Cami 12/11 Well... +35 was 205 so I shot. +5 = 59 (and 12/12

Status
Not open for further replies.
I kinda thought she might be high. She threw up at about +33.5 - looked like bile and bits of freeze dried chicken I sprinkled on her food last night. I fed mixed grill, which she hasn't had for over a month when I thought it caused diarrhea (which I now think all her digestive upsets were from that object).

Still, I am worried there may be other things in her stomach she is trying to bring up. That crumbled dried chicken should have passed through her stomach by the time she threw up. She is eating this morning and purred for her test and for her treats. And she just pooped, so, hopefully, things will settle back down.

205 to 59 - That's quite a drop on .05u
 
Re: Cami 12/11 Well... +35 was 205 so I shot. +5 = 59

Around here it is all about the poop :lol:

I hope whatever it is will be brought up quickly so she can recover fully. But WOW! +35 hours!!! :o and such a drop on just .05 :shock: :-D

once her tummy problems are taken care of you might have more kitty lovin' in your future :mrgreen:
 
Re: Cami 12/11 Well... +35 was 205 so I shot. +5 = 59

She is turning into a purr box already! I can pick her up and put her on my lap and she will purr - doesn't stay for more than a few minutes. And she will purr if I put her on the bed with me at night - again, won't stay too long. And she purrs for tests/treats. And sometimes she will purr if I bend down to scratch her neck. This is all relatively new over the past week or so. I pick her up 2-3 times a day and and sit with her for as long as she will stay.
 
Re: Cami 12/11 Well... +35 was 205 so I shot. +5 = 59

Sheila, the good news is that Cami went 35 hours without insulin! Sorry that she had a high number after that time, but I wonder if that 205 was just an unexplained oddity...due to the vomiting or whatever. The other good news is that she got right back on track when you gave her that teeny, tiny dose again.

She's doing great, and I'm so happy to hear that she's purring more regularly now!

Suze
 
Re: Cami 12/11 Well... +35 was 205 so I shot. +5 = 59

I do think there is a connection between the 205 and the vomiting, just not sure what because I don't know why she vomited.

Another skipped shot tonight - she was 69 at +12.
 
Re: Cami 12/11 Well... +35 was 205 so I shot. +5 = 59

Looking back and Cami's SS from the beginning, it's amazing how far she's come in such a short time. The not being ravenously hungry any more, the numbers coming down right after she expelled that weird foreign object, etc.

Is she getting along better with the others now that she's socializing with you more?

Crossing my fingers that she gives you the best Christmas present ever, by being OTJ for 14 days!
antijinx-emoticon.png


Suze
 
Re: Cami 12/11 Well... +35 was 205 so I shot. +5 = 59

Well, she has to go without insulin until Christmas to do that. I'm not sure how realistic that is, but we'll see. She was 132 this am before food (well, food was left out overnight, but the bowls were almost empty). I'll test again in a couple of hours and see if she came down or climbed. Truthfully, I am expecting her to need a boost every 2-3 cycles for a couple of weeks. Maybe she can make it by her 3 month anniversary.

She doesn't interact with the other cats at all, but she isn't growling at them just because they are near her any more. I think I was a split second late to see Beau sniff her nose. I have seen the others sniff an ear or tail and she doesn't react to them. I really think she hasn't a clue about living in a pride because she was an only cat for so long. It will take time.
 
Re: Cami 12/11 Well... +35 was 205 so I shot. +5 = 59

Well, she has to go without insulin until Christmas to do that. I'm not sure how realistic that is, but we'll see. She was 132 this am before food (well, food was left out overnight, but the bowls were almost empty). I'll test again in a couple of hours and see if she came down or climbed. Truthfully, I am expecting her to need a boost every 2-3 cycles for a couple of weeks. Maybe she can make it by her 3 month anniversary.

She doesn't interact with the other cats at all, but she isn't growling at them just because they are near her any more. I think I was a split second late to see Beau sniff her nose. I have seen the others sniff an ear or tail and she doesn't react to them. I really think she hasn't a clue about living in a pride because she was an only cat for so long. It will take time.
 
Re: Cami 12/11 Well... +35 was 205 so I shot. +5 = 59

Woohoo!!! I take it that is her dropping on her own without your help? Come on Cami you can do it!!!!!

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Cami 12/11 Well... +35 was 205 so I shot. +5 = 59

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie (GA) said:
+ 24 was 132
+ 26 she has dropped to 90
+ 29 was 65 :mrgreen:

Did she eat anything during this stretch? If so, then you've definitely got a working pancreas.
You could even just try a small amount when you get a shootable number and waiting to see if she brings them down on her own rather than shooting.

Go Cami!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

ETA: Let's hope that she doesn't even get back up to a shootable number...cross paws, antijinx.
 
Re: Cami 12/11 Well... +35 was 205 so I shot. +5 = 59

She has food available pretty much 24/7, but I won't/wasn't putting new food down within 2 hrs of her shot time. She did eat after the 132, which is why I tested 2 hrs later - so I think a working pancreas can be assumed here.

I pretty much assumed that anyway once her dose got below .5u. I think the UFO in her stomach was causing inflammation and probably so widespread it involved her bile duct and liver, so adding the pancreas to that is not a stretch. She still seems to have "digestive issues" (gurgles, gas) that could mean she still has irritation and/or she still has "stuff" in her stomach that is not supposed to be there. Former owner reported that she got into the garbage a lot until she got a can with a heavy closing top. Who knows what she got into and ate desperately trying to get food.
 
Re: Cami 12/11 Well... +35 was 205 so I shot. +5 = 59

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie (GA) said:
She did eat after the 132, which is why I tested 2 hrs later - so I think a working pancreas can be assumed here.

flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat
 
Re: Cami 12/11 Well... +35 was 205 so I shot. +5 = 59 (and 1

Cami is still doing great! May she soon barf up any other foreign matter in her tummy and just get on with the good life with you! (((HUGS)))

Suze

ps: Yep, I counted from 12/11 to know that she could be OTJ on Christmas day! I sure hope that is the case!
antijinx-emoticon.png
 
Re: Cami 12/11 Well... +35 was 205 so I shot. +5 = 59 (and 1

:RAHCAT Go Cami Go :RAHCAT

I have Autumn watching you closely so be a good big sister and show her how it is done. :-D

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Cami 12/11 Well... +35 was 205 so I shot. +5 = 59 (and 1

She just tested at 90 one hour after eating. I didn't test before feeding. Will probably get another test in a couple of hours.... hmmmm, +39 I guess it will be.

Tried to cuddle/brush. She was having none of it tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top