Calley is now on Lantus....BG have gone sky high

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kris10mo

Member Since 2014
Calley started back on Lantus last night, so essentially she has been on it for 24 hours. For the first time in months her BG AMPS was over 400...430 to be exact. I gave her her shot at 8:30pm 7/29/14. Then some time over night she vomited a LOT of brown stuff/liquidy.

Then tonight her PMSP at 8:30pm was 266. I gave her 1 unit Lantus. Two hours later(just now) she vomited another large amount. I tested her thinking she would be hypo but she was at 243.

I'm worried with these high numbers. I've been told to be patient and that it is normal for BG levels to increase with a new insulin....but I'm just so anxious that this change in insulin is causing more problems instead of helping to fix things.

:(.......
Thoughts?
 
Sorry...I reread my post and it didn't make sense.

Her BG PMPS 7/29/14 was 306. She got her first dose of Lantus last night. Then she vomited over night.

Her BG AMPS 7/30/14 was 430. I gave her insulin.

Her BG PMPS 7/30/14 was 266. She got insulin. Then she vomited two hours later at 10:30pm. I tested her to see if she went hypo and she was at 243.

What the heck is happening to her levels?
 
I am farily new, and know someone more experienced will come around soon

But remember, Lantus takes longer to feel the full effect because it is a depot (I think that is what it is called) insulin. So it needs to build up a little in the system before you see the full effect.

As long as you are consistent with the amount you are dosing and when you are dosing, I think you start to see a difference within 6 cycles....and just as an fyi, at least with my experience of having numbers in the 400s and 500s for several weeks, the 200s ain't that bad.

I know it is difficult to be patient, but it really is the best thing you can do. Give the Lantus time to build up in her system so we can see what the full effect will be.

Her levels are getting used to the new insulin is my guess.....it might be helpful to get some additional readings in the cycle, just to see what her cycles look like to help better predict how it will work.

You may also think about starting to post in one of the Lantus Insulin Support Groups....take a look at the Tight Regulation and the Relaxed Group to see what will work for you. There is almost always someone around on one of those forums who has a lot of knowledge about Lantus and will be able to give great advice....
 
Your spread sheet is not public. I get the error message:
Google logoDrive

You need permission

Want in? Ask the owner for access, or switch to an account with permission. Learn more
 
LOL. I can't even get into my own spreadsheet. Mel did it for me and I am too computer illiterate to figure it all out. One day soon I hope. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top