bUddy bg 83 at +12.5...shot Q??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marci and Buddy

Member Since 2009
wow what a time he picks to surf! ohmygod_smile
was 90 at +12 , going down ,guess i'll just wait and see what +13 brings ..
or do i shoot a 1 u now, instead of F1.25?
 
As long as Buddy isn't diving, I would definitely give something by +14. Once you have passed that point, then you should skip the shot all together. Does Buddy have a history of food spikes?
 
That sounds fine - glad you gave some insulin and .75u should make it OK to shoot his regular time tomorrow if you reduce that shot a little too.

I'm thinking he needs a little less than 1.25u so he doesn't bounce into the 300s so much. I just posted the same thing to Kelly (Oscar). A little bit of a reduction might lesson the swings a bit - maybe 1.15u or so.
 
Marci and Buddy said:
ok it is now +14 he is at 172-will give .75 not F1.25 -how does that sound?
small food spike , yes not much.

You might have been okay shooting the +13 number of 124 safely since he was on the rise, but it sounds like this was after feeding? Next time try to hold off if you can in giving food so the number is a true number and not from food.

Buddy is hard to figure out, at least for me. He did so much better before on a much reduced dose, but that was over a year ago. And then the period on your SS where you weren't sure of the dose you were giving....I am still not sure what happened there.

Sometimes when I look at his SS it seems that he is constantly bouncing, just like before. But then I wonder about his eating habits and think maybe he just is such a grazer that is why he goes so low at times - not enough food. You didn't answer my question here from another thread so just wondering still.....

"But I wonder does he always get the same amount of food at shot time, or does he dilly dally around with his food so that he ends up going low like this at times once the insulin kicks in. I have to make sure Tigger eats enough at shot time, always have, or he will tend to go low earlier in the cycle."
 
Pamela -sorry,i thought i did respond to your question earler, but yes Buddy is a grazer-he basically eats alittle every few hours, i make sure he eats with every shot.
he is very hard to figure out-his body is ultra sensitive ,and it's upsetting that he keeps bouncing, not sure why.Tonight i will do what Sheila suggested, give him
1.15 u to try reduce the bounce, paws crossed. thanks very much for your help.
 
Marci and Buddy said:
Pamela -sorry,i thought i did respond to your question earler, but yes Buddy is a grazer-he basically eats alittle every few hours, i make sure he eats with every shot.
he is very hard to figure out-his body is ultra sensitive ,and it's upsetting that he keeps bouncing, not sure why.Tonight i will do what Sheila suggested, give him
1.15 u to try reduce the bounce, paws crossed. thanks very much for your help.

Sometimes I think maybe we just get hung up on the whole bounce theory and forget where food factors into the equation.

Just think about this...if your cat got a certain amount of food measured out everyday, morning and night, and a small amount as a snack say, in between. So you controlled this food intake, wouldn't you be able to see more of a response to insulin that was true?

We talk about not feeding food so as to prevent a food spike if we have a low number at preshot.......doesn't this say that we are reacting to food as a factor in our cat's numbers?

So if a caregiver free feeds, and the cat is getting a different amount of food throughout the day, maybe each day, wouldn't this mean the bg levels would go up and down accordingly?

Cats do, after all, have a first and second phase insulin response to food just like humans (according to how many working beta cells they have left of course).

I understand perfectly well that most people have multiple cats. This makes it near impossible to do what I said above. You simply can't measure out a certain portion for your diabetic cat unless you lock him in a room at mealtime and who wants to do that.

I guess my point is, even though we can't do anything about it in most cases, why don't we take this into consideration when trying to figure out why a cat goes from these highs into the lows instead of saying he is bouncing...can the reason sometimes be because of the cat not getting enough to eat from one cycle to the next....multiple cats and all, or for whatever reason.

Sorry Marci, on a mini-tangent here. Nothing against you at all personally and how you are doing with your boy. Just something that has been on my mind for too long. :YMSIGH:
 
You do make alot of sence , Pamela..not sure i can control his food intake consistantly, as my schedule is erratic, but it is something to seriously consider when struggling with the bounce issue-good point.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top