Brand new to this and have a few questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dana

Member Since 2012
So my cat Max is almost 12, and he's always been consistently around 20 pound. Overweight, I know, but he does have a pretty big frame to begin with. Anyway, about a year and a half ago, he started drinking and peeing a whole lot. This has increased over time, to the point that he was draining a 20 ounce bowl of water every day. I weighed him one day a couple weeks ago and realized that his weight had dropped to 16 lbs. He was eating normally, dry food from Wellness. He started sniffling so I took him into the vet. They gave me antibiotics for the sniffling, gave him some fluids, and took a blood and urine sample. The results came back 2 days later that he was diabetic (blood glucose 421). So I started, as the vet recommended, feeding him science diet m/d canned food immediately but had to wait 2 days before I could get insulin. In those 2 days he didn't drink or pee excessively in the slightest.I started the insulin today (2 units after both meals) but now I'm curious, is it significant that he already stopped with the drinking and peeing with only a change in diet? Could the blood glucose levels have spiked so because of stress and being at the vet? I'm going to continue with the insulin, but I want to know what you guys think.

Another question: My vet wants to hospitalize my cat to do a glucose curve. I'm concerned her readings won't be as accurate because he'll be really stressed at the vet. Should I attempt to do my own? I asked her about monitoring it and she said it was way too hard and complicated to get blood from a cat, but I watched a video of how to do it on youtube, and I have access to a blood glucose meter. I'm kind of annoyed that she just wrote me off about it, but I'm thinking about calling her and telling her I want to try it.

Sorry this is really long. I'm hoping some of you could guide me a bit.
 
hi Dana
I was in pretty much the same position as you a week ago.
Its scarey and confusing.

The first decision I made, after reading so much on this site, was to go against my vet's advice and switch to canned food (Fancy Feast at the moment), start home testing (wow - its stressful but worth it as you know its for your cat's own good and it does slowly get easier) and ignore the vet's dosage instructions (1 shot Lantus per day).
I'm gearing up for our first curve on Friday - at home - there's no way my Honey's numbers would be accurate at the vet's due to stress.

In just over a week I've noticed a big difference in my Honey - she's more alert, playful and is starting to cut down on food.
Her testing numbers are starting to hit greens (green is good!) mid-cycle so things are looking so much better.

Read everything on this site - its so full of information and first-hand experience. Everyone is really helpful and truely care about your Max.

More knowledgeable members will respond but I just wanted to let you know that you're not on your own!
 
Dana said:
...is it significant that he already stopped with the drinking and peeing with only a change in diet? [/b] Could the blood glucose levels have spiked so because of stress and being at the vet? I'm going to continue with the insulin, but I want to know what you guys think.

Another question: My vet wants to hospitalize my cat to do a glucose curve. I'm concerned her readings won't be as accurate because he'll be really stressed at the vet. Should I attempt to do my own?

Hi Dana,

Welcome to FDMB!

First off, can you please tell us what insulin your cat is on?

That's a great first response to your post that Denise has written. It really warms my heart to see people learn so fast here and then reach out to encourage others because of their own experience. And it looks like you're learning pretty fast too! And you're asking all the 'right questions'. :smile:

You are right to be concerned.

So, the vet took a blood test, and on the basis of that one test prescribed 2 units of insulin and told you to switch to prescription wet food? Yes, it's highly likely that removing the dry food could reduce your cat's blood glucose levels. So much so, that some lucky cats can cease to need insulin afterwards and become diet-controlled. So, the BG number that your vet based the dose on was almost certainly too high. It's also true that some cats get really stressed about being at the vets and that alone can inflate their BG levels. And the fact that your cat has had an infection could have raised his BG numbers too...

I rarely give dosing advice, but in this case would strongly suggest that you REDUCE the insulin dose immediately to one unit. We advocate a 'start low and go slow' approach to insulin dosing.

And yes, do please start testing your cat's blood glucose at home. All of us here have learned how to do it and so can you. We can help you. :smile:

At the very least it's important to test your cat's BG before each insulin shot. You need to know that it's OK to give your cat that insulin. For beginners the advice here is that you don't give a shot if the BG is below 200 (11 outside of the US).

And it's important too to get checks during the insulin cycle. That's because you'll need to know how low your cat's BG is dropping at the peak of the cycle (usually in the region of 4 - 6 hours after giving insulin.)

Yes, you can also do the blood glucose curve at home. That will mean checking your cat's BG every couple of hours during the cycle. It will be less stressful for your cat if you can do this at home, and a lot cheaper for you!

