Buttons - 7/5

Status
Not open for further replies.

Victoria & Buttons

Member Since 2012
Needing your lovely guys help and suggestions again!

I'm worried because she did a substantial drop today. She started out at 23.4 (421) and after 7 hrs shes at 3.3 (59). I know thats the nadir point but I remember someone saying about the previous days sugars that even that was a big drop and it wasnt as much as this.

Am I doing something wrong? Should I be doing something else? Should I be changing her dose? Or just ride this out for a few more days? She has been eating fine and all that. I know I'm suppose to try and keep her dose constant but its hard when I see her sugars like this. :sad:
 
Yes I am. Though after I did take the test that came out as 3.3, it was time for her afternoon snack so it did go up a bit to 6.7.
 
So that's 120, right? That's good. She may dip down again once the snack clears. If you can get a +10 that will help see where she's headed at PMPS.
 
Yes, thats 120. I unfortunately didnt get a +10. But 59 isnt too low right? Its okay?

I'm guessing I should just keep her at the dose shes at, or should I decrease? Thank you for your help!
 
She DEFINITELY gets a lot of chin scratches, especially when testing her BGs! Shes getting more today though!


This is so stressful, oh gosh! +5 mark she was at 2.7 (48). Im assuming thats low? Should I decrease her does to .75 because its going that low? My baby is currently having her night snack and then I'll probably test again. Help! :?
 
Sorry no one was around last night. I would definitely reduce her dose this morning. Is she eating her normal amount? I think I saw that you just changed her food -does she like it? Or is she being fussy and holding out for her old food?
 
No no no, dont be sorry! Everyone has lives too!

No, she isnt being fussy at all. She's eating fine. For the most part she eats all that is on her plate, aside from a little bit here and there.
 
Good mornng Victoria. Hoping all was okay last night. I was tied up and didn't get on much, so I didn't see your post. It appears to me that the food may be having a sizeable impact on Buttons' numbers. I agree w/ Marcy, another reduction is certainly warranted. I did my food change before we started insulin, so I never saw an impact like that. On ProZinc, they used to say a food change can impact BG by 100 points. I would expect it's probably about the same for Levemir.

I"ll try to check back in on you throughout the day. Those mid-cycle tests sure are helpful! That's why it's so important to do them... When Grayson was first diagnosed, I came home at 7 pm to shoot him, and his BG was 138 (it was usually about 450). I re-tested, got a 125, then called for help and wisdom from others. Needless to say, he didn't get shot that night!!! I knew it wouldn't be good for him to get insulin at such a low number when he'd dropped 300 points the previous shot. That cemented my commitment to frequent testing!

Wishing you both a good day today.

Lu-Ann
 
Hi Victoria,
Sorry I haven't introduced myself. You have received lovely help so far. Thanks everyone :-D

I simply want to point out that since you've gotten her off the dry food, there have been no more black numbers!

The diet change will go a long way to helping Buttons. And the dose decrease was excellent. She may have a day or 2 of higher BGs still, but she should settle better now that she's not eating dog food. It is even higher in carbs than cat food.
 
Thank you Vicky! Unfortunately there is still dry dog food left out at all times, but for the most part, I think Ive got her under a routine where she isnt hungry enough to go for it. Though I have heard her gnawing on a kibble or two and I go running at her like a crazy woman haha


Oh Lu-Ann, you're so nice! You just made my day! :-)
No need to go out of your way to check on me throughout the day, though it is extremely appreciated!
I cant tell you how happy I am that her numbers are finally starting to drop. I thought I'd never get to this point, and a few tears have been shed over it in frustration!

This may be a stupid question but I know the dose increase or decrease is based on their nadir points. Will their AMPS and PMPS eventually drop in numbers too, or will they stay about the same that they are at now? With the insulin, will the pancreas start to help and eventually her AMPS and PMPS will drop, therefore her nadir will be lower, so a decrease in insulin to the point of hopefully no insulin? Is that how its generally, hoped for, to work?

Thank you all so much for your help! I appreciate it so much! I do have to work tonight, so there wont be a PMPS, but Ill test her sugars right before I leave and then right when I get home. My dad will be giving her her insulin and it went well on Wednesday so I'm hoping for the same, even though it was a fur shot. It feels amazing to have someone else have the general idea of what to do, and not just me!
 
You're lucky your dad is willing and able to help w/ Buttons! It was a long and frustrating early road w/Grayson & me... and the fact that he doesn't bleed much didn't help (and my meter needed more blood than the current one).

As for your questions... I understand that as they get acclimated to the Lev, and you find the "right dose" (keep in mind it may vary from time to time), their preshots will start to come down, and so will the nadirs. In a perfect world, Mr P (the pancreas) starts making visits and being an active participant. Whether or not remission happens, will depend on the cat. I've seen some go off with little more than a food change. Others after looking like they were at death's door. I don't know that there's a NORMAL when it comes to that. But we can all hope we get there!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top