Callie Mae's boost didn't work maybe?

Status
Not open for further replies.

totallybeachin

Member Since 2011
Well, I gave her my best try at a fat 0 at 10:30 when her bg was 180
I tested her at noon and she was at 145, and just now at 4 she tested 153.
So, did her boost maybe not do what I was hoping?, or maybe I should have checked her bg around 2'ish to see how far away she was from her noon numbers? Maybe I should have tried .01 or .02?
Don't get me wrong, I am VERY excited about where her #'s are, all things considered. I'm just trying to see where to go next, or if any of you more experienced mommies and daddies have some advice for a pm shot. I'm pretty sure she is going to be above a 150, which is micro dosing area, I'm just not comfortable figuring it out on my own.
Thanks for all your help, guys.
Callie Mae sends her best whisker kisses for helping her mom. cat_pet_icon
 
Thursday is my volunteer day - not around much....

So if you get 150+ and you are sure it is rising, we probably need more than the fat one. Let's see your number before debating. :-D
 
Looking like it's not going to matter. She got her dinner at 6 and I just checked her and she's at 218.
I'm going to wait till around 7:30 and check her again. She didn't eat ALL her dinner and is batb (back at the bowl) as we speak.
If she's still over 200, I'll just give her 1u.
Maybe a bigger *push* today would have been better, or, maybe she was just giving ME a break! :lol:
 
I am not sure I would go with a full unit. If her pancreas is working and food is helping to bring her down, we need to take it into account. I think our dose choice this am was too low but I don't want you to give too much and create problems for yourself. Let's see what others think - I think .5 unit, maybe?
 
Sue,
In the little time I have been here, I have done a tremendous amount of reading here. All over the place. And I have come across many of your posts.
With that said, I am testing in about 10 minutes, and even if no one else has chimed in by then, I value and respect your input and advice. If you think .5 is a good number, I'm ok with that! :mrgreen:
 
You know I don't know much but are you saying you are feeding her BEFORE her shot? I thought we tested, if too low wait 20 mins then test again...with no food? Maybe I just didn't pay enough attention? And I also thought food made their BG rise? I probably shouldn't even be commenting cause I don't know what I'm taking about. :lol: Just curious?
 
I don't really know either Barbara.
I'm just going on this:
My vet told me to always give her a little snack about 30 mins. or so before her shot to make sure she had something in her belly.
AND,
yesterday, with NO JUICE (!!!!!), I can see by looking at her SS that she stayed pretty steady for the most part, but as it got closer to dinner time, her bg went up. After dinner, it came back down.

I'm figuring that since I am micro-dosing, I want to know how her pancreas is reacting naturally so I don't juice her to much. I had to really think about that part after reading Sue's post. I agree with her thought process. I'm glad she chimed in before I shot a whole unit.

brb...................it bg time.
 
No, you are right, Barbara. I missed that.

I know you are dealing with a different situation since you are shooting mini doses for Callie, but you do have to factor in the possible food rise or drop. We aren't sure if she will rise or drop with food, or if she will react differently each time.

So are we at 200 after food?
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
So are we at 200 after food?
Nope, she's back down to 152.

Well Barbara, see, I told you I didn't know!!!!!!
I messed up something along the way.
But then I wonder, if I'm checking her before she eats, knowing that her food is going to cause it to come down, how can I be sure what to shoot since I don't know how much it's going to come down?
I am so confused................. :?
 
Well, this is good news. Pancreas working.

Yes, you want a number not influenced by food. In your case, it can mean the number goes down. With an active diabetic, food usually makes the numbers go up. Regardless, you want a true number.

With your Callie, the food is bringing it down. So you will probably need to shoot the numbers when you get them, off the 12/12 schedule. Means more testing and shooting away from food when you get a shootable number.

So did you shoot .5?
 
ok Angela, here's the thing...your cat is not like other cats. the IMPORTANT data for your cat is the post meal numbers. Callie Mae is a food dropper....That is the number that matters. That is the number you shoot.
Your Cat Is Different.
 
So with her being so low, I'm thinking .5 might even be to much.
what do you think, Sue?
Or anyone else for that matter. I value a lot of folks opinions here. well, seasoned vet's of course.

Edit: Nevermind. Just saw the other posts!
Edit again--just re-read the post. Need a minute to process.
I did not shoot, should I?
Answer is probably in the post. going to read again........ :oops:
 
I feel like I have learned so much, but am so stupid for not being able to put it all together and figure it out.
Thanks guys for helping me with this.
I don't mind waiting, just not sure when would be a good time? She ate some around 6 and finished it off around 6:40'ish.
And what if her numbers are still going down. Just keep waiting to see where they'll go and when?
Sorry guys. I really am trying to get it......... :sad:
 
Maisey started BG drop with food when her pancreas started to work. So it is a good thing, just harder to shoot. We did very tiny doses for awhile and one time even .1 took her really low ile. mommy panic.
 
Are you kidding? You think we expect you to have all this down in a week? While having a kitty whose numbers change by the minute? If everyone was that fast, we would be so bored and useless.

Depends on how long you will be up? Maybe 3 hours when the food should have cleared?

