couple of evenings when I get home. Last night, he inhaled his food at 6:00 pm (pre-meal BG = 133) and again at 9:00 pm with what usually is the feeding that carries him through the night. The two nights before that, he was eating more quickly as well. (Sorry to say it never dawned on me to get readings at 9:00 pm.) This morning he cleaned his plate soon after feeding him and when I brought him back from the vet for his adequan shot, I gave him another 1/4 can so he would have something to eat throughout the day. He inhaled that too. In addition, I scooped a large clump from his litter box this morning but don't know if it's because he urinated in the same place twice or if it's more urine output than usual. No behavioral changes that I've observed.
My new vet did have me reduce his food intake from 2 cans a day to 1.5 cans a day but that was well over a week ago and he was fine with the change. (He had gained a little weight and she wants to get him back around 14 pounds.)
Three questions:
Is there any chance that this morning's 104 is deceiving and there could be something going on?
Can I be overreacting and this merely be a delayed response to the reduction in food?
My inclination is to head home at lunch today and give him more food thinking it's not healthy for him to go from 8:00 am - 6:00 pm without food. Good idea?