Regarding diet, you don't need to feed your cat prescription food either. Ordinary good quality low carb canned food is fine. I don't live in the US and so can't suggest brands, but others will have lots of suggestions.

I'm going to find a few links for you to read and will pop back in a short while with those.

You are going to do just fine. Welcome aboard!

Edited to add links:
Start Low Go Slow http://binkyspage.tripod.com/SLGS.html
Hometesting pics and guide http://www.sugarpet.net/bloodtst.html
Diet http://catinfo.org/?link=felinediabetes
Hypos! How to recognise and treat them http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=15887
 
Dana said:
... So I started, as the vet recommended, feeding him science diet m/d canned food immediately but had to wait 2 days before I could get insulin. In those 2 days he didn't drink or pee excessively in the slightest.I started the insulin today (2 units after both meals) but now I'm curious, is it significant that he already stopped with the drinking and peeing with only a change in diet? Could the blood glucose levels have spiked so because of stress and being at the vet? I'm going to continue with the insulin, but I want to know what you guys think.
The glucose levels probably have improved by using the M/D, thus the reduced drinking and peeing. Vet stress will raise the glucose some - we've had reports of 100 points difference between tests at the vet vs at home.

And by the way, you can feed over the counter low carb foods that actually may be better for your cat than the expensive prescription foods.

The insulin dose prescribed may be TOO MUCH now for these new levels. Also, your vet is having you change diet and adding insulin at the same time - without home testing, you won't know if that is too much change at once and your cat could wind up in a hypoglycemic crisis ... and possibly die. It may be safer to drop to 1 unit to reduce that chance. At the very minimum, please take a look at my signature link for Secondary Monitoring Tools to see some crude ways to monitor the diabetic cat and get started. Also, please read this post How to treat HYPOS - THEY CAN KILL! Print this Out!! and get prepared with the supplies needed to treat a hypo.

Dana said:
Another question: My vet wants to hospitalize my cat to do a glucose curve. I'm concerned her readings won't be as accurate because he'll be really stressed at the vet. Should I attempt to do my own? I asked her about monitoring it and she said it was way too hard and complicated to get blood from a cat, but I watched a video of how to do it on youtube, and I have access to a blood glucose meter. I'm kind of annoyed that she just wrote me off about it, but I'm thinking about calling her and telling her I want to try it.
A home curve will more accurately reflect how your cat is handling the insulin; doing it at the vet pays her bills and is less accurate. Blood glucose testing is the gold standard for monitoring a diabetic's condition; doing it before each shot means you will know if it is safe to give insulin. And you do not need her permission to do home testing - its your cat. Nor do you need her permission to read some veterinary publications on feline diabetes and follow the protocols for adjusting the dose; you hold the syringe.
 
I'm one of the people who (at least partially) went against vet advice. Manny was initially placed on Humulin N. I tried home testing and found it too difficult. I'm very picky about what my cats eat and already knew prescription diets are (to put it nicely) complete crap. Using Janet & Binky's food list, we switched to wet low carb food. We still had trouble regulating and getting good numbers. I switched (just him) to a different vet that was kitty specific and I figured knew more. He at least wrote us a prescription for Lantus, something my old vet wouldn't do. Unfortunately, the new vet still doesn't seem to know a lot better but between that and this board, I'm able to learn more and pave our own path. When we switched to Lantus, I did start home testing and am so glad I did. I got a few hypo readings (down in the 20s-60s) that would have KILLED my cat if I'd gone ahead with the shot.

Luckily, both of my vets do not take offense that I'm paving my own path and are okay with me explaining and learning why I do what I'm doing. If you have a vet that gets short with you or tells you this is wrong, switch vets. When you're dealing with any illness in your critters, its important to feel open with your vet.

Word personal advice: I did have trouble getting Manny's ears to bleed. The rice in a knotted sock works great! I have to put it in for ~30 seconds and that seems to get it warm enough. Obviously, different microwaves and wattages are different so test the heat on yourself first. I was surprised on warm I had to get the sock for it to work though.

Good luck with your sugar kitty!
 
Thanks for the responses everyone! I still haven't gotten the monitor in hand. The insulin I've been using is Lantus, and I've been giving Max 2 units morining and night and monitoring for hypo, however I am nervous about it after reading this. I too have read about how crappy prescription diets are, but at the time of diagnosis I had a million things going on and I was very scared, so I bought some. My vet did also tell me that Fancy Feast, which I can buy at Costco, is exactly the same thing, and I appreciate her honesty, because I'm sure she gets some kind of commission for selling it in her office. Anyway, until I have the monitor, I will be really cautious and watch him closely.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top