Cami - +9 was 50, +12 was 65 - NS (11-26) Now 66 on 11-28

Status
Not open for further replies.
She is doing some amazing things number-wise. I was about to drop back to .2u and hold that as .25u seemed to give little swings, but I am going to retest in an hour and see where she is at.

Of course, this totally messes up her shot schedule. I keep looking for an opening to get her back on track. She is now going to be at least 2.25 hrs late. I might skip the shot and just get her back on track tonight. Not sure. If I skip, she may climb high. I might shoot .1u and then another .1u tonight at her normal time.

And she bit me again. My fault. I have been getting her to take treats from my fingers and she was leaning over the table edge too far, so I held it closer and she got my thumb in her mouth and just kept adding pressure. It was kinda creepy because it happened in slow motion and there was nothing I could do except feel her fang puncture my skin. She got me in the edge of the nail again and on the pad below (opposite). Hurts like heck!

Things are a lot quieter around her lately - since the "object" was expelled. I gotta wonder how much that was causing her discomfort. She also hasn't throw up at all since the day after when there was a little spit up. Her poor stomach was probably really inflamed. I just hope that it can heal fully and not cause any long term complications from scarring or worse. I gotta think that when her stomach was full it helped to keep the thing away from the lining and irritating it, but when her tummy was empty it rested against the inside and caused a vomiting reflex. I guess I will never know, but that points to her having had it inside since I brought her home.
 
Re: Cami - +9 was 50, +12 was 65 - holding (11-26)

With Chip I've found that stalling when he is too low to shoot is less disruptive than skipping or shooting a partial dose.

I've never intentionally skipped a shot but have watched the effects of suspected furshots for comparison. I however found that stalling longer than 2 hours seems to start having a negative impact, so I usually shoot the full dose at +13 in such cases and that has worked out well. Since the impact from the shot doesn't seem to start showing up for about 18 hours anyway (very much unlike Lantus where it may impact in as little as 1 or 2 hours) he's always higher by the next cycle anyway. So shooting the full dose at +13 when needed has worked well thus far.
 
Re: Cami - +9 was 50, +12 was 65 - holding (11-26)

Maybe you found the key to her cranki-ness!

That is some good greens she's in- even if she is too low to shoot. Maybe having that thing out is helping all the way around and was acting like an infection.
 
Re: Cami - +9 was 50, +12 was 65 - holding (11-26)

Ended up skipping the shot. I got busy with computer stuff and she was only 113 at +20 anyway. Was going to just shoot early, like +22, but remembered I will be gone late on Weds so I will keep her at what will be +23.

I am thinking it was like an infection or was an actual infection. Could even have caused some "itis" of the digestive system. Scary. I just wish I knew how long she had it in there/where it came from. They xrayed her belly in July because of the bloating, but I don't think this would have shown up. I think the bloating is going down now, but its not happening fast by any means.

ETA: shot at +23 at 133 ~ .2u
 
Re: Cami - +9 was 50, +12 was 65 - holding (11-26)

Wonder if she was a pain and stress induced diabetic and now that whatever that was is no longer hurting ad stressing her out she will just natural go OTJ <anti-jinx> :-D

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Cami - +9 was 50, +12 was 65 - holding (11-26)

Mel, I don't doubt she was a pain/stress induced diabetic (fueled by weight management dry food), but from the declaw surgery and rehoming.

I have tried to find out how long a foreign object can be in their stomach and I only found one reference that said "days to months", but I think the FD has to have taken hold at least 6 months ago. I can't see how she could have lost 6.5 lbs in less time than that. Could this thing have been in there that long?

She certainly looks like I might have "broken" her (knock wood / anti jinx). Well, it could also be because someone else from here sent me some pens last week... :roll:

Sure is quiet around her without her screaming for food every five mins.
 
Re: Cami - +9 was 50, +12 was 65 - holding (11-26)

So the tummy irritant is gone and she has a new pen and she doesn't feel the need to eat every second...

AND

her number at +23 was a 133??? :shock:

I think one thing is getting on track. now it is time to get her feeling secure, safe, and home :-D :lol:
 
Re: Cami - +9 was 50, +12 was 65 - holding (11-26)

I am working on helping her feel safe and secure - and wanted. I think that is going to take a while. But yesterday, I saw her sleeping curled up in proper cat fashion - for the first time. Normally she just lays on her side, flat out.

Meanwhile, she was 80 this am! I shot .1u and will get a few spot checks in.
 
Re: Cami - +9 was 50, +12 was 65 - holding (11-26)

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Green is such a purty color on you Cami! Nice shooting Sheila.

Not long now until, you know....that thing we all dream of for our kitties... :-D
 
Re: Cami - +9 was 50, +12 was 65 - holding (11-26)

Laura, I thought for sure that a long-time untreated FD would have a much lower chance of going OTJ, until I read about Vinny :mrgreen: How I am keeping paws crossed for Cami.

She was 108 tonight. I'm still not sure what dose to keep her at. I think I shot .15u and not .1u tonight - syringe was printed "off" so it was hard to tell. Anyway, I'm trying for .1u to see if that will hold her down around 80-100. Also, she's a squirmmer with no subQ body fat, so tenting is impossible and I am never sure I got the needle in, except yesterday when I am sure I hit her shoulder blade and she yelped :YMSIGH:
 
Re: Cami - +9 was 50, +12 was 65 - NS (11-26) Now 66 on 11-2

11-28

amPS was 66, so I am waiting again. Will test in another hour or so, but I will probably end up skipping again - or shoot late and skip tonight. We were already at 11a/11p because I will be out tonight and Friday. Now we are looking at midnight or 1am, which I can't keep doing, so skipping one shot will help get us back on track.

