I have been reading messages on this board since Buggy was dx'ed on Sept 3rd but I saw so many other cats & owners that were much more in need that I felt blessed that Buggy had only lost weight & some strength in his back legs but had already showed improvement in the 1st week of using Hill's m/d canned food & a shot/day of 2 units of lantus. During the 1st vet visit after knowing the dx, I mentioned home monitoring but the vet stepped back & my husband argued not to do it since buggy would be coming back weekly for BG testing. When my husband asked what I would do if the test came out bad, I agreed to wait and see how things went.
We are now on our 3rd week and Buggy shares his home with his 2 sisters, Fluffy & Tiny. Fluffy hates can food & Tiny will eat anything so we still have the dry food that buggy loves but can't have. We have had cats for over 30 years & have always free fed them. My husband & I share duties so he handles the feeding & I handle all of the vet & shot issues. My husband doesn't believe that buggy will ever be trained to eat just twice a day & the vet says as long as we don't over feed him then the more frequent feedings are fine. He juggles the cats around but last week (Buggy's 2nd week on insulin), he forgot to pull up the dry food & Buggy got into it. Buggy's week BG went from 279 up to 400.
Last night, there was a raid on the kitchen & the bag of dry food was knocked off the back of the counter & it was chewed into. Not sure who it was (Tiny vs Buggy) but we caught Buggy eating. I have now put the two sister's food in bowls with snap lids on them & put the dry food bag into a plastic container with a lid.
My 1st question is....I know we will probably never be able to allow Buggy back on dry food but what should we do with the 2 sisters? They need to lose some weight but I don't think we can afford to put them all on can food & Fluffy doesn't like it anyways. Should we even try? Would it be easier on Buggy if we changed their dry food so it wasn't the kind he ate all his life? I know everyone says to switch to can food and Tiny does eat some of Buggy's but any ideas, recommendations, etc would be appreciated.
2nd question is why shouldn't we be using the lantus pen needles? Walmart gave me the ReliOn 31g 8mm needles. They seem to work pretty good. I don't really like having to keep the needle in for 10 seconds as the instructions say but Buggy usually stays still for that time.
3rd question - I really like my vet but I am going to do monitoring whether he likes it or not... I went out & picked up a ReliOn Confirm Monitor today. I haven't done a spreadsheet because Buggy's tx seems different then most here. He is only getting one shot a day in the evening. His weekly BGs have been 503, 279, 400 & we shall see how he does this Saturday. My question is...since he is only getting one shot per day, when should I check his BGs? Last Saturday the vet increased him up to 3 units due to his increased BGs.
I apologize to everyone else who has a cat who is worse then Buggy. Your sweetie is much more important due to the problems he or she is having so I will understand if responses to my questions are slow. Buggy will be fine if you who are experts are busy helping others in need.
Thank you for all you do for all of us.
We are now on our 3rd week and Buggy shares his home with his 2 sisters, Fluffy & Tiny. Fluffy hates can food & Tiny will eat anything so we still have the dry food that buggy loves but can't have. We have had cats for over 30 years & have always free fed them. My husband & I share duties so he handles the feeding & I handle all of the vet & shot issues. My husband doesn't believe that buggy will ever be trained to eat just twice a day & the vet says as long as we don't over feed him then the more frequent feedings are fine. He juggles the cats around but last week (Buggy's 2nd week on insulin), he forgot to pull up the dry food & Buggy got into it. Buggy's week BG went from 279 up to 400.
Last night, there was a raid on the kitchen & the bag of dry food was knocked off the back of the counter & it was chewed into. Not sure who it was (Tiny vs Buggy) but we caught Buggy eating. I have now put the two sister's food in bowls with snap lids on them & put the dry food bag into a plastic container with a lid.
My 1st question is....I know we will probably never be able to allow Buggy back on dry food but what should we do with the 2 sisters? They need to lose some weight but I don't think we can afford to put them all on can food & Fluffy doesn't like it anyways. Should we even try? Would it be easier on Buggy if we changed their dry food so it wasn't the kind he ate all his life? I know everyone says to switch to can food and Tiny does eat some of Buggy's but any ideas, recommendations, etc would be appreciated.
2nd question is why shouldn't we be using the lantus pen needles? Walmart gave me the ReliOn 31g 8mm needles. They seem to work pretty good. I don't really like having to keep the needle in for 10 seconds as the instructions say but Buggy usually stays still for that time.
3rd question - I really like my vet but I am going to do monitoring whether he likes it or not... I went out & picked up a ReliOn Confirm Monitor today. I haven't done a spreadsheet because Buggy's tx seems different then most here. He is only getting one shot a day in the evening. His weekly BGs have been 503, 279, 400 & we shall see how he does this Saturday. My question is...since he is only getting one shot per day, when should I check his BGs? Last Saturday the vet increased him up to 3 units due to his increased BGs.
I apologize to everyone else who has a cat who is worse then Buggy. Your sweetie is much more important due to the problems he or she is having so I will understand if responses to my questions are slow. Buggy will be fine if you who are experts are busy helping others in need.
Thank you for all you do for all of us.