Callie's numbers droping

Status
Not open for further replies.

Callie & Patches

Member Since 2016
Up until two weeks ago I was not keeping up my spreadsheets because I have been recovering from a broken neck. I have only been doing the AMPS and PMPS with my husband's help. Twelve days ago, I noticed Callie's numbers were going down. Her insulin dose has gone from3u to .5. I need some help getting this worked out. Could some of you look at her spreadsheet and see what is going on? Thank you
 
Up until two weeks ago I was not keeping up my spreadsheets because I have been recovering from a broken neck. I have only been doing the AMPS and PMPS with my husband's help. Twelve days ago, I noticed Callie's numbers were going down. Her insulin dose has gone from3u to .5. I need some help getting this worked out. Could some of you look at her spreadsheet and see what is going on? Thank you
Wow! This looks great, Donnalea! :) Looks like a kitty with a pancreas that's waking up and maybe the "r" word in the works.
 
I was wondering if that was what was going on with Callie. It has been one and a half years since her diagnosis. Is remission possible after so long?
 
It seems that we have settled on .04. That is such a tiny amount compared to the 3u that she has needed over the last several months. Now I am having trouble reading the .04 on the syringes. I'm glad I bought some U-100 syringes and printed off the conversion chart.
 
This morning Callie's AMPS was 187. I tried to give her .02u. Even using the
U-100 syringes, it's hard to do. I am wondering when I should skip a dose to see how she does. I sure could use some advise.
 
Callie's looking good, but based on her nadir, I don't think you needed to reduce the dose. I think I would stick with 0.4u unless she gives you a nadir that is close to 50, or unless she gives you a super low PS. Right now it doesn't look like her pre-shot number is as much of a factor.
 
I am wondering when I should skip a dose to see how she does.

I don't think she's ready for that yet. Especially since she's been diabetic for a long time, you'll want to keep her with some insulin support until she's really consistently in healthier numbers. Keep posting though - fingers crossed she keeps going this directions and will show she doesn't need it anymore.
 
Thank you for the advice. I was worryingly much about all the preshots that were so low. I have had problems with sneaky hypos in the past that I was choosing doses based on her preshot numbers, rather than her nadirs.
 
Unfortunately, there is always a risk of that, but her numbers look pretty stable right now, so fingers crossed she stays that way!
 
I increased Callie's food from one can of FF to one and one half. Her bedtime test was up a little bit. She had a comfortable AMPS, 198. I gave her 0.4u.
 
I think that was fine. Sometimes when you know you have to get some sleep (we have lives and jobs too!) and you get a lower than normal preshot, it's best to skip so that you don't have to stay up all night monitoring...and she does like to hit those lower numbers sometimes!
 
Callie's AMPS was 204 this morning. I gave her 0.4 u. I guess I did the right thing last night. I expected a much larger number after no shot last night. I sure hate trying to measure out those tiny doses. I found a magnifying device to put over the syringes, it is a bit awkward, but it does help.
 
Some people find it helps to have a lightbox, or a plain white wall behind the syringe as well in order to see more clearly. I've also heard of a few people getting higher strength reading glasses (even though they don't usually need reading glasses) to help them see the lines more clearly, or wearing a head lamp....lots of little tricks around here to make it work, but yes -- they are difficult to draw up.
 
It is such a change from the 3u she has been on for months. A year an a half, she was getting 5u and more. She is still hungry all the time. My granddaughter was always feeding her junk food. She was so spoiled. She is so much better now.
 
Just chiming in on prozinc forum. My cat went into remission after 2 months. I kinda still wonder if terrible uti was the cause for all of it. My vet swore she is diabetic & on arrival her bg was at 520!
I agree that when I started using prozinc & used the conversion chart, my eyes seem to cross. I found that holding it close to the best light in the kitchen & against a white wall helped. I also have a magnifying glass from my grandmother that I’ve used. I’m nearsited but the opposite is coming on fast! Bifocals
Donna - I hope you are healing well. You must be a great kitty momma to care so much with your own pain & all! Best wishes & prayers for a speedy recovery.
 
Funny thing, my neck hasn't hurt since a week after the accident. The neck brace is uncomfortable and I have to wear it 24-7.
The only thing that really hurts is my lower back. I have had arthritis in my back and joints since I was a teenager. You just learn to put up with it.
 
