Cadmium BG May 2023- AMPS: 368, +6: 242, PMPS: 174

apollonia-artemisia

Active Member
Prev thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/cadmium-bg-april-2023-amps-430-2-5-430.276005/

05/01/2023
AMPS: 317, 0.75, whole can. Scarf and barfed a bit of his morning meal :(
+3: 331
+9: 194
PMPS: 244, 0.75, whole can

05/02/2023
AMPS: 304, 0.75, whole can
+5: 223
PMPS: 476, 0.75, whole can. EXTREMELY excited for his dinner, I think he was upset that he didn't get fed with the other cats?

05/03/2023
AMPS: 363, 0.75, whole can
+4: 232
PMPS: 336, 0.75, whole can
+7: 270

05/04/2023
AMPS: 447, 0.75F, whole can. Trying to bring that high preshot down
+2: 295
+7: 255
PMPS: 433, 0.75, whole can
+5: 270

05/05/2023
AMPS: 399, 0.75, whole can
+6: 313
PMPS: 402, 1u, whole can
+2: 369

05/06/2023
AMPS: 382, 1u, whole can
+6: 209
PMPS: 412, 1u, whole can
+3: 230

05/07/2023
AMPS: 463, 1u, whole can
+3: 286
+6: 261
+8: 350
PMPS: 450, 1u, whole can
ketones- negative

05/08/2023
AMPS: 294, 1u, whole can
+5.5: 140
PMPS: 423, 1u, whole can

05/09/2023
AMPS: 408, 1u, whole can
+5.5: 211
PMPS: 365, 1u, whole can

05/10/2023
AMPS: 360, 1u, whole can
+10: 382
PMPS: 459, 1u, whole can. I believe this may be partially due to separation anxiety, I was at appointments all day.
+4: 262

05/11/2023
AMPS: 372, 1u, whole can
+2: J'zargo and Cadmium got into a bit of a fight. Separated them and checked for any injuries, nothing visible. Cadmium got a churu and ate it with gusto
+5: 169
PMPS: 441, 1u, whole can
+4: 310, but he just finished his dinner not too long ago.

05/12/2023
AMPS: 409, 1u, whole can
+6: 217
PMPS: 357, 1u, whole can
+4.5: 184

05/13/2023
AMPS: 368, 1u, whole can. His hips seem to be bothering him again :(
+4: 307
+5: zoomies
PMPS: 361, 1u, whole can

05/14/2023
AMPS: 352, 1u, whole can
+6: 252
PMPS: 383, 1F, whole can
+2: snacks

05/15/2023
AMPS: 373, 1F, whole can
+2: zoomies
+4: snacks
+6: 307
PMPS: 305, 1F, whole can
+2: snacks
+4: 92, half can, as I couldn't stay awake to keep an eye on him.

05/16/2023
AMPS: 427, 1u, whole can, I was nervous after that drop from last night.
+7: 322
PMPS: 375, 1F, whole can
+3.5: 244

05/17/2023
AMPS: 344, 1F, whole can
+1.5: 416
+10: 295
PMPS: 348, 1F, whole can
+3: 209

05/18/2023
AMPS: 143, ,whole can
+2: 280
+5: snacks. Roommate gave him churu and at first he refused it but eventually did eat it. Was acting sleepy and didn't want to get up, roommate assumed it was just because he was tired. I explained no thats not good and to try and get him to eat while I got home as fast as I could.
+5.5: 131, returned home and going to stay with him to watch and see how hes doing. I have medium and high carb options at the ready. He is currently in my lap, purring up a storm.
+6: 150
PMPS: 336, 1F, whole can
+3: 284

05/19/2023
AMPS: 314, 1F, whole can
+3.5: 239
+7: 174
PMPS: 379, 1F, whole can

05/20/2023
AMPS: 252, 1u, whole can
+3: 292
+7: 226
PMPS: 311, 1F, whole can
+3: 258

