Cadmium BG April 2023: AMPS: 430, +2.5: 430

apollonia-artemisia

Active Member
04/01/2023
AMPS: 180, 0.5F, whole can
+4: 49, getting out his 12% can to get him back up. He put off eating for so long that once he felt low he scarf and barfed his normal food.
20m later: 74, giving him two more spoonfuls.
+5: 90, letting him finish the rest of the can (approx 1 spoonful)
+5.5: 120
+6: 225
+7: 348
PMPS: 465, 0.5, whole can. Changed to salmon fancy feast, will update signature.
+2: 412

04/02/2023
AMPS: 418, 0.5, whole can
+4.5: 109
PMPS: 431, 0.5, whole can
+3: 310
He is actually eating his cans, so I think his dose needs to be altered just a bit

04/03/2023
AMPS: 419, 0.5F, whole can. Altered dose slightly, because im thinking maybe its not lasting for long enough now that hes eating more food.
+4: 277
+7: 183
PMPS: 339, 0.5F, whole can
+4: 252, zoomies

04/04/2023
AMPS: 252, 0.5F, whole can
+6.5: 140
PMPS: 180, 0.5F, whole can

04/05/2023
AMPS: 100, stalling. 15m later: also 100. 2hrs after food: 199, gave dose of 0.5u after talking with vet.
+2: 261
+4: 176
+8: 152
+10: 196 after eating some snacks
NO PM DOSE/DINNER AS TOMORROW HE WILL BE IN SURGERY FOR DENTAL CLEANING

04/06/2023
AMBG: 449, taken approx 2.5hr before normal reading. no breakfast or dose due to dental cleaning today.
Drop-off was 9am central time.
+7 from drop off: 561
+10: 447
PMPS: 431, 0.5u, staggering food to make sure his stomach doesn't get upset after anesthesia
+3.5: 158, still has food left :)

04/07/2023
AMPS: 173, 0.5, whole can. Back to normal programming, lol.
+2.5: 136
+5.5: 126
PMPS: 191, 0.5, whole can
+3: 235

04/08/2023
AMPS: 364, 0.5, whole can. Dose of dasuquin because I think the both of us are having pain flares from the weather!
+6.5: 349
PMPS: 421, 0.5F, whole can
+3: 271

04/09/2023
AMPS: 335, 0.5F, whole can
+5: 257, got zoomy when I let him out of his room
PMPS: 430, 0.75, whole can. Increases dose because of high readings and signs of hyperglycemia, got VERY zoomy
+5: 305

04/10/2023
AMPS: 179, 0.75, whole can. He is cuddly and a bit defensive of me bc he seems to tell I'm not feeling well today
+4: 85, snacks
+5: 78, more snacks
+6: 97
PMPS: 341, 0.5F, whole can
+3: 340

04/11/2023
AMPS: 356, 0.5F, whole can
+5: 113
PMPS: 428, 0.5F, whole can

04/12/2023
MORNING DOSE WAS LATE BY TWO HOURS. Appointments took far longer than expected.
AMPS: 331, 0.5F, whole can. Threw up a small portion of his food but is otherwise fine.
+7: 280
PMPS: 364, 0.5F, whole can

04/13/2023
AMPS: 326, 0.5F, whole can
+7: 121
PMPS: 398, 0.5F, whole can
+3: 326

04/14/2023
AMPS: 179, 0.5F, whole can
+3: 163
+6: 137
PMPS: 341, 0.5F, whole can
I let him stay out last night after he was done with his food because his room is getting too hot, and he did pretty well! Unfortunately he didnt aim correctly with one of the shorter walled litterboxes and overshot :(

04/15/2023
AMPS: 353, 0.5F, whole can
+4: 126
+5.5: 90, snack of churu
+8: 310
PMPS: 437, 0.5, whole can

04/16/2023
AMPS: 388, 0.5, whole can
+7: 325
PMPS: 374, 0.5, whole can

04/17/2023
AMPS: 375, 0.5F, whole can. I beefed his dose to see if it'll help lower these higher preshots.
+5: 203 :/
PMPS: 437, 0.5F, whole can
+6: 289

04/18/2023
AMPS: 403, 0.5F-0.75S, whole can. Trying to accommodate his high preshot.
+4: 311
PMPS: 183!! 0.5F, whole can
+6: 206

04/19/2023
AMPS: 208, 0.75S, whole can. It was the same dose as yesterday morning, which I am going to call 0.75S from now on
+6.5: 149
PMPS: 442, 0.75S, whole can

04/20/2023
AMPS: 257, 0.75S, whole can
+3: 263
PMPS: 393, 0.75S, whole can

04/21/2023
AMPS: 468, 0.75S, whole can
PMPS: 414, 0.75S, whole can. Did not get midcycle test as we were doing too many errands to get a reliable result. Depending on his readings for the next few cycles, he might need to go to 0.75.
+3.5: 212

04/22/2023
AMPS: 434, 0.75, whole can
+4: 346. I'm wondering if its time to open a new bottle of insulin...
+6: 332
PMPS: 375, 0.75, whole can
+2: 324

04/23/2023
AMPS: 363, 0.75, whole can
+3: 291
+6: 206
+7: 179
PMPS: 317, 0.75, whole can

04/24/2023
AMPS: 275, 0.75, whole can
+6: 181
+8: 143
PMPS: 348, 0.75, whole can
+4: 177

04/25/2023
AMPS: 472, 0.75, whole can
+4.5: 242
+6: 272
PMPS: 437, 0.75, whole can
+2: 371

04/26/2023
AMPS: 337, 0.75, whole can
+2.5: 292
+7: 180
PMPS: 410, FS, whole can. Intended to give 0.75, but found dried insulin in his fur later :(
+5: 326

04/27/2023
AMPS: 432, 0.75, whole can
+5: 270
+7: 249
PMPS: 253, 0.75, whole can

04/28/2023
AMPS: 373, 0.75, whole can
+7: 130
PMPS: 259, 0.75 whole can.
I meant to check him during his PM cycle but I fell asleep before I could, my back has been acting up the past couple of days.

