Cadmium's BG- AMPS: 393, +7.5: 328, PMPS: 483, +2: 300, +4.5: 162, +5.5: 155

Finally got a number that wasn't 400+ for AMPS!!!
Hooray. I see your note about holding the dose for two weeks per vets. I would not do that myself, unless something changes and he starts going down. I would hold the dose for one week (14 cycles) or a maximum of 10 days. The few blue numbers he's had have been over 150. He needs to get out of the dangerous numbers that are hard on him and his kidneys.
 
Hooray. I see your note about holding the dose for two weeks per vets. I would not do that myself, unless something changes and he starts going down. I would hold the dose for one week (14 cycles) or a maximum of 10 days. The few blue numbers he's had have been over 150. He needs to get out of the dangerous numbers that are hard on him and his kidneys.
It's due to AAHA recommendations following steroid exposure. From what I understand, steroids can keep glucose artificially elevated for a while and then cause really bad hypos once it lifts. Raising insulin can make that risk of a bad hypo more severe. I can of course check in with the vet after one week if it seems that he's not getting more appropriate numbers though! Reductions will also be made if there's a hypo, of course.
This is the troubleshooting guide I am referencing by the way: https://www.aaha.org/aaha-guidelines/diabetes-management/troubleshooting/
And it would only be a total of two weeks, including the days since the one marked "day 1"
 
It's due to AAHA recommendations following steroid exposure. From what I understand, steroids can keep glucose artificially elevated for a while and then cause really bad hypos once it lifts. Raising insulin can make that risk of a bad hypo more severe. I can of course check in with the vet after one week if it seems that he's not getting more appropriate numbers though! Reductions will also be made if there's a hypo, of course.
This is the troubleshooting guide I am referencing by the way: https://www.aaha.org/aaha-guidelines/diabetes-management/troubleshooting/
And it would only be a total of two weeks, including the days since the one marked "day 1"
Well yes, we want to keep him safe!
 
Looking at my personal medical records, it seems I was initially prescribed the steroid ointment back at the beginning of May 2022. That means he was likely exposed intermittently (based on my flares and frequency of use) for around 6-7 months. And of course my flares get the worst on the backs of my hands, using my fingers to apply it.... So that meant if I pet him at all while the ointment was on, it would get all over his fur, allowing him to groom and therefore ingest the steroids- without me realizing the effect it could have on him....
Poor guy :'(
 
Back
Top