05/21/2023
AMPS: 253, 1F, whole can. Gave this instead of 1u as he had a similar preshot yesterday and it kept him level.
+6: 252
PMPS: 284, 1F, whole can
+4: 65, gave two spoons of 12% carb food
+4.5: 62, gave rest of can of 12% carb food
+5: 86

05/22/2023
AMPS: 378, 1u, whole can
+6: 249
PMPS: 437, 1u, whole can

05/23/2023
AMPS: 218, 1u, whole can
+3: 210
+6: 73, churu treat
+7: 86, churu treat
+11: 412
PMPS: 417, 0.75F, whole can
+2: 365

05/24/2023
AMPS: 370, 0.75F, whole can
+4: 189
+9: 364
PMPS: 430, 1u, whole can
+8: 209

05/25/2023
AMPS: 203, 1u, whole can. I gave 1u because I was concerned about the higher preshots :'(
+3: 103, snack of freeze dried chicken
+4: 54, 15% carb food.
+4.5: 103
+6: 323
PMPS: 447, 0.75F, whole can. I spoke with vet and was recommended to go with this dose for now.
+3: 328

05/26/2023
AMPS: 467, 0.75F, whole can
+3: 267
PMPS: 489, 0.75F, whole can

05/27/2023
AMPS: 410, 0.75F, whole can
+3: 293
+6: 218
PMPS: 331, 0.75F, whole can
+3: 245

05/28/2023
AMPS: 330, 0.75F, whole can
+6: 173
PMPS: 465, 0.75F, whole can

05/29/2023
AMPS: 378, 0.75F, whole can
+6: 201
PMPS: 428, 0.75F, whole can
+4: 278

05/30/2023
AMPS: 334, 0.75F, whole can
+6: 245
PMPS: 326, 0.75F, whole can
+4: 322

05/31/2023
AMPS: 368, 0.75F, whole can
+6: 242
PMPS: 174, 0.75, whole can
 
Last edited:
@Suzanne & Darcy New thread. Right off the bat, I'm thinking he will need to go to a full unit tonight. I opened the new vial and I don't know whats going on with it. It seems like it worked great for one dose and that's it.
 
I’m glad you went to one unit because he really needed that. I was kind of waiting for you to do it and I knew you would get there eventually— but I knew you wanted to make sure things would be okay on the mew vial. I really do hope that his preshot numbers are going to come down some. I don’t like seeing all that red. Let’s see how things go on 1 unit for a few more days.
 
Hi. I see you had a blue yesterday, but what happened last night (spreadsheet empty?). It looks like maybe he’s being bouncy, but I am pleased with the blue.
 
Updates for 5/13: We are getting more frequent blue readings! I'm hoping that he continues to get them and is more used to being in normal range. His reactive spikes are getting less severe, and he's been incredibly zoomy.

Today his hips seem to be bothering him, so I want to give him a treat with some miralax and dasuquin mixed in later. Found out they're giving him a hard time because of his litterbox aim being a bit off. Will keep an eye on how he feels and give more frequent check ins <3
 
Would you consider shooting a 1 fat? I think we could bring those numbers down a bit. And if you give snacks around +3-ish it would be good.
I can try, but I might need to give his pm snacks more at +2 if I can't stay up too late. It seems like he was also anxious earlier before I let him run around, he was pretty zoomy! If his preshot is high tonight I'll try that though.
 
I can try, but I might need to give his pm snacks more at +2 if I can't stay up too late. It seems like he was also anxious earlier before I let him run around, he was pretty zoomy! If his preshot is high tonight I'll try that though.
I read about him being attacked by one of your other cats. I am sorry about that. I hope you are keeping them separated. I understand that! I understand about the p.m. snacks.
 
I read about him being attacked by one of your other cats. I am sorry about that. I hope you are keeping them separated. I understand that! I understand about the p.m. snacks.
It wasn't purely out of malice, its that J'zargo doesn't really understand his strength, or boundaries for that matter. They were originally playing, and J'zargo took it too far. Cadmium is a bit spoiled and has taken over the studio as his kitty infirmary/bedroom! So he is being kept safe in there whenever things get heated.
 
