Thank you.
I have to step away from the board for about an hour. Then I will offer some pros and cons of each. Thanks for your patience.You asked about what method to use on dosing....Please give me advice on what you think would be the best dosing method.
I have to step away from the board for about an hour. Then I will offer some pros and cons of each. Thanks for your patience.
And pls see my post above to test him at +14 so you can be sure he’s still on the rise.
It is not too late to shoot. We can get you back on schedule easy enough. So go ahead and shoot if you like.
It is not too late to shoot. We can get you back on schedule easy enough. So go ahead and shoot if you like.
I haven’t had a chance to give you the info yet which I’m working on but with him going up that fast, I’d give 2.25u. You could shoot at 7:30 in the morning as long as he’s not sitting in lower numbers (199 or below) and is obviously dropping. If you see that scenario, you don’t want to shoot any earlier than 8.its 830...should I just do 2U...what time do I shoot tomorrow if I do this?
its 830...should I just do 2U...what time do I shoot tomorrow if I do this?
Brady will be looking to eat at 530 AM tomorrow so i will be going thru a miserable bear for sure
I haven’t had a chance to give you the info yet which I’m working on but with him going up that fast, I’d give 2.25u. You could shoot at 7:30 in the morning as long as he’s not sitting in lower numbers (199 or below) and is obviously dropping. If you see that scenario, you don’t want to shoot any earlier than 8.
If you shoot at 7:30 in the morning, you can feed him some LC at 5:30 as that is two hours before you shoot.Brady will be looking to eat at 530 AM tomorrow so i will be going thru a miserable bear for sure
If you shoot at 7:30 in the morning, you can feed him some LC at 5:30 as that is two hours before you shoot.
You do not have to shoot now and you can get right on schedule tomorrow but be prepared his BG might go quite high. He has no ketones and is not post DKA, correct?
If you shoot at 7:30 in the morning, you can feed him some LC at 5:30 as that is two hours before you shoot.
You do not have to shoot now and you can get right on schedule tomorrow but be prepared his BG might go quite high. He has no ketones and is not post DKA, correct?


Now is the time to throw up your hands and say OH SHUT UP WOMAN!![]()


Morning Pat
Just a few comments.
PZ should typically be given every 12 hours apart as best can but we do have flexibility and much more so than the L insulins.
When we need to shoot early, we aim for no more than an hour with a new member. An experienced member might shoot two hours early as they understand how to deal with the time. Because you shot around 8:30 last night, my recommendation to you was to shoot at 7:30 this morning to keep you in about that one hour range.
I also suggested you shoot 2.25u if the numbers were high because we have a technique called “shooting through the bounce” that allows you to get a little more insulin in the kitty when numbers are high after a bounce starts. My intent was then to see how he did today and discuss whether you wanted to drop the dose to 2u based on which method you wanted to follow.
What I didn’t want to do was overwhelm you more when you got up and were ready to shoot so my goal was to keep it concise with a plan you could easily follow and then we could discuss later.
I’m hoping each day brings you all a little more comfort in dealing with FD.
So do you think im ok going to the 2U??? And see how that goes and make adjusts off of that???
Let me ask this, what is the "goal"?
I realize remission is the ultimate goal...However, I do a lot of research, and it seems there are a lot of articles out there indicating the goal of insulin is to get the feline to be in a BG range of 100-300 most of the day. To eliminate the symptoms of diabetes and keep the feline healthy. No excessive water drinking, no over urination....and avoiding constant high BG readings. Is that the goals on this forum or is the goals on this forum to try to reach remission, or both?
It depends on your comfort level.
The only time a cat’s pancreas beta cells (important for producing its own insulin) can heal is if the cat is in the range of 50-99 on a human meter. Therefore, the goal is typically to get the cat really well regulated (which we call tightly regulated). There have been tightly regulated cats who do not go into remission and need just a tiny amount of insulin.
Having said that, there are members here who are fine with their cat being below renal threshold. Renal threshold is where the kidneys dump sugar into the urine; being above renal threshold for extended times impacts the kidneys in the long-term. Renal threshold can vary but is generally thought to be around 250 on a pet meter. One can get an idea of their own cat’s renal threshold by buying the urine glucose sticks and testing the urine for sugar and then comparing it to the BG. For my Gracie, she seemed to dump glucose into her urine at about 200 on a human meter. The lowest I’ve seen a member report (and it’s a small group who take the time to do this) have found their cat’s renal threshold was around 150.
Keeping that in mind, your goal might be to keep him in the 100-150 range.
In terms of dosing, if your goal is to get him to normal numbers sooner where you can aim for him to more tightly regulated, than you’ll want to do the modified dosing method and, in that instance, I’d suggest going back to 2.25u and learning to shoot lower.
If your goal is to just keep him below renal threshold, you might choose to go slower and hold the dose at 2u.
Pharmacy. Urine glucose strips. Sometimes they are combined with urine ketone strips so one strip does both.What kind of test strips are used to test the urine? Do you get them in the common store? Do you have brand names?
It depends on your comfort level.
The only time a cat’s pancreas beta cells (important for producing its own insulin) can heal is if the cat is in the range of 50-99 on a human meter. Therefore, the goal is typically to get the cat really well regulated (which we call tightly regulated). There have been tightly regulated cats who do not go into remission and need just a tiny amount of insulin.
Having said that, there are members here who are fine with their cat being below renal threshold. Renal threshold is where the kidneys dump sugar into the urine; being above renal threshold for extended times impacts the kidneys in the long-term. Renal threshold can vary but is generally thought to be around 250 on a pet meter. One can get an idea of their own cat’s renal threshold by buying the urine glucose sticks and testing the urine for sugar and then comparing it to the BG. For my Gracie, she seemed to dump glucose into her urine at about 200 on a human meter. The lowest I’ve seen a member report (and it’s a small group who take the time to do this) have found their cat’s renal threshold was around 150.
Keeping that in mind, your goal might be to keep him in the 100-150 range.
In terms of dosing, if your goal is to get him to normal numbers sooner where you can aim for him to more be tightly regulated, than you’ll want to do the modified dosing method and, in that instance, I’d suggest going back to 2.25u and learning to shoot lower.
If your goal is to just keep him below renal threshold, you might choose to go slower and hold the dose at 2u.
I wrote the Primer on Pancreatitis if you haven’t seen it. It might give you some additional info. I would definitely say he might or might not have had pancreatitis. I know that’s no help but his results don’t convince me one way or the other. Was he symptomatic?Along the lines of the pancreas, Brady was diagnosed with pancreatitis, im sure you saw that on his SS....However, his numbers are in such a gray area...when he was first tested, he was at 5.5 on the spec Fpl, he had two other tests after that...the second he was 4.5 and this last time he was 4.4....Don't know how much knowledge you have on panc?
I wrote the Primer on Pancreatitis if you haven’t seen it. It might give you some additional info. I would definitely say he might or might not have had pancreatitis. I know that’s no help but his results don’t convince me one way or the other. Was he symptomatic?
But having pancreatitis is separate from the healing beta cells can do.
Did he have an ultrasound? The reason I ask is because even the specfPL and snapfPl can be affected by inflammation of adjacent organs. For example, my Gracie had an elevated specfPL and had several ultrasounds. Her pancreas was normal in every one of them. However, her liver enzymes were elevated and she had some intestinal inflammation. She was never diagnosed with pancreatitis by the board certified feline internal medicine specialist we saw. He felt her test results were indicative of inflammation of adjacent organs and I’ve seen that with other cats in this forum who have had the tests and the ultrasound. Gracie actually never even had any symptoms indicative of pancreatitis.