Brady update

Sara K

Member Since 2022
Just brought Brady into the Dr and he is in remission already!! They took off the free style Libra because I monitored him for 9 days without insulin and his blood sugars were stable. Thanks for all the help!!!
 
Do you go from .50 to no insulin? That’s not how we do it. We would have gone to .25, .10 and then a drop. We then want to see bg under 100 for 2 weeks. When did you stop insulin? Looking at your spreadsheet she hadn’t even earned a reduction from .50. Stable is great but not necessarily remission. I don’t want to burst your bubble but please test at least weekly. I hope he is in remission.

Here’s something to read.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ng-reductions-and-starting-otj-trials.150160/
 
Yeah I can update it. To be honest, his clinical symptoms are gone, his fur looks and feels amazing and he's being part of the family again (he was hanging upstairs 100% of the time and now he's only upstairs like 40% of the time) so I'm not sure if I want to do insulin anymore. He was biting and growling at me me when I would give his shot.
 
Brady must be so happy to have that Libre off! Good to hear he's feeling good again. Can you still home test him and monitor him periodically. We recommend checking every week for the first month. If anything at all seems off, test his blood sugars. He needs to stay on low carb food from now on.

As others have said, we really like a strong remission here. What we don't want to say to someone is "welcome back". It's harder to get a cat into remission a second time.
 
Brady must be so happy to have that Libre off! Good to hear he's feeling good again. Can you still home test him and monitor him periodically. We recommend checking every week for the first month. If anything at all seems off, test his blood sugars. He needs to stay on low carb food from now on.

As others have said, we really like a strong remission here. What we don't want to say to someone is "welcome back". It's harder to get a cat into remission a second time.

He is so happy to have it off! He's had to wear a cat shirt for a month now because he was picking at it.

Yes I can test him once a week. When is the best time of the day to do a blood test?
 
Brady must be so happy to have that Libre off! Good to hear he's feeling good again. Can you still home test him and monitor him periodically. We recommend checking every week for the first month. If anything at all seems off, test his blood sugars. He needs to stay on low carb food from now on.

As others have said, we really like a strong remission here. What we don't want to say to someone is "welcome back". It's harder to get a cat into remission a second time.
Oh and also, yes he will be staying on wellness core smooth wet cat food.
 
Back
Top