I will update the main post to list all of his readings later when I am at my computer, but last night was a bit of an exciting one.

Following his dose of 1F, he got a full can and ate it all within that first hour. At about +2, I gave him a churu tube as a snack. Even still, at +4 he was at 92!! As I knew I was struggling to stay awake or even keep my eyes open at that point, I felt like it would be safer to give him a half can to ensure that he had access to food to prevent from going too low. He ate that with gusto too! Because it seemed to me to be a bit extreme to fall to the 90s at only four hours in, I back off with his dose today and returned to just 1 flat.

@Suzanne & Darcy tagging you to make sure you see this update!
 
If you had checked at +2, you would have probably seen that he needed either a bit more of a snack or perhaps a few more carbs (medium carb food to slow him down.) Still 92 is such a great number! I would have been thrilled to see a nice high green like that. I think that he's bouncing now and I would not have reduced his dose - especially with that red preshot today. That's not a criticism; I understand that it made you nervous and it was at night. I'm very happy that he has a good appetite when his numbers are in the green. I'll be interested to see what he got today (in terms of tests). Cadmium never stays in a bounce for too long. I just don't want him to be stuck in yellows, pinks and reds again.
 
If you had checked at +2, you would have probably seen that he needed either a bit more of a snack or perhaps a few more carbs (medium carb food to slow him down.) Still 92 is such a great number! I would have been thrilled to see a nice high green like that. I think that he's bouncing now and I would not have reduced his dose - especially with that red preshot today. That's not a criticism; I understand that it made you nervous and it was at night. I'm very happy that he has a good appetite when his numbers are in the green. I'll be interested to see what he got today (in terms of tests). Cadmium never stays in a bounce for too long. I just don't want him to be stuck in yellows, pinks and reds again.
His +7 was 322. My concern was that he very very rarely eats his entire can in one go, and he still had a substantial snack at +2, and was still hungry at +4. I thought maybe if I didn't catch the fact that he was in the 90s, he would have gotten lower than that. Maybe I'm just being overreactive and overly cautious again. I wonder if his +7 was also a bounce from whatever was around his +4? I'm mad that I have so many doctors appointments to go to that I cant always be there to see what his tests were :(((
 
His +7 was 322. My concern was that he very very rarely eats his entire can in one go, and he still had a substantial snack at +2, and was still hungry at +4. I thought maybe if I didn't catch the fact that he was in the 90s, he would have gotten lower than that. Maybe I'm just being overreactive and overly cautious again. I wonder if his +7 was also a bounce from whatever was around his +4? I'm mad that I have so many doctors appointments to go to that I cant always be there to see what his tests were :(((
You're doing great! You have to go out of the house sometime, right? Maybe by PMPS you will see if it looks like he was sliding down from the morning's high, or not.
 
You're doing great! You have to go out of the house sometime, right? Maybe by PMPS you will see if it looks like he was sliding down from the morning's high, or not.
What do you think I should do for tonights dose? I was thinking maybe if its a high pink or red he gets a 1F to accommodate it, and if it is staying at about the same or lower a 1.0 and see what his +4 is. Do you think thats a solid plan? Or should I keep his dose at 1F for consistencies sake?
 
And you shot the 1F. I hope you are ready with snacks and medium carb stuff and don’t have any appointments this morning. Keep a close eye.
 
His +2 was 280 which is definitely food influenced, I'm planning on asking my roommate to give him snacks around his +4 to be safe!!

He had so much energy this morning, and was keeping up with the young cats and everything!
 
And what in the world did he eat for breakfast? He went from 143 to 280! As it happens, that was a good thing. But if he has that low of a preshot again, I would try just a straight 1 unit and regular low carb food. Just to see how it goes. As it is, I am pretty happy with him on the 1f dose for the most part. You are doing such a good job.
 
