When you started George on Lantus, did you just go straight to the same dose as he was on prozinc? And did you notice his onset and nadir time change much? And did you get the vial of it? Or a pen? I have a lot to learn about using different syringes, drawing it, etc... I've been reading some of the sticky notes but need to study up on all of that.
Thank you! Sorry for all the questions!
Yes, we started George on the same exact dose that he was on with Prozinc. He was on that dose for exactly a month before he earned his first reduction, but he started seeing better/more consistent numbers after about two weeks on that dose since the depot had to build and he was getting used to the new insulin. I also started with TR right away, which you’ll be able to do too.
I never really knew when George’s nadirs were since he was so all over the place and bouncing so much, but when we would go low on Prozinc he would drop fast. Lantus seems more gentle with its onset. George’s onset is usually around +3, but it does vary a little bit.
I have a vial just because that was what was available, but I do know a lot of people like the pens. The people on the Lantus forum are extremely responses so they could probably give some great opinions about which one to go with (if you haven’t gotten it already).
The big thing with the syringes is that you will need U100 syringes with the Lantus as opposed to the U40s you were using with Prozinc. And the Lantus doses are much smaller! I found that half units on a U40 syringe were easier to see because the units in a U40 are bigger. I would definitely recommend getting the U100s with half unit marking though because you will need them.
I’m excited for you for the switch! Most people on the Lantus forum post every day and just one thread with a title like “9/1 George AMPS 110” and then will go in and just edit the title to add other tests, such as “9/1 George AMPS 110, +3 90, +6 61, PMPS 99” You’ll get to know the people there quickly!