Boy 5/8 204 AMPS 0.25u, +6.5 94, PMPS 140, +14 153

Status
Not open for further replies.
Have been sticking with 0.25u (mostly fat) for Boy. He still is running in the 200's, but hasn't gone higher.....except was at 299 at PMPS last night. That may have been due to changing schedule and he was getting upset with trying to get his blood. He got another fat 0.25u this morning, and was 94 at +6.5. Did get his weight and he's up a pound from 12 to 13.1 lbs.

AMPS 204; fat 0.25u
+6.5 94
PMPS 140; Held shot
+14 153
 
Re: Boy 5/8 204 AMPS 0.25u, +6.5 94

Wow , looks good , that is wonderful, doing great on the .25
 
Re: Boy 5/8 204 AMPS 0.25u, +6.5 94

I liked the below "200's" a little better, but it might just take awhile, and only a few PMPS BG's were a lot higher. But yes, his cycle's are looking pretty good!
 
Re: Boy 5/8 204 AMPS 0.25u, +6.5 94

SWEET numbers!!! Since we refer to 300 to about 305 as "peach", I guess 200-205 would be ... LIME??? I think Boy's earned the right to have a blue preshot, although I'd be happy w/ a lime!

Looks like you've found a great dose for him... Let's see where he goes from here! Good job!!!

Lu-Ann
 
Re: Boy 5/8 204 AMPS 0.25u, +6.5 94

lol....I like the "lime" color Lu. Well, he must have heard you about a blue pre shot.......140.

Haven't given his shot yet.....still stay with the 0.25u? How crazy is that to go down to a 140?
 
Re: Boy 5/8 204 AMPS 0.25u, +6.5 94

pixiegirls & Boy said:
I tried to update the main subject line, but looks like my "edit" button and abilities are gone??.

You have to go into the first post in the thread, and do the "edit" on that one's title.

I haven't been paying close enough attention to your stuff since Grayson's tests... do you usually shoot him at that low of a number? Most people hold off to 200 - maybe 180. I mini-dosed for about 5 minutes before Grayson showed up w/ Ketones, and we raced up (& seemingly OFF) the charts at that point. Even after a re-boot, we are back at 12 units per day (4u TID as opposed to the 6u BID about a month ago). That means I have no experience whatsoever when it comes to suggesting w/ mini-doses and that low of a number. Heck, in 4 months, I've only seen that low of a number about 5 times!!! You REALLY don't want me to offer dosing advice!
 
Re: Boy 5/8 204 AMPS 0.25u, +6.5 94, PMPS 140

I found the problem.....it's the browser. Can't use Opera for that I guess, but was able to edit on IE.

Omg....you are right. I don't think I've had a number low enough I had to make that decision. Was using 160 as my no shot number. Thanks for the reminder. I guess I should hold off but check him in a little while to see how his numbers are. He'll love that, lol. I think I've been so used to the numbers increasing, I wasn't prepared.

I have discussed mini dosing vs wait and see, etc. with Carl, Sue and a few others earlier, so will see what others think at this point.

Shame Grayson went up so high, and fast on the mini dosing.....they all seem to have their own groove!
 
Re: Boy 5/8 204 AMPS 0.25u, +6.5 94, PMPS 140, Held shot.

No, I didn't shoot, but he did eat. Should I just check his BG in an hour or so?
 
Re: Boy 5/8 204 AMPS 0.25u, +6.5 94, PMPS 140, Held shot.

It will take two hours before the food will wear off and your number is likely to be accurate. But I am guessing you will probably end up not shooting anyway?

So 140 at pmps indicates your dose is probably too high. I think I would lower by 0.1 for amps. Remember, it is likely to be high since it will be a cycle without insulin. But don't shoot the inflated number. Reduce.
 
Re: Boy 5/8 204 AMPS 0.25u, +6.5 94, PMPS 140, Held shot.

