Can a cat bounce from the 200's?

Status
Not open for further replies.

billr

Member Since 2013
We have had a difficult time getting Gizmo regulated. It seemed whenever we increased his dose, his BG readings actually went up. So, we decreased his dose and he actually looked a little better most of the time, but still much higher than he should be. That aside, one thing we've noticed is that after dipping into the 200's, he often shoots up to the high 300's or even 400's, then comes back down. It seems like a bounce, but most of what I've seen here is discussion about bounce when a cat dips into the 100's or double digits, although I did read one statement that said a bounce could occur when the BG level dips lower than what the cat is used to. In his case, mid-200's are lower than what he is used to. I guess my question is, are these likely bounces or something else?

-Bill
 
Hi Bill,

Yes, I have certainly seen cats bounce from the 200's. Although it is usually lower numbers that trigger bounces.
(A bounce can also be triggered by the blood glucose dropping too fast.)

I'm not sure that Gizmo has been bouncing though. It seems to me that he's mostly just returning to to his almost default position of mid-300's.
Also, on some occasions, you've reduced the dose following blue numbers (because of lower preshot?), so the higher numbers in the following cycle/s may be due to too little insulin (the Lantus depot draining) rather than be caused by bouncing.

That 508 PMPS you got on 04/23 actually looks more like a spike than a bounce to me. (But hey, I could be wrong, this is just my 10 cents!)

It does appear that Gizmo has had much less response to insulin since 04/02. His numbers have been pretty 'flat' since that time.
Is it possible that the insulin has sparked out? (Although I see you did get new insulin on 03/01?)
Or could Gizmo have any infection that could be causing the numbers to 'stick'? (UTI? Dental issues..?)
Has his diet changed at all in that time?

Eliz
 
They sure can!

Looks like it may be time for an increase for Gizmo. Keeping him in those higher numbers is not good for him.
 
Hi Bill,

I apologize - I haven't had a chance to go back and read all of your previous posts. I just wanted to ask if you had considered posting in one of the Lantus groups? We have two of them - the "Relaxed Lantus" group and the "Tight Regulation" group. If you could start posting to one of those groups each day (or every few days at least), there are experienced users who could help you figure out when to increase the dose, decrease the dose, etc. I posted on the Tight Regulation board each day, and the people there were wonderful about helping me figure out the right dose. I credit them with getting Jersey into remission. (By the way, I'm not trying to say that you aren't getting great help here. :-D)

If you want to start posting on one of those forums, go to the index page, then scroll down to the insulin support groups. There, you'll be able to either click on the tight regulation group or the relaxed Lantus group.

Shelly
 
We have a phrase "New Dose Wonkiness".
This is when an increase in dose has paradoxical higher glucose results.
You just have to wait it out. It can take a couple of days to settle.
 
Thanks for the replies everyone. We're going to start slowly increasing the dose and will wait out the "New Dose Wonkiness" BJ mentioned and see what happens. In answer to some of the other questions, his diet has not changed recently and the Vet said he had a little buildup on his teeth but nothing major and no signs of other dental (or non-dental) problems.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top