04/29/2023
AMPS: 487, 0.75, whole can
+4: 299
+7: 209
PMPS: 185, 0.75, whole can
+3: 210

04/30/2023
AMPS: 430, 0.75, whole can
+2.5: 430
+6.5: 317
PMPS: 390, 0.75 NEW VIAL, whole can

05/01/23 will make a new thread for May soon.
AMPS: 317, 0.75, whole can. Scarf and barfed a portion of breakfast.
 
Last edited:
@Suzanne & Darcy @FrostD
New thread!

After yesterdays scare my current plan is to give him at least 3 cycles on 0.5u to see how he responds to it, and to see if this is a bounce that will clear up soon. So basically- tomorrow morning we can reevaluate and make a plan from here to see if that drop was purely from him being that stubborn regarding his food, or if his insulin dosage was part of it, too.

Can't say I blame him for still being in the 400s, I bet his poor body is freaking out still from going to 49!
 
He's trying to keep us guessing. He was doing so well on about 1 unit and now this stuff is going one. I agree with staying around .5 for a bit -- for safety sake and to see if things settle or not.
 
It looks like things are improving now after the skipped doses for the dental procedure. He had a great cycle yesterday and then started a bounce. I hope he will come down this a.m. cycle.
 
It looks like things are improving now after the skipped doses for the dental procedure. He had a great cycle yesterday and then started a bounce. I hope he will come down this a.m. cycle.
I agree!! It makes me very glad to see that his body knows exactly what to do with the insulin- especially when he got those good cycles after missing doses.

It does make me wonder though, maybe part of why he had been bouncing so hard though was because of tooth 109 (that was the one that got removed, the vet said it was "practically flapping in the wind") and it hurting him? Ever since we returned home, its like his volume got reset to be his typical loud self! The quietness was gradual, so I thought it was just him getting older. Cats definitely are great at hiding their problems, thats for sure.

I plan on checking him at his midpoint to see how he's doing re: his bounce.

I'm also supposed to not let him run around and jump too much, but he keeps having mini bursts of zoomies! At least he's feeling good enough for them though :D
 
Bad teeth are notorious for messing with BG. And then it probably hurt. Maybe he won’t be as picky about food now either? Perhaps he had come to associate a particular food with pain in his mouth? I’m so happy he’s loud again!
 
Hey everyone, can someone help me figure out what his readings mean? I'm thinking either because he is actually regularly eating now and his activity level is higher he might need more insulin, OR its that the bottle has finally quit and it is time to open a new one. What do y'all think?
 
How old is your vial? Honestly, it isn’t usually the insulin, but if it’s old, you could try a new vial. I now remember that what I was going to say yesterday was that I was wondering what he was doing at night and if that had anything to do with the high preshot numbers (if he dropped low) — but also that I was going to recommend that you try a straight.75 for a few days and see what happens and then if you aren’t seeing any action that you increase to 1 unit.
 
It’s a little hard filling in the gaps on the spreadsheet. If you look at it recently you will see what I mean (I hope.). Do you think you can try to get two mid-cycle tests during the day? And one in the p.m. cycle? Are the red preshots from a low or from short duration? He had a lot more yellow preshots when he was on 1 unit — a lot better cycles overall, although he was keeping you on your toes at times. So if you are up for it, I would try a .75 (not fat or skinny) for at least 3 days and then move to 1 unit if the numbers support it.
 
It’s a little hard filling in the gaps on the spreadsheet. If you look at it recently you will see what I mean (I hope.). Do you think you can try to get two mid-cycle tests during the day? And one in the p.m. cycle? Are the red preshots from a low or from short duration? He had a lot more yellow preshots when he was on 1 unit — a lot better cycles overall, although he was keeping you on your toes at times. So if you are up for it, I would try a .75 (not fat or skinny) for at least 3 days and then move to 1 unit if the numbers support it.
Sounds like a good idea to me. I'll do my best to get those tests in to see what's happening!
 
How old is your vial? Honestly, it isn’t usually the insulin, but if it’s old, you could try a new vial. I now remember that what I was going to say yesterday was that I was wondering what he was doing at night and if that had anything to do with the high preshot numbers (if he dropped low) — but also that I was going to recommend that you try a straight.75 for a few days and see what happens and then if you aren’t seeing any action that you increase to 1 unit.
Same vial as when he got first diagnosed actually! So early November 2022. I've been doing my best to take really good care of it.
 
Good plan. You want to make only one change at a time so do the .75 and see and then do the new vial if you see no difference in the numbers -- and only after that make the increase to 1 unit if he needs it.
 
I believe his insulin bottle may have called it quits! It's either that, or I missed a low later in the night last cycle. I might consider opening his new bottle tonight or tomorrow morning, depending on his preshots.
 
Back
Top