So far I've only been shooting the 0.25u. He only ate half of what I put out for him (and they all got the same food tonight). I guess I can either still hold (unless BG is too high) or give 0.15u. Is there an advantage to either one?
 
Re: Boy 5/8 204 AMPS 0.25u, +6.5 94, PMPS 140

pixiegirls & Boy said:
IShame Grayson went up so high, and fast on the mini dosing.....they all seem to have their own groove!

Grayson initially danced some major marathons when we started out. Long cycles typically indicate too high of a dose, so we kept cutting him back. His best cycles ever were during this time... at .75u .4u and .2u. Unfortunately, I wasn't consulting w/ my vet much at that point... and missed some opportunities to shoot him at a lower number to keep him from rocketing to the reds. But the real culprit was the ketones. Fortunately I was testing for them regularly, and like most things, they didn't rear their ugly little heads until the vet was long gone for the day.

The first time he got to MODERATE ketones, was a REALLY REALLY long night! On the phone w/ the ER vet and the NC State Vet School 4 times during the night. I finally got a couple hours of sleep on the very hard wooden dining room floor. Everyone on the board was saying GO!!! I ended up waiting til the morning and being the first one at my vet's office, but ONLY because he was still eating. There was no sign of infection or anything to indicate one - AND he was eating... so I gambled that I could wait 6 hours. Had that NOT been the case, I definitely would've been at the ER! Turns out he had no infection - even in the bloodwork, despite the fact that his breath DID smell like acetone. After that, fear of DKA and his flat cycles kept me climbing. Little did I realize his flat cycles were due to insulin resistance! Hindsight - 20/20!

So, I lost that good groove he had then, and more time has passed than probably should have, but we have a better grasp on what's going on with him now, so we move forward and chalk the past up to experience! And have wisdom to share with others whenever possible! I'm the poster-child for checking for ketones! Best insurance policy you can get in a $10 bottle!!! It'll save you $2-4000... Ketostix are definitely my friend!!!

Glad everything else is working so well for you! Keep it up!
 
Re: Boy 5/8 204 AMPS 0.25u, +6.5 94, PMPS 140, Held shot.

So the 140 might be partly not much food on board. If he is zooming up later tonight, you could possibly give a token dose but it complicates your future schedule. Might be easier to skip?
 
Re: Boy 5/8 204 AMPS 0.25u, +6.5 94, PMPS 140, Held shot.

Wow....that does sound like you've gone through a lot of ups and downs. Hope you can get Grayson back in his "groove"!

I am waiting to catch him in the litter box to test for ketones now. I hadn't been testing for them, but started last week just to be on the safe side.
 
Re: Boy 5/8 204 AMPS 0.25u, +6.5 94, PMPS 140, Held shot.

Not sure how much the 140 is food related....he did snack later this afternoon. I can skip completely, or wait to see if he goes up a lot after the two hours. If he gets off schedule, I can always try just getting him back on throughout the week. Since he only did eat about half after I got the 140, he might not be as high as I would think. Will be just about 2 hours since eating shortly so will see what I get.
 
That's what I'm thinking too. I'd rather not have to keep checking his BG all through the night and see where he ends up tomorrow morning. I'm surprised though with these numbers after the past few days, but I'll take them. Thanks for the help.....not used to these sudden changes, lol.
 
Missed all the action!

I like the idea of just waiting for your no shoot number to pop up rather than shooting a token dose, problem with micro doses is every "normal" dose is really a token dose so unless you want to start trying drops I'd just wait. Plus I think it's good to give the P a chance to try things out, which it did pretty well last night since your +14 is the same as your PMBG (if you don't give a shot or don't intend to give a shot it's less confusing to use pmbg, ambg...then you don't get the "OMG, did you shoot?" responses).
 
Hi Cathy,

I did work out much better holding than trying to figure out what he should get last night. And he still ended up having an AMPS like he had been getting the past few days. Didn't mess up our schedule....and you're right....I didn't have to wonder if I gave a shot or not!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top