BS 11.5… stall or shoot?

Yogi_Bear

Member Since 2025
we started 0.5 units of lantus saturday night.. sunday am pre shot was 10mmol so we decided to skip it..
Sunday night shot 0.25.. am pre shot is 11.5.
Were still getting used to testing and it took me 20 minutes and multiple tries to get the amps numbers so im wondering if i should skip the shot this morning as testing is super difficult at this point
 
UPDATE:
i know technically 11mmol is the no shoot threshold for newbies and the protocol is hold food and test again in 20 mins.. but with testing being so challenging atm, i decided to skip the am shot..

Plan is to do a curve on Wednesday with the am shot (provided hes over 11) as i can be home with a helper to monitor him and check his levels every 2 hours. Also going to buy a new meter today that requires less blood and different gauge lancets, so hopefully ill be able to get a read on the first attempt moving forward.

I understand lantus is a depot shot, and that normally it takes a little while to build up and see changes, however im a little concerned that we’re seeing drastic changes this quickly? I hadn’t anticipated that..

I am also concerned that i am doing his progress/recovery harm by not shooting twice a day 😣
 
Here is the link to your previous post here, so readers have some background: Lower numbers? stalling

It's hard to make a tradeoff between not shooting twice a day, and keeping him safe. It's much better to be high for a while than too low for even a minute. We do have a dose called 0.1 units, which is just barely above the zero line, if you want to try that instead and see if you can get two shots in a day.
 
Thanks Wendy! I appreciate your help and patience while we get our footing with all this 😅

I will try my best to try the 0.1 dose tonight and see how he does in the am. I probably wont shoot am until Wednesday regardless as I cannot be available to keep an eye on him throughout the day.

Is this normal to see when starting lantus?
 
Every cat is different. If you had been able to test and monitor today, you could have shot the 0.25 units.
Thanks Wendy! I did shoot the 0.1 as suggested last night. This morning amps was 15.6
The trouble with the small dose was I wasn’t sure he got anything at all lol very difficult to see on the syringe

Positive note, with the new meter/lancets I was able to get him on the second poke this morning! Progress! 😄
 
Back
Top