? Brat PMPS 235

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty and Blue GA & Brat

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/im-back-but-with-brat-diagnosed-today.277857/

Brat was at the vet all day but they haven't emailed the results from all the readings they took today. I have to take Teddy tomorrow so I will remind them to send.
When I picked Brat up this afternoon the vet mentioned the first reading she did was in the 100s which was
amazing because I haven't seen below 200. She said the afternoon went up into the 350 numbers. That's confusing since tonight she's much lower. The vet thinks maybe give 1 unit in the morning when I can watch her all day and .5 in the evening. I said I'd ask "the girls" and she was okay with that.
Tonight as I posted in the title is 235 and I gave her a fat .5 of insulin.
I will post the curve tomorrow. I take her back in 2 weeks and she wants to run the fructosamine test.
Any thoughts about this dose change? I'll get a SS done soon.
 
Last edited:
What insulin are you giving Brat? Can you add him to the signature please? If it is Lantus, you would be better giving the same dose both shots.
I would look at 0.75 U for both cycles and see how that goes.
 
What insulin are you giving Brat? Can you add him to the signature please? If it is Lantus, you would be better giving the same dose both shots.
I would look at 0.75 U for both cycles and see how that goes.

Yes, Lantus. When I tried adding it to my signature it wouldn't take it. I didn't want to erase Blue but maybe it will work if I put Brat first. I'm not ready to erase Blue. :rb_icon:

That's what I was thinking it should be the same dose. I did exactly that last night and this morning. Thanks
 
Hi Patty. I’ll tag Bhoona to help with the signature. @Bandit's Mom

Don’t erase Blue. :bighug:I can’t even add GA to mine.

Thank you...I still miss Bluebird. The thought of erasing all the data brought tears to my eyes.

I'm giving .75 twice a day and will get with the program again soon.
I found instructions on adding a spread sheet but only got so far before messing up. :arghh:
This is the curve from yesterday 5/31/2023 they sent me this morning.

8 a.m. - 168
9 a.m. - fed and administered clavicillin and insulin .5 units
9:28 a.m. - 161
10:50 a.m. - 199
2:30 p.m. - 269
3:30 p.m. - 342
4:30 p.m. - 326

What do you think?
 
I think increasing was the right thing to do. Once you have the ss link I’d move to the LLB forum. If you want to copy and paste the link to your condos until Bhooma can help you, you could start posting there now.
 
I can’t remember how to link the threads or how to copy and paste on a PC. The last time I used my laptop is when I lost Blue. I’m on my iPhone right now. I’ll try to read more tomorrow to refresh.
Brat was high tonight. 380
It just occurred to me…maybe Sally remembers. She was here longer than I was. I’ll call her tomorrow.
 
Do you know how on the iPhone?Hold your finger down on the url bar at the top and then hit copy. Then in hold your finger in the box and paste it.
 
Last edited:
Sorry, I'm still not up to speed. I'll get there but in the meantime, Brat has a PMPS of 99 so I haven't given the new dose of .75 tonight and won't unless you think I should? That is only her second shot of .75 Lantus.
@tiffmaxee

I had to google how to tag. I couldn't remember.
 
Last edited:
I’m just seeing this. Did you feed Brat? Don’t increase for sure. Get another test to see if tge bg is rising hopefully without food.
 
If you fed I think you need to skip and stick with .50. If you have not fed what’s the latest bg?
 
If you fed I think you need to skip and stick with .50. If you have not fed what’s the latest bg?

I fed her around 7:30 and took her BG at 8:45. I try to shoot her at 9 and 9. So go back to the .5 in the morning?

Working on the signature. I put Blue's in my profile since it wouldn't allow me to have so many lines. I've got a working SS.
 
Patty, you don’t want to feed her two hours before insulin. That was too low because it was food influenced. The order is test, feed , shoot. You test to make sure the bg is high enough to shoot. Then you feed to make sure they will eat and then shoot immediately. Can you give the insulin at shot time? That would be the way to do it.
 
Thanks for the reminder. I have a schedule for the cats because they are all on different medicines. I feed at 8-8:30 again at 2:30-3 and
at 7:30. These guys are ruthless if I go into the kitchen. Let me see what I can figure out. I still have trouble testing her. She is not cooperative and is being a Brat. It's hard to get blood too. Blue was so easy.
Thanks, I'll see what I can do.
 
If you want to stick with your schedule can you give insulin at 8?

You're reading my mind. I was just thinking I could do that but the first thing is to test right? Then I can feed and pill then shoot Brat.
I think I can move the feeding around. I have not done this in so long my memory is blank. I need to read. Thanks
 
I have been giving treats but hoping she’ll get used to it. I have only been testing PMPS since I was having such a hard time with her. This morning was a first and she wasn’t having it.
I’m going out for awhile so will probably have to test when I get back.
 
Good. If there’s a high carb food (20+%) she can eat or even middle carb (10-15%) it would be good to have some on hand as food keeps tge bg up should it drop too low. Karo or honey works but wears off quickly.
 
Oh no, I forgot about the high carb food necessary for controlling blood sugar. She can't eat cat food for some reason. That's why she eats Smalls chicken or rotisserie chicken.
 
Then you will need to use Karo or honey. Do you know the carb percent in Smalls?

Smalls is just chicken. I looked for a label with ingredients but there isn't one. I was just checking Purina One dry food and it looks like it's high carb. She does okay with eating a little of it.

Brat has lots of issues. Triaditis is inflammation of pancreas, liver and small intestine. She's been doing pretty well on the Smalls. She has had chronic diarrhea and got down to 4 lbs. She has been hospitalized a few times with pancreatitis. In other words, not a healthy girl. Most cats have 9 lives but Brat has 20. This new diagnosis of diabetes will be a challenge to get under control. She only weighed 4 lbs. until I stopped feeding her cat food. I feed Smalls or I grind chicken and add taurine.
 
Last edited:
If you feed any dry you can’t do TR. Dry food sticks with them too long. I’d get one more test. Is it getting easier?
 
If you feed any dry you can’t do TR. Dry food sticks with them too long. I’d get one more test. Is it getting easier?

Yes, her ears are bleeding....sometimes a lot. More than Blue ever did. I found a couple of cans of gravy lovers that's high in carbs.
I'd rather not feed her cat food unless I have too. I'm going to test her again now.

She's back up to 88 now. You think she's out of the danger zone or should I check her again? I haven't given her any food. What do you think?
 
Last edited:
Since you haven’t fed her I think you can stop. If she wants it you can give her a little of her food though.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top