Bouncing?

Status
Not open for further replies.

apple

Member Since 2017
Hi,
I'm trying to digest the terminology on this board.

What is bouncing? Yes, I've read the sticky, no, I still don't understand. Would is be considered the same thing as spiking when that word is used elsewhere?

Also, my vet didn't say Lantus was a depot med that is throwing me off. So, for dosing, how do I make in the moment decisions using old data, not the numbers generated at the present time?

I'm so programmed for the units given to be based on the immediate number generated, I'm stuck on why hold the dose and not fluctuate it?

Sunday the vet said use 1u 2xdaily. Monday it was moved to 1.5u 2xdaily. Today vet wants 2u 2xdaily. The vet seems to be adjusting dose based on numbers I give him.

Thank you for helping me understand.
 
What is bouncing? Yes, I've read the sticky, no, I still don't understand. Would is be considered the same thing as spiking when that word is used elsewhere?
Hi, I too am new here but I deal with bouncing often and can show you what a bouncing looks like.
Look at my cat SS. Do you see how she was having good day in green numbers yesterday 04/17 in the AM?
And then do look at her following PM cycle - all in high numbers in Pink.
She did BOUNCING in the PM up from the low numbers in the AM. Bouncing is a process, can go on for a while. I stick with the same dose regardless of her high BG and wait for the bouncing to be over.
My cat has been living undiagnosed with high numbers for some time and her body got used to those high numbers as a norm.
Whenever the insulin injection takes her BG numbers down, to the levels of healthy kitty, her damaged body "believes" that it is in danger and tries to push up, or to bump, her BG to the habitual high levels. As long as her body "panics" after spending some time in low numbers she will do bouncing.But because that same dose brought her down to the desirable numbers I ignore her bouncing in high and keep the dose for some time.
I think that the term spiking is used more widely and in relation to a factor of spiking - as in spiking due to stress, or a recent meal, or anything that temporarily spikes the numbers up while the reason for spiking is present - food, stress, etc. Bouncing, on the other hand is a specific reaction, a process of responding to a perceived danger to cat's life.
I hope this helps. Please note that I offer my understanding only.
Someone with better understanding may correct me later on so please keep asking questions.:)
 
Hey there and Welcome to the best place you never wanted to be! So glad you found this forum as there is so much good information and people with experience that will help you along the way.

Tanya did a good job explaining bouncing in the simplest terms . Bouncing cat last 3 days or 6 cycles ( there are 2 cycles to a day) for most cats but some cats will clear them faster. Here is the explanation used in the stickie New to the Group :

Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).

When bouncing occurs you don't increase the dose even though the numbers are higher because after the bounce clears the numbers will come down and if an increase was given there can be some real momemtum. So, waiting for a bounce to clear is where we have to put on our patience pants ( a term you'll get sick of hearing)

Lantus is a depot insulin and if you click Here and read, it will help explain it better than I can but basically, the amount of insulin you shoot every 12 hours isn't all going to work right away, some is being stored for later use. So, the protocol for holding the dose is done in a systematic way so that you aren't going over the best dose for kittie by raising or lowering by .25 unit. It can take a new dose 4 -6 days for the depot to fill.

Can we get you to set up a Spread Sheet that we all use to track the BGs so we can see patterns and trends and it helps us to help you with dosing questions.
Instructions on how to do that is Here.

Any terminology that you don't understand, just ask and someone will explain. Keep posting and keep asking questions as that is how we all learned. And read all the Lantus Stickies in this forum as they will help you lots.
 
Can we get you to set up a Spread Sheet

I access via phone and spreadsheet isn't possible at this time. In a previous post, someone offered help to set up. I have to find that post.

Thank you to all the offer replies.

Based on reading, he got off on the wrong paw. Insulin and new very low carb diet in the same day and dex reduction of .05. He's usually dosed down on dex by .01 for 7 days then dropped another .01. I'm wondering if this combo made him worse.
 
Could you change your thread title to something like: Help Setting Up SS. I would love to help you but, I'm a tech mo mo and someone set mine up for me. The only person I know of is probably on a plane today flying to France. I'm sure others can help. Oh , I just thought of one I'll tag @Chris & China can you help Apple get set up?
 
In a previous post, someone offered help to set up. I have to find that post.

I'd be happy to help you set it up, but if you're on a phone, you'll need to go to the Play Store and download Google Sheets and Google Drive to be able to access it

Just send me a private message by clicking on my name and choosing "Start Conversation" so I can get some details
 
I'd be happy to help you set it up, but if you're on a phone, you'll need to go to the Play Store and download Google Sheets and Google Drive