Don't forget. These numbers are excellent problems to have. :mrgreen:
 
No need to be embarrased Angela! I still can't wrap my brain around all this! LOL! My vet also said to feed but I'm doing it after I test and shooting when she's eating or right after. I have read here though that some people shoot 30 mins after they eat just in case they barf. Thumper's BG did drop after she ate one time & I think I remember someone commenting that meant her pancreas was working. I'm not going to say anything else cause I just confuse the matter. :? Good job! Go Callie! :-D
 
It looks like the 0.1u was like shooting water. At a number around 150, I'd go with say 0.25u. Anything above that, start with giving 0.5u and see where that takes you. I wouldn't give 1u just yet.
 
Thanks for all your kind words.
I can be really hard on myself sometimes. I just want to be able to do the best I can for my baby.
I am really tempted to check her right now, just to see where she's at and which way she's going, but I have pricked her ear so much over the last week, that I can just wait!
Will low bg cause her to be hungry?
She just started this tonight, usually she is fine after dinner, but she is literally RUNNING towards the kitchen every time I so much as flinch. And meowing, meowing, meowing.
Man, I have never seen her act like she is so starving, and I have never seen her run like that to the kitchen. Maybe followed me there asking for a treat or 2 but never like this. confused_cat
 
Angela your kitty really is in a whole other range than the other kitties here. She is likely getting ready to go OTJ and that is believe it or not...the 2nd scariest time for a bean. First is when kitty is dx'd.
Sooooo, you can shoot those micro doses to help relieve some of the pancreas stresses...you actually can shoot .2 and I don't think that would throw her to low even if she was still going down.
The thing is you will be testing more than usual if you do shoot her.
Your in the deep end of the pool now. Pretty quick for a newbie!
I'm going to your chart.
brb.
 
Well, I got thta buyers remorse feeling again.
I just gave her another fat 0. (that is, if there was anything in the syringe! It's hard to tell.)
Guess I will know soon enough. Gonna give it about 1 hr or so and see where she is.
Guess it might be another long night for me.
 
I wouldn't shoot if she's under 150, unless everyone else overrules me. It's probably safe if it's a tiny dose, but it's almost non-diabetic #s. If she goes back up over 150 then I'd shoot maybe 0.4 or something. See what others say though... If no one is around tonight, I'd post on Health for advice. The #s are good so don't stress yourself out that if you don't shoot tonight something terrible will happen. I mean, things are good, if she goes higher by tomorrow and needs a full 1u again, I think that's ok.
 
Oh ok, no worries. I would go to sleep. It likely won't do much, and if it does anything hopefully it will bump her down into the greens. She's not going to hypo if that's what you are worried about. From earlier it doesn't look like the fat 0 was a useful dose for her, so just for reference tomorrow, I would wait for a higher # and shoot a higher dose like 0.2 or 0.5. No worries though, the doses are so tiny and clearly her pancreas is going pretty strong at this point, so I think she will be just fine. I wouldn't shoot something like 1u on a # under 200, but other than that, I wouldn't stress to much about it. It's guesswork - fat 0 is too little, 1u is likely too much, so you just experiment between there and see what works.
 
Ok definitely no need to panic. The reason I said not to shoot under 150 is not b/c I'm worried about safety (I would be on higher doses, but not on a tiny dose), it's b/c I don't think the fat 0 will do anything, so why bother. When you have a higher PS, you can shoot a bigger dose safely and get more traction out of it.
 
I think you are fine, Angela. There is no absolute advice - every cat will react to a mini dose differently. She is reacting great to food, so you shouldn't need too much insulin. I am more cautious than others and I like your tiny dose. You will be able to sleep.
 
Angela I would'nt worry. a fat 0 gives you just about that much punch....fat 0!
I truly would'nt worry over it.
 
Wow-you guys swoop in quick!
Good to know. I was just trying to push her into the green. She hasn't seen that color since her last full dose of insulin and trying to put all the info together about her pancreas just needing a little push and a little break and thinking with her numbers staying pretty smooth in the blue, maybe she would coast along in the green if I could just get her there.
I will probably go ahead and get a # from her before I fall off to lumber land, just to see, but I'm not going to sweat this. I believe you guys have seen enough to be able to make a pretty good collective judgement.
And that "fat" 0 in all actuality was closer to a skinny 0. :mrgreen:
 
skinny 0 :lol: is that 1/4 of a drop? why waste a syringe? :mrgreen:
 
lori and tom said:
skinny 0 :lol: is that 1/4 of a drop? why waste a syringe? :mrgreen:
lol.............well this insulin business scares me so I was just being cautious. Wasn't sure if I should shoot, how much to shoot, all that good stuff, so I thought if I am going to shoot, shoot low, and if I'm going to shhot low, shoot REAL low....silly now that I'm thinking back. Should have just saved the syringe.
Newbies.....sheesh!!! :lol:
 
Now that I'm really thinking about it, wasting the syringe isn't nearly half as bad as the test strip I am going to waste because my curiosity is going to get the better of me.
 
oh yes...don't i know....throwing away strips for nothing more than idle curiosity. it's a hobby for me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top