Bouncy numbers, please help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Justyn

Member Since 2016
Hi all, my bub Socks has had quite a difficult 6 months since regulation. We've had 2 hospitalizations for DKA (one with pancreatitis as well) but all in all, I desperately need to get his numbers under control. I don't know exactly what's helping/what's hurting him. Lately i've been trying as much of Tight Protocol that i can (testing more/giving more insulin with higher BG readings). Seems like we found a good dosing chart for him, but I'm still getting high numbers. On sunday, we got both numbers to be high readings, and he ended up being very nauseas the next day (could be a bit of pancreatitis or IBD) but I had tested ketones in his urine (they're fine now) but I fear him going into DKA again.. Any tips/feedback would be so appreciated!

Thanks,
J
 
My overall impression is that his dose needs to go up. Your SS shows better numbers when you were dosing in the 2 - 3 u range.
 
That is back when he was on a different kind of food, but it may be the case that he needs more insulin with this new food OR this new food may be the issue. He has history of IBD and with all the recent sickness/hospitilization/feeding tube, switching his diet is not an easy feat.. ONTOP of being diabetic and finding the right dosing for new food, always so challenging...
 
I like your doses - 1.75 for the higher levels, but like Kris, maybe increasing the dose for your yellows from 1.25? The numbers aren't bad but could drop some. I would increase on a cycle you can sure monitor. You could try a fat 1.25 if you don't want to go up to 1.5. (Pull up 1.5 and let out s few drops until you are just above 1.25.
 
Sue, I was very much thinking the same (and Fiance just said it earlier tonight) that he may benefit from increasing. Was going to last weekend but was sick as a dog, and you know how timing works - just started a weird job working long hours due to lower pay, so only full day off this week is Sunday, so may have to wait until then. I'd be ok with waking up in the middle in the night if that's all, but I assume a curve would recommended?
 
A curve with an increase wouldn't be necessary - just enough to get maybe a +2 to see if the cycle is going to be active, and a nadir. Up to you. You might feel safer if you'd increase on a day when you can watch her more carefully.
 
Thanks Sue, I saw your advice and increased it very minorly, from 1.25u for the range he was in, to 1.50u. Got a NADIR @ 210 so that's better than what I've seen lately. Will keep an eye on him. Thanks so much
 
Updated spreadsheet. My fiance things we should try to Socks at 1.75u even when he's at these lower readings at night, as in the A.Ms he is going so high. I even gave him a fat 1.25u (but less than 1.50u) last night to see if it would help, but it seems to made the 'bounce' (what ive been told and assume that those high numbers are) but it's odd they seem to be consistent in the mornings. I know he's not getting into food at night, he could be licking plastic, but unsure if that could really affect it that much... My fiance thinks he needs more insulin, but i think maybe he needs less at those readings around 250, maybe 1u? I just dont know what to think of these high AM readings..
 
Maybe try 2 u when he's higher in the AM and 1.5 u in the PM? Another thing to try in order to even out AM and PM is to experiment with a 13/11 schedule - ie., shoot 1 hour later in the evening to catch a higher PS. That leaves 11 hours to the AM shot and maybe the BG won't have risen as high by then.
 
Sounds like a good tip, will have to think about trying that out. Only concern is how much he rises even in 1 hr at the end of his cycle. In 45 mins he went from 215 to 288, so I would just be concerned about him getting too high but that may help. I wonder if it has anything to do with him playing/excersizing more during the day than at night..
 
Another suggestion to help you figure this out: try getting a test in around +5 to +7 most days if you can. If you can add in a before bed test for several days that would help too. I see from your SS that you're doing AM/PMPS but there are gaps through the day and in the evening that might well give some useful info.
 
Absolutely, i know more testing will give me a better picture of what's going on with him. I unfortunately shoot him at 7pm so +5 is when I'm already in bed.. Weekends are the only time I can, but I've been working OT on Saturdays at my current job due to losing it soon. Only working 4hrs on Saturday so will be home to test his +5/+7 and looking to get some information then this weekend.
 
Absolutely, i know more testing will give me a better picture of what's going on with him. I unfortunately shoot him at 7pm so +5 is when I'm already in bed.. Weekends are the only time I can, but I've been working OT on Saturdays at my current job due to losing it soon. Only working 4hrs on Saturday so will be home to test his +5/+7 and looking to get some information then this weekend.
Whatever you can do will help. :)
 
Got some mid-cycle numbers that are just SO bizarre... Socks has reacted to Prozinc fine in the past, I'm thinking it could be this food that I've switched him to since he's been home from the vet for about a month (Dave's 95% chicken pate). Not sure what else to think with seeing these so-called NADIRS...
 
Interesting. My only idea is that the numbers are within the 20% variance (generally) or at least in the same range. Not sure but not awful numbers. Would have been nice to see a drop. Maybe tells us that 1.25 isn't enough for a yellow?
 
Yes, very interesting INDEED! very odd not to see lower readings. what's even odder is i actually gave him only 1u (fat 1u) for last night's pm shot, and this morning his pre-shot reading was in the yellow range finally (not in the red). Seems like the more i give him, the higher his pre-shot readings are... which i know, they say it's bouncing and it will level out but Socks built up ketones in the 1 day that he had both BG readings above 400 (the next day he wouldn't even eat) So i have to be extremely cautious of that.. I will have to try to give him more insulin but feel so conflicted as i hate rocking the boat... and its SO nice to see him not going into the 400s..
 
And i actually gave socks a smaller 1.25u this morning, which one could say something about those high NADIRS (but i doubt that minuscule of the insulin dose change would affect those within hundreds of points that they're basically off)... But again, even with the smaller dose than recommended, I still got a decent pre-shot reading..
 
If lower doses give better results, then go with lower doses. Certainly sometimes too much insulin can look exactly like too little insulin. I'd try your lower dose awhile. Good catch!
 
Yes yes... still getting better numbers than before when giving him more insulin. Thinking it just may be how this food releases carbs/type of carb/etc... need to look around to see the SS of others who use Daves to see if they have the same issues.
 
Increased Socks insulin needs to .25u more across the board, and it's so odd as im getting low numbers at night, and high in the morning. I know its not him getting into anything, so it's either just a bounce, or more so (what i think) is not enough insulin at night. Any thoughts?
 
Increased Socks insulin needs to .25u more across the board, and it's so odd as im getting low numbers at night, and high in the morning. I know its not him getting into anything, so it's either just a bounce, or more so (what i think) is not enough insulin at night. Any thoughts?
Actually he could be going quite low at night and the reds are bounce numbers from that. Could you set an alarm to get a +5, +6, or +7?
 
I sure could as soon as numbers normal out. and Sue i agree, surprised to see after last nights crazy reading. Definitely thinking it was the thanksgiving cooking and possible scraps on the floor that he got into even though we were so careful.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top