Teddi Basagoitia
Member Since 2024
Hi, I’m new here and learning to use this site, please forgive me. My 15 year old cat was diagnosed over 2 years ago, and after trying 4 types of insulin that didn’t seem to work, he went into remission after a food change from rx science diet to a feeeze dried pure chicken diet. A few weeks ago his BG was rising and the vet prescribed Senveglo because of the issues previously with insulin. The Senveglo triggered pancreatitis and a bout of keto acidosis that required hospitalization and nearly killed him. He’s doing better now, and the vet has prescribed Lantus, 2 units daily, which he’s gotten for a week, and his BG remains around 300 as measured with an Alphtrak meter. Today the vet told me to increase the dose to 2 units twice a day. After reading a bit, I’m worried about this increase, and I’m looking for advice. Thank you!