It’s raining here today & cold! Old author is hurting me today. I have it everywhere but low back especially! I’m so glad that you don’t have any neck pain! Amazing ! I took care of a stray (tiger) & acted as her midwife during labor. I found homes for all 5 & kept one. My girlfriend wanted the calico & named her Callie. Another stray calico showed up in my deck a couple years later & she was the best cat we’ve ever had! So sweet & my daughter took her & named her Honey Bear!
Good evening to you!
 
Strays can be great pets. I think they appreciate what we do for them. Both Callie and her twin brother were born under a shed. Momma cat was wild. My granddaughter, Ashlee,was able to tame the kittens when they were tiny. They both are sweet and loving. Ashlee is one of those kids that will take in any animal she sees.
 
Last edited:
Ummm....I think I'm going to disagree. :oops: That's why it's a peer-review forum though, right? ;)

I think you can most likely safely be shooting on those evening PMPS numbers. And doing that should help to bring down the AMPS numbers as well. When you've skipped, the mid-cycle +3 numbers show a rise which means she still needs insulin, and that you could probably give a small dose on those blues and be okay. Of course if you decide to do that, you'll need to monitor to be safe, but you do that consistently anyway.

Lowering the AM dose will make the PMPS a more comfortable number to shoot, but it will also leave her in higher numbers during the AM cycle.

So I think I would leave the AMPS at 0.4, and try shooting 0.2 on those PMPS blues. If that goes well, you might even be able to give a bit more for the PM cycle and start to bring the AMPS into lower ranges as well.

This is a more aggressive dosing suggestion, so it doesn't hurt my feelings if you want to ignore it :). You could always try the reduction for a few days and see how it goes, and revisit this if you don't see the results you're wanting.
 
Ummm....I think I'm going to disagree. :oops: That's why it's a peer-review forum though, right? ;)

I think you can most likely safely be shooting on those evening PMPS numbers. And doing that should help to bring down the AMPS numbers as well. When you've skipped, the mid-cycle +3 numbers show a rise which means she still needs insulin, and that you could probably give a small dose on those blues and be okay. Of course if you decide to do that, you'll need to monitor to be safe, but you do that consistently anyway.

Lowering the AM dose will make the PMPS a more comfortable number to shoot, but it will also leave her in higher numbers during the AM cycle.

So I think I would leave the AMPS at 0.4, and try shooting 0.2 on those PMPS blues. If that goes well, you might even be able to give a bit more for the PM cycle and start to bring the AMPS into lower ranges as well.

This is a more aggressive dosing suggestion, so it doesn't hurt my feelings if you want to ignore it :). You could always try the reduction for a few days and see how it goes, and revisit this if you don't see the results you're wanting.
Good points, Djamila.
 
My hope was that I could give her .2 for both shots. If I lowered the AMPS TO .2, maybe the PMPS would rise enough that I would feel more comfortable giving her the .2 at the PMPS. Her PMPS was high enough to to give her a skinny .2u tonight. I have sat up with her at night with high carb food and honey too many nights. Since I'm trying to heal a broken neck, I really need to sleep.

I won't be home tomorrow to test, I'm going to be cautious. I hope I can be more aggressive From Thursday through most of next week. She had so many high numbers in the past that I was happy when she settled down to 3u for over 6 months. I wasn't prepared when her numbers dropped so low just 2 1/2 weeks ago. I keep holding my breath to see if it will last.

Thank you so much for all the help.
 
Ummm....I think I'm going to disagree. :oops: That's why it's a peer-review forum though, right? ;)

I think you can most likely safely be shooting on those evening PMPS numbers. And doing that should help to bring down the AMPS numbers as well. When you've skipped, the mid-cycle +3 numbers show a rise which means she still needs insulin, and that you could probably give a small dose on those blues and be okay. Of course if you decide to do that, you'll need to monitor to be safe, but you do that consistently anyway.

Lowering the AM dose will make the PMPS a more comfortable number to shoot, but it will also leave her in higher numbers during the AM cycle.

So I think I would leave the AMPS at 0.4, and try shooting 0.2 on those PMPS blues. If that goes well, you might even be able to give a bit more for the PM cycle and start to bring the AMPS into lower ranges as well.

This is a more aggressive dosing suggestion, so it doesn't hurt my feelings if you want to ignore it :). You could always try the reduction for a few days and see how it goes, and revisit this if you don't see the results you're wanting.

Yep, good points! And that is why it's peer review...we all give our thoughts so the bean can make a decision based on what works for them! :)
 
Yep, good points! And that is why it's peer review...we all give our thoughts so the bean can make a decision based on what works for them! :)

Yes, absolutely! You always have to make the decision that's best for you and your kitty. Our schedules and need for sleep on any given night are important factors!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top