Buddy 1/16 AMPS 253

First AMPS that hasn't been in the 300s in a week. Hopefully this means Buddy is clearing the bounce.
Hi Kelly! Haven't seen your posts lately....good to know he's doing ok!

Are you using the SLGS protocol? I wasn't sure but saw you took a reduction when he hit that run of greenies the other day...just wondering.

Hope he'll stay out of the kitchen cabinets and be a good boy! Tell him Luci is surfing in the lagoon - he's welcome to join in :)
 
Hi Debra! I hope he can make it back into the greens by tonight as that would be 6 cycles for the bounce to clear. Since you aren't able to get any test in the AM other than the AMPS test, it's harder to see when it's cleared. He is going lower in the PM which a lot of kitties tend to do.

With a dose reduction and you see that the bounce has cleared, you can take them right back up if the reduction isn't getting him back into greens again. The reduction doesn't have to be held for the same amount of time that you would hold a new dose. I am mentioning that because I see on the SS you have the dose of 0.5 typed in the SS for one week.

Is it possible for you to get any test in before you leave for work? Sorry if I all ready asked you that.

ETA: I am sorry, I meant Kelly.
 
Last edited:
Since you are following SLGS, you don’t “take them right back up”, but rather wait the seven days then evaluate the dose, as you have indicated on your spreadsheet. Paws crossed those nadirs come down as the bounce goes away.

How is Buddy feeling these days?
 
Since you are following SLGS, you don’t “take them right back up”, but rather wait the seven days then evaluate the dose, as you have indicated on your spreadsheet. Paws crossed those nadirs come down as the bounce goes away.

How is Buddy feeling these days?
Wendy, please show me in the SLGS stickie where it says that. Maybe I am missing something. It was my belief that there were no guidelines in SLGS for a failed reduction and the same principal was used as TR to wait for the bounce to clear.

ETA: After rereading the SLGS stickie I see where my interpretation was not accurate ,but the stickie also says the below which can leave some grey areas as to how long to hold the reduction.

Keep in mind these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's response to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then personal experience should be your guide.

With experience, you may find that lowering these thresholds may work well for your cat. When you have reached that stage, the following guidelines are suggested for Lantus, Basaglar, and Levemir users following the Start Low Go Slow approach:

Maybe I am interpreting this incorrectly?



 
Last edited:
Back
Top