Callie Mae :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

totallybeachin

Active Member
I guess having a sick kitty in the house doesn't help Callie Mae.
I like to check her every day or every other day or so, and she just tested 208. :sad:

I am not sure what to shoot her because it has been so long since her last dose.
And I had jumped around a little. Looking at her chart, I have given her 1 unit in that range, and I have also given her micro doses in that range.
I just am not sure what I want to do.
Any suggestions?


Rocky, I am just going to continue with .5 again. I didn't get to see what that was going to do for him last night. I fell asleep before I could get any more tests in.
And I will be gone all day so there won't be anyone here to keep an eye on either one of them.

I can't believe Callie Mae. She was doing so good.
Do you think it's because there is another cat in her house?
 
Well, I have to leave, so I am going to go one a whim and her give her .4 units. If someone was going to be here with her today, I would shoot a whole unit, but I'm not comfortable doing that with her being alone.
I hope that works out for her.
On second thought, maybe I'll shoot a .6.
That was her last dose, maybe it will be ok now.
 
I think your dose should be fine. I would plan to get some extra tests in tonight at +4, +6 to see exactly what is happening.

Bummer that you got a higher number. Is she really stressed with the new cat? Any chance she got into some "bad" food? No chance of an infection?
 
Aww...truly sorry to hear about Callie Mae. Paws crossed the 208 is just a fluke and she goes back to her normal #'s. Come one Callie Mae, you can do it! Green is pretty.

Looked at your threads about Rocky and his spreadsheet. He is so lucky that you offered to help take care of him and recognized his symptoms. Looks like the diet has already been helping his #'s, and, with a little insulin, he'll be doin' better in no time.
 
Oh no!!!! I don't have time right now to look at the #s, but I hope they are both in good numbers soon! What a pain! I don't know if stress would do that or not (no chance she snuck some higher carb food? even a couple kibble bites can wreak havoc).
 
I am so sorry about CallieMae!
fingers toes and paws crossed that it is only stress and she will go down soon!
Good luck
 
Wow. What a looonnngggg day at work today. Didn't make it home to get any checks in before a +10.
Callie Mae had come down considerably, so hopefully that little push this morning was all she needed. Her pmps number was back down in the range I like to see her in. Not green, I like that the most, but she was at 108.
I can't wait until morning so I can see how she manages.
Thanks for all the good vibes. We're feeling it!! :)

As for Rocky, well, I don't have anything to go on with that guy yet. His +10 was 231 and pmps was 241. It's that buyer's remorse thing again, but I was looking over Callie's chart when she was in numbers similar, and even a little lower, and based on that I decided to give Rocky .6u.
I know, no 2 cats are the same, that's where the remorse comes in, but I think I will be ok with that dose. I have given Callie a whole unit in that range. We'll see. At least I know I can be up with him if needed, and I can get in some checks. I'm going to see how he does, and possibly do a curve tomorrow or do you think it's to early for that? Give him a few days to get going with the insulin then see?

I read a thread over in health where the original poster edited her post, so I don't know what she said. I know what you guys said, and I also read what Rebecca said.
Personally, if that is how they felt, then there is nothing I can say, but from my perspective, I didn't think you guys were to harsh. I have a tough skin though.
Why am I bringing it up here? Because I want you all to know I value your opinion and respect your decisions. I like being told how it is. I don't like a sugar coating on the truth, and I have made it through the learning curve because of you. Please don't stop giving advice because of one poster. You guys are invaluable and without you, there is no way I could have learned all that I have. I feel that my successes are your successes.

I just want you to know, I appreciate you!
Thanks................... :mrgreen:


edit to add:
I don't think Callie got into anything. There is nothing around here inside she could have gotten her mouth into. She is allowed outside, but I am on the second floor, so when outside, she only goes on the balcony. So unless it started raining high carb food/treats, I don't ink there was anything out there she could have goten into either.
I didn't think she was all that stressed about another cat. She still comes in my room at night and waits on *her stool* until I fall a sleep. When I wake up in the morning, she is in my bed, right by my face in *her spot*. She isn't exhibiting any stressful behavior and isn't even hissing or growling at Rocky. I don't know, maybe she is upset and just doesn't want me to know it. I did notice a little liquid poo in the box on Monday that came from her. I know. Don't ask how I know.. ;-) But that has cleared up in one day. She was back to normal yesterday. I din't even think about it until now, but maybe she was feeling a little off and since I didn't check her at all yesterday, she could have been really high for all I know.
Ok well, that's all for now. This is turning into a chapter for a book..............me and my long posts! :)
 
great to hear that she has come down to much better numbers! I hope she holds there. Sometimes just a little nudge helps things every now and again. I know what it is like to have two diabetics - starting off making dosing decisions similarly is normal. Eventually you will have enough data to make 'Rocky based' dosing decisions :-D

I see that he gave you a good little drop there tonight. I don't think a full curve is quite necessary yet, but maybe try to get at least a +5 and +7 or so.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top