Buddys amps 300, +6 *55,dose change?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marci and Buddy

Member Since 2009
today is his 6th cycle at .75u....now he's on a roller coster ride.
Better to lower his dose, or stick with the same a few more cycles?
Thanks, and Happy Holidays everyone :smile:
 
Seems like he needs less and less. Levemir is very capable of lessening their insulin needs, regardless what dose their previous insulin was at.

Are you thinking of going to .5U? Seems reasonable to me.

Merry Christmas! party_cat
 
I like the idea of a thin .75u

The other gals that post per centages would probably agree that the thin .75u is a good step down.

On the other paw, there are folks on the board that would advocate staing where you are and seeing if the liver will school its way out of the bounces.

IMO- you should go with your own personal preference based on recent past data.

If it were my Paul, I'd go for the skinny .75u and hold for settle time. But then, I prefer to keep PK in the 100-low 300 range as he does best there. He is physically reactive in a negative way when he goes from low double digits to high 300's and back...

Things are looking good for you all! :thumbup
 
Marci and Buddy said:
actually,i was thinkning of going to a thin.75,
do you think i should go to .50 instaed?

Well, if a thin .75U is more like .6U or so, that might be a good enough drop.

I am the person who likes to do increases/decreases by percentage. The problem here is you need room to move up, rather than trying to squeak down one notch at a time.

IMO it is better to drop to a lower dose from which you have room to move up to the best dose rather than trying to work down to the best dose. Moving down in dose is fine when they are heading for OTJ, it just does not seem to work when needing to find the best dose which gets the whole ball rolling on regulation. You have to regulate first before you can wean off the juice.

Please see this thread from Health, in which a similar situation was occurring: viewtopic.php?f=28&t=32488

The consensus there was to drop the dose in half. Again going from 300s to 50s is pretty harsh, which suggests too much insulin. A drop from .75 to .5U would be a 33% decrease. Not quite half. My reason here is the same as there - you want a flatter curve.
 
i am just now seeing these replies...not sure why.
i had already dropped him to a 50U days ago...now which way to go? could he be rebounding now and time to go down further?
 
Marci and Buddy said:
i am just now seeing these replies...not sure why.
i had already dropped him to a 50U days ago...now which way to go? could he be rebounding now and time to go down further?

Marci, in the post above Vicky suggested .6 or a thin .75.

Also, when you get a drop into those 50's try and just feed him some raw food or even some cooked chicken breasts....something very low carb. It is not necessary to feed a HC food like the grilled FF unless he is around 40 or below especially since you are home to monitor him (or unless you get a low number at the beginning of the cycle then you would want to feed something a little higher carb).

Possibly by doing that he won't climb back up so high for the next preshot and may just surf in the double digits or so. Then maybe you would have a lower preshot to shoot.

I wouldn't raise the dose above .75, at least not yet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top