Bubba 5/10 AMPS=97 PMPS=86

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bobbie And Bubba

Member Since 2015
Dental Day


Good Morning L & L ~

My Bubba is back to himself! His BG's returned to normal at +6 last night and I was happy to see this green this morning. Unbelievable what those two bad teeth did to him. Glad I didn't shoot 1 unit last night. He was on .75 and doing well with it before all heck broke loose.

Here's what I did wrong. After his last dental in August, he had not been back to the vet office. Me bad. Six months from now, he will go in for a check up and BW and I will have them really check out his mouth as obviously with this FORLS things can escalate quickly. Also, Momma is going to be better about brushing his teeth!

@Judy and Boomer, he has a hoarse cry again from the intubation. It sounds like he has been sucking on helium. :p

To redeem myself with the vet office after my Shirley McClain spaz out on Monday :rolleyes: , I pulled some fresh rhubarb and made them a strawberry rhubarb pie and made a big bouquet of asparagus . They seemed to really appreciate it. I know I sure appreciated that they got Bubba in so quickly.

Vines to all Beans and Kitties in need.
 
I pulled some fresh rhubarb and made them a strawberry rhubarb pie and made a big bouquet of asparagus .
Wow! Let us know when you need a favor :) My DH would do anything for one of those pies!
So glad Bubs is home and doing well! I just wrote on yesterday's thread about Luci and her dental issues - tried to get her in here in Florida for an annual cleaning - but the vet was too booked up - so will have to make that appointment when we get back to Michigan.

Do you think there is a relationship between these dental issues and feline diabetes? I have to wonder which came first for Luci - her diabetes or her dental problems? I always wonder if she had diabetes before I realized what was going on with her and had her tested last Fall...if the dental issues were a 'sign' of diabetes but I was just too dense to notice other symptoms????? Hate to admit that if she was having issues I was too bewildered to notice :(
 
Wow! Let us know when you need a favor :) My DH would do anything for one of those pies!
So glad Bubs is home and doing well! I just wrote on yesterday's thread about Luci and her dental issues - tried to get her in here in Florida for an annual cleaning - but the vet was too booked up - so will have to make that appointment when we get back to Michigan.

Do you think there is a relationship between these dental issues and feline diabetes? I have to wonder which came first for Luci - her diabetes or her dental problems? I always wonder if she had diabetes before I realized what was going on with her and had her tested last Fall...if the dental issues were a 'sign' of diabetes but I was just too dense to notice other symptoms????? Hate to admit that if she was having issues I was too bewildered to notice :(
From what I understand, only a % of cats get effected with this FORLS. I don't think it has any thing to do with diabetes. Here's a little bit about it.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Feline_odontoclastic_resorptive_lesion

Don't beat yourself up about not knowing the symptoms when Luci was having issues. But now you know what to look for.
 
I didn't see your condo for today and posted in yesterday's. I'm sure you know this (but for those who may be unaware), anesthesia can lower BG. I was shoveling carbs into Gabby after a dental and a PM shot. Keep as vigilant as usual -- it can take a while for anesthesia to work it's way out of a kitty's system.

Sounds like the vet forgot that anesthesia also makes kitty's impossibly hungry.

It's great to see Bubba is back to himself.
 
I didn't see your condo for today and posted in yesterday's. I'm sure you know this (but for those who may be unaware), anesthesia can lower BG. I was shoveling carbs into Gabby after a dental and a PM shot. Keep as vigilant as usual -- it can take a while for anesthesia to work it's way out of a kitty's system.

Sounds like the vet forgot that anesthesia also makes kitty's impossibly hungry.

It's great to see Bubba is back to himself.
Also for FYI that's only in the US. The anesthetic they use in Canada is different and does not lower BG.
 
And look at that AMPS! :woot::woot:
Happy to see that the dental was all Bubba needed!
Boomer seems to need one every 6 months :eek: but I have been brushing his teeth every day and am really hoping that it helps extend the time between dentals.
 
What an amazing turnaround! I’m so happy Bubba is back to himself. I don’t think you did anything wrong, Bobbie. Those teeth issues crept up fast and obviously Bubba’s behavior along with his BGs told you there was a problem, and you corrected it, in 6 days time. That’s pretty fantastic! Unless when you had them really check his mouth they would have done dental X-rays too, everything could have gone down exactly as it did even if you had brought him in a few months ago, because sometimes you won’t know anything is going on without an X-ray. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

I’m sure they understood your Shirley McClain moment but it was so thoughtful of you to make them the pie as a thank you for taking such good care of your boy. ;)

@Juliet there are many different kinds of anesthesia drugs and they are not country specific, so much as vet specific. As a generalization, like @Sienne and Gabby (GA) said, anesthesia can lower BG, it doesn’t have to, it doesn’t always, it depends on the anesthesia that was used so unless you know which kinds were used (often a combination of one or more anesthetic drugs) in advance and how each of them interact with BG, it’s something to be on the lookout for any time your cat has anesthesia.
 
Bubba must be feeling grrr-eat!
smiley-kitty-01.jpg
 
To redeem myself with the vet office after my Shirley McClain spaz out on Monday :rolleyes: , I pulled some fresh rhubarb and made them a strawberry rhubarb pie and made a big bouquet of asparagus . They seemed to really appreciate it. I know I sure appreciated that they got Bubba in so quickly.
That's very nice of you and of course they appreciated it! We might be crazy cat moms but thoughtful and thankful ones. So glad Bubbs is acting normal again so quickly.
 
SO glad the dental went well and Bubba is back to his exquisite self!!! Wish I worked at your vet's, the pie sounds delicious and I love asparagus, lol! You are a super Mama-bean, Bobbie. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
@Juliet :
In addition to @Stacy & Asia's well explained response to your observation that anesthesia is "different" in Canada, I suspect it is more the issue of what pre-anesthetic/induction agent and actual anesthetic a particular vet uses as well as how long of a procedure is involved since induction agents may raise BG but they are short-acting drugs. Before making such a broad ranging statement, you may want to review the Animal Hospital Assoc. of America's 2018 guidelines for anesthetizing diabetic cats and dogs. The AAHA guidelines are referenced internationally. They clearly advise vets to monitor BG levels and to hang IV dextrose if an animal becomes hypoglycemic. I would not want a member here to think that if you happen to live in Canada, you do not have to be attentive to monitoring a cat's BG after you bring your cat home from a dental or other procedure involving anesthesia.
 
And look at that AMPS! :woot::woot:
Happy to see that the dental was all Bubba needed!
Boomer seems to need one every 6 months :eek: but I have been brushing his teeth every day and am really hoping that it helps extend the time between dentals.
I will be brushing everyday too, Judy! I don't want this to ever happen to him again. The vet gave me CET tooth paste but it has dextrose in it and I am afraid to use it.
 
Mr. Flat cat . Gave him some Traumeel pellets as per the Homeopathic doc, so hope he will come down some more for his nadir. I am not giving him the Onsior pain med. I am pretty sure it made him stay up for 24 hours one time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top