Bubbles AMPS 182 Need dosage advice, please

Status
Not open for further replies.

greenae

Member
Hi. Second day of halfcan FF Medley, halfcan FF Classic (she eats the Medley part, have to coax her to finish the Classic part, even tho they are mixed together). AMPS = 182. I gave 1u PZI, cause I won't be home, don't want her numbers up, but afraid of hypo. And my favorite color is green. I know you say don't shoot under 200 in the beginning, but she is still drinking and peeing a lot. What do you think? Does the ReliOn Prime run low? Meaning the real number is actually higher than the number I am getting? Or am I confused?
 
No sign of infection as of exam and labwork 09-02-13. She's never had a UTI, so I am thinking that's not an issue now. I want to try for some green numbers, when I get her PMPS, are there parameters for how much I should give her?
 
I would take it slow. She is under the renal threshold (about 250 and below) most of the time so her pancreas can heal. The food and insulin can take a week or more to start working together efficiently. If you try to hurry the process, you run the risk of her going too low, which can be deadly.

Both your recent doses gave you nice numbers. If she were mine, I would stick with one unit over 200 and .5 under it. Get a few days of data and see if she is consistent in her numbers or going down more each cycle. If consistent, you could try an increase of .25. If she is lowering each cycle, I'd be cautious and continue to lower the dose.
 
Thank you! But oops, I didn't read your reply til after I gave her insulin. I had a very tough time with the meter and Bubbles when I tried to get her PMPS. It kept giving me "Error," even though I thought I had plenty of blood. ugh. Anyway PMPS =214, and I gave her 2u. I am wanting to see a Green number.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top