And what in the world did he eat for breakfast? He went from 143 to 280! As it happens, that was a good thing. But if he has that low of a preshot again, I would try just a straight 1 unit and regular low carb food. Just to see how it goes. As it is, I am pretty happy with him on the 1f dose for the most part. You are doing such a good job.
It was regular low carb!!! He just was super hungry and ate it all at once! He's been doing that for a bit lately instead of his usual eat half, wait a bit, then eat the other half! I wonder if it was because of his teeth that got pulled?
 
You can always go back up to 1F depending on preshots and how his nadirs are going. Was there anything different going on last night with food/feeding schedules/how much he ate/what he ate?
 
You can always go back up to 1F depending on preshots and how his nadirs are going. Was there anything different going on last night with food/feeding schedules/how much he ate/what he ate?
No difference in his schedule that I noted. The only thing I can potentially think of is maybe we spent more time cuddling? We also had a cuddle session before that recent blue AMPS. Maybe separation anxiety might be affecting him more than I initially thought :(
 
Can you color code the 54 green?
Congratulations on the reduction. I hope it will stick! Of course, big boing after this, but at this point it looks like he's headed back down. He's a tough one is Cadmuim!
 
Can you color code the 54 green?
Congratulations on the reduction. I hope it will stick! Of course, big boing after this, but at this point it looks like he's headed back down. He's a tough one is Cadmuim!
It might wind up being a conditional reduction if his current trend of preshots continues like this, but we shall see how his glucose behaves in a few days! I also want to see what his +4 and +6's act like, because I haven't had a chance to catch them lately.
 
Its getting hotter here and hes also been kinda anxious lately, but active still!! I've noticed he gets lower readings after a cuddle session. I might return him to 1 unit if I don't see more blues soon.
I definitely thought that the current dose isn't quite doing it for him (when I looked at his SS).

You'd better cuddle with him a lot! He needs it! :-)
 
I definitely thought that the current dose isn't quite doing it for him (when I looked at his SS).

You'd better cuddle with him a lot! He needs it! :)
I try to as much as I can!!

Oy, it might also be due to his ears bothering him?? They were pretty gross just now. I want to see how he responds to me keeping his ears clean (and work on addressing his chin acne while I'm at it) and then do a conditional 1u with 0.75(F?) if hes needing it reduced.
 
Good job. He had a nice cycle. It looks like the .75 was a good dose for the 174 preshot.
He didnt have too bad of a rebound either to that green I'm really surprised!! His preshot is 289, I'm going with 0.75 again to see how he responds to it for this cycle- and because I got yet another doctors appointment today. I don't plan on being out during the midpoint of his cycle, but will likely miss his +4 reading.

I think a good plan will be that based on whatever his PMPS reading is, and how he reacts to this dose- that'll determine what I give him for PM dose.

Really happy about the yellow preshot today though :D!!
 
Hi! I'm glad you went ahead and shot 1 unit this morning. It looks like he needs it. I don't see any night time tests recently. I'm wondering if some of the red preshots may not be due to him dropping into blue (or green?) at night... but I doubt if it was anything dangerously low, I'm just saying that this would explain the red preshots perhaps.

Hope all is well with you and Cadmium -- and the other cats, too! :-)
 
Hi! I'm glad you went ahead and shot 1 unit this morning. It looks like he needs it. I don't see any night time tests recently. I'm wondering if some of the red preshots may not be due to him dropping into blue (or green?) at night... but I doubt if it was anything dangerously low, I'm just saying that this would explain the red preshots perhaps.

Hope all is well with you and Cadmium -- and the other cats, too! :)
I actually forgot to add the other readings from last night because I had that same thought. His +3 was 414 and if I'm remembering right (will double check once I'm back home to confirm) his +6 was 295. That's part of why I decided to go ahead and give him 1 unit, because it didn't seem like it was doing enough for him!
 
Back
Top