She is eating a lot less - I'm trying to watch her to figure out if she is eating too little, or just a normal amount that is a third of what she was eating. She is still drinking a lot of water and, of course, peeing a lot. With these numbers, that should have stopped by now.

She is starting to purr when I give post-test treats - if I keep her on the table. That seems to cause less anxiety than if I put her on the floor where I think she feels she is competing with the others. We had a long combing/brushing/purring session after this morning's test. She was on the table still and in a nice sun spot.

ETA: she was 108 at +14, so I went ahead and shot the .1u. Not sure what I will do tonight.

I have been ready up on foreign bodies in cat stomachs and wondering if she has something else in there. One cat with no symptoms had a huge abdominal mass that vet thought could be cancer, but did an ultrasound and found foreign matter. Surgery revealed rubber bands, hair ties and plastic. Another cat with symptoms had exploratory surgery and also had hair ties as well as costume jewelry, but the owners had divorced 6 months earlier and he lived with the man. So stuff can be in there for that long.

Cami has not vomited in a week, so that is a good sign.
 
Re: Cami - +9 was 50, +12 was 65 - NS (11-26) Now 66 on 11-2

Cami's numbers are superb, she's purring after testing, and she hasn't barfed in a week. Sounds pretty dang wonderful to me! :)

Hopefully she doesn't have any other foreign matter in her belly! Did you take a photo of the "stalk-like" thing she puked up last week? If so, you might want to post it to see if anyone can identify it. You never know. Identifying it might help figure out if there were parts of it missing. Or if it's animal/vegetable/mineral.

Suze
 
Re: Cami - +9 was 50, +12 was 65 - NS (11-26) Now 66 on 11-2

There is a health thread with photos (what the hell is this?). No one knows for sure....

I got a CD of her radiographs from July - not sure what they will show, but thought it was worth a shot. This was from her former vet. I was happy to tell them her BGs and dose!

Don't think .1u is holding her. She was 115 at +11, so I went ahead and shot. I did .1u again just in case, but that .15u might be better. I was gone from her +2 to +10.5, so no spot checks today to see how low she went. I suppose there is a chance the .1u sent her too low and she is having a .1u-sized bounce.

Her stool color has suddenly changed too - have to find out what that means. It used to be pale colored, not it is what I would consider normal colored (darker). I think that may be a sign that she is getting bile into her system now and wasn't before. I did look up feline gallstones, but that thing was not a gallstone and I don't believe there is any way a gallstone can be vomited up.
 
Re: Cami - +9 was 50, +12 was 65 - NS (11-26) Now 66 on 11-2

Yikes. That thing looks small until you realize it was a cat who upchucked it and not a human. You would think that something like that would have shown up on her x-rays, so let us know what you spot when you get the CD. It sure does look like the stem to some flower/fruit/organic matter.

The pale stool is definitely a lack of pancreas action. I had looked that up previously as well. Good news that her poop got darker!
 
Re: Cami - +9 was 50, +12 was 65 - NS (11-26) Now 66 on 11-2

Ah, where else but here can we talk about poop color with such exuberation?

I looked that up too - seems like a lack of bile can cause pale stools. So the "object" could have caused common bile duct blockage or inflammation that caused a reduction in bile production (less sure about that one). Either way, it could explain the extreme gassiness in her bowel and occasional diarrhea (because bile helps breakdown food) and all the digestive noises I was hearing. She still has them, but they are a lot less.

I did not see anything in her xray. That is the problem with plant matter. And it was on of the newer digital Idexx radiographs, so good details. One thing I don't get is this vet gave her lactalose based on this xray (showed lots of gas and large clumps of stool) even though the owner said she had soft stool. And doesn't lactalose raise BGs? So for an untreated FD, not the best choice?

Her appetite is normal now. Thank, God! Now maybe healing can begin and she can put on some weight. I hit her shoulder blade again today - and that is with short needles. She just has no subQ tissue and her skin does not tent away at all.

She was 91 this am. Shot .15u
 
Re: Cami - +9 was 50, +12 was 65 - NS (11-26) Now 66 on 11-2

Sheila,
Have you tried using the loose skin under her front leg armpit? There's no bones to hit. I use that area with KT and very rarely have even a flinch. Sometimes he looks around as if to say "Hey, get it done already" and I've already shot....

BIG HUGS! I'm SO glad she upchucked that 'whatever'....looks like a persimmon cap to me....
 
Re: Cami - +9 was 50, +12 was 65 - NS (11-26) Now 66 on 11-2

So good to hear Cami is doing well and eating less. her numbers look great!
 
Re: Cami - +9 was 50, +12 was 65 - NS (11-26) Now 66 on 11-2

Lyresa, you're right about the persimmon cap. I think you posted that on the health thread? B ut didn't call it a cap? Anyway, I had looked it up as Persimmon stalk before and didn't find a good photo, but as "persimmon cap" there are some good images. If you removed those leaflets around the edge... which could have come off in her stomach.

Well, I have NEVER had a persimmon in my home! Ever. Her interim owner said she got in her garbage all the time until she got a fancy covered one. So, I guess I can rest assured that she didn't get it on my watch....

Oh, she squeaks! I started calling her "squeaky" or "squeaker". Hope you don't mind :roll:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top