Bud's Day...

Status
Not open for further replies.

eeraby

Active Member
AMPS 311 shot 1u
+3 313
+7 61/58 (retested)
+9 55
PMPS 99 no shot.

Need some sense out of this, please.

Hubby's doing morning shots. Sugggests .75 AM and PM.
 
Right no shot.

If you can test in an hour and get a shootable number it's not too late to shoot but a reduced dose.

With FD every day is a learning day. Today we learned that 1 unit is too much insulin even on a 300 bg.

Soooo I would tend to agree with whoever said go with .75u twice a day. You will be lowering the total daily dose by .5 unit and evening out the cycle so you can get a shootable # at both PS's.

Make sense?
 
Yes, makes sense, ty.
It's 8.15 pm here... I'll go test and brb. But she's got to get her morning shot no later than 5.30am.

Stressed here. Thank heavens the woman who lets the dogs out for us tested her. She did get her to eat a bit and gave her just a pinch of powered sugar @12.30
 
Her bg's today were beautiful, although a very steep drop, so she might zoom up again. But they wern't too low.

Steep drop + long duration IMHO = too much insulin.

Come back and post your next bg. If you get a shootable # you will need to give a token dose because your next shot will be in less than 9 hours, right? And you want a shootable # then too.

I see you posted, let me look at you ss again.
 
no, was right at 8.15 ... just after I read your reply.

Sorry, not playing with a full deck here with the lack of sleep and the stress of work and Bud and all...
Was really hoping to get to bed. Long day tomorrow @ work and already 9pm. Hubby's already in bed and down right scare to shoot w/o being able to test her. Still haven't been able to get to Walmart. We're rual. I didn't check for syringes @ Kmart, but they were 30 marked off in 10.. not really much better. If I can get out early in the morning, I can go by Walmart.

I really am scared to shoot her, Gator. The 35 and today's lows have really thrown me .
 
OK so reduce things a little. If she's over 300 then shoot .75u or so.

Yea, getting the U100s again will allow you to make better decisions.

30 marked off in 10 would be 1/3cc?? cc = ml

Anyway take what I told you to print out to kmart. It just has to be one of the two I sent you. And has to have the 1/2 unit markings.

And if you are rural you can always order from Hocks.com. In LA we cannot buy syringes without Rx AND my Walmart is in the ghetto and difficult to get to so... I always got from Hocks.
 
Don't shoot tonight, she's a little too low (I'll explain why I think that if you want). Get a good nights sleep, in the morning if no one is around and she is over 300 go with .75u, if around 200 go with .5u.

Don't worry, we'll get this worked out.
 
BTW, props to the dog lady for getting the testing thing going!

As for the Hubby, tell him dudes hang out in PZI too and he's welcome here.
 
Kara (aka, the dog lady) *is* a jewel! She has diabetes, also, and horses, cats, dogs that she vacinates... So she is familiar with it all! Very level headed young woman, too!
 
Rob & Harley said:
Geez I could use a Kara, Gator is right DH can hang out here too.

DH?

hmmmm... a post I made didn't show up...

As to why not too shoot... because she only went up from 55 to 152 in 8 hours? Only 8 hours until her 5.30 shot?

Yes, explain, please... and I'll catch it in the morning.

Thank you so much.
 
Those are all good and valid reasons, but I think 152 is too low to shoot because you shot .5u into a 211 bg and had a really great day so we would only be guessing at what to shoot into the 152 bg and it is night time and you need a good nights sleep.

DH = Dear Husband.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top