brand new! what are GOOD numbers? PMPS 128

Status
Not open for further replies.

MJ and Gobnait

Member Since 2011
My vet told me i didn't want her to go below 100 on he 2x 2.0 units of Lantus and I had a panic last night when she tested at 86! Gobnait is a 9 year old kitty now on insulin just over a week. She hovered around 120-180 over the weekend of the 4th when i stayed home and tested her 5x daily. It seems to be dropping now. In fact, i just popped of to poke her and shoot her whilst in the middle of this and (I'm learning the jargon) her PMPS was 128.

Does someone just have a simple guideline of what is good and what is bad or is it that I just have to observe my cat and learn what is problematic? why am i having such a hard time with these numbers?

she was at 108 about two hours ago which bis when i started searching around on this board for some answers.

When can she go OTJ?
 
This is what I posted in your thread on Health:
Numbers below 120 are considered normal blood glucose. As far as how low, we do not like to have our cats sitting below 50 for any length of time if they are getting insulin. Below 50 increases the risk for hypoglycemia. Make sure you have some high carb food (for example, varieties of Fancy Feast that have gravy -- grilled, marinated, roasted or Gravy Lovers) or Karo (or other) syrup in the house if you need to bump numbers up.

There are several insulin specific support groups here. If you check in with the group based on which insulin you're using, you may be able to get more information specific to your needs.

Without having any BG test numbers on Gobnait, there's no easy way to tell you whether she's close to OTJ. Her numbers sound very good from what you've said. For the sake of comparison, take a look at Curry's spreadsheet. Curry went OTJ on 7/6. You may want to put together a spreadsheet so it will be easier to see how Gobnait is doing. You can find the instructions in the Tech Support forum.

Without being able to see Gobnait's numbers, we will have a hard time judging if she's (or you) are data ready. Basically, this means we have a week or so of test data to gauge pre-shot numbers but even more so her nadir and other spot checks. Being data ready means you know when Lantus onset and nadir typically are and what kind of duration you're getting from Lantus.
 
Hi, MJ and Gobnait! Welcome to the board. :)

Here are some stickies that'll help you understand better. You will also need to get a spread sheet set up in your signature line so that those that are more experienced than I can help you with dosing, etc. Most of the people on here feed their kitties wet food only. Here are 2 lists of the foods with their carbohydrate, protein, and caloric numbers for you to review:

http://binkyspage.tripod.com/CanFoodNew.html

http://binkyspage.tripod.com/CanFoodOld.html

Here are some stickies that'll help you understand.

STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - NEW TO THE GROUP? PLEASE READ...

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139

STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOL

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - INSULIN DEPOT -AKA- STORAGE SHED

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=150

I'm sure that someone will come along to help you get started. Again, welcome! :) You've definitely come to the right place. :)
 
thanks everyone! i only charted her the first long weekend as i thought the point was just to get her dosage right. i was on the phone with the vet a few days and we went form 3 units to 2. i'll get back to charting.

ALSO although her numbers seem good (and now i know they do at least) her neuropathy hasn't gone away. in fact I'm seeing it now in the front legs.

I also have her on zobaline.

with that in mind... do i stick with the insulin or is the neuropathy about bs levels and not insulin? i THINK she's only had the neuropathic symptoms for about two weeks.

the neuropathy is so hard to watch :(
 
It takes at least a month for the methyl-B12 (Xobaline) to begin to work. Give it a bit more time. Prolonged hyperglycemia can cause the neuropathy. The insulin is helping to address the high BG levels. The Xobaline is there to directly address the neuropathy.
 
Thanks Sienna. and my work PC won;t allow me to access my google account for the spreadsheet. I'm finally encouraged to get my home PC fixed!

I'll keep charting and posting and will transfer to google account as soon as i can. I will also continue on with insulin. if the numbers are good then it sounds like i dont change the dosage and i definitely stick with the zobaline.

glad I don't have to panic that she's TOO low!
 
No, you don't have to panic with the low #. Actually, that PMPS is a good #. :) As soon as you get your spreadsheet set up, those with more experienced eyes than my own will be able to help you with dosing, etc. This forum is extremely helpful.

What food are you feeding, if you don't mind my asking? That's another great place to get started on as carbs affect cats in different ways. Some cats can handle the high carbs, some prefer medium carbed food, others prefer the lower carbed food, and some do better on no carbs at all. ECID = every cat is different. :)

Again, welcome! :)
 
i'm giving her low carb canned now. before diagnosed she was on all dry to keep her weight down. :( she does NOT like the food from the vet and the other cat (not diabetic but has to share diet) likes it even less so i'll be testing a few options.

this morning after her shot (AMPS 121) I gave her some turkey.
 
Hello and welcome!! You've been given links to tons of good information... when you're just starting out, you'll find a wealth of info here, and the learning curve can be steep, but pretty short. I recommend printing out all of the stickies and putting them into a binder or presentation folder with clear pages. On the cover or first page, put the contact info for your vet as well as the contact info for a 24 hr vet if there is one in your area. If you aren't familiar with the location for the ER vet, put directions in there as well. I found the binder to be extremely helpful, as I often couldn't remember which sticky had the info I needed at a given moment, and having print outs let me write my own notes on the pages as well. I referred back to them for months!

Lucky for you, there are MANY good alternatives to the food recommended by your vet. Janet and Binky's Food Chart is a good starting point. We recommend choosing foods under 10% carbs for daily use, though many of us have kitties that are especially sensitive to carbs so we stick to under 5%. I personally feed Willie Merrick BG Turkey and Wilderness Duck as they are low in both carbs and phosphorus, and are high in protein. I find that he eats less of these as they have less water than less expensive brands, so it tends to balance out in the long run. People here feed all different brands of food, raw diets, etc... there are dozens of choices that will work for both your cats!

Please continue to ask questions as you have them!
 
welcome to Lantus Land!

it sounds like Gobnait is doing great. PLEASE keep testing as often during the middle of the cycle as you can. When you are getting such low preshot readings, and also getting readings under 100 in mid-cycle, then you have to step up and test quite a bit. Without seeing the numbers, we can't tell you if your dose is safe or not. Stay on top of things.
 
Re: brand new! what are GOOD numbers? AMPS 121 +5 86 PMPS 10

thanks!

I got a mid cycle in at 86 and PMPS just now at 107. I just feel so weird giving her TWO units of insulin with such "normal" numbers. I'll test her a few times again this evening and keep and eye on her. i have to go into the office so can't test mid day at all :(

AMPS 121 +5 86 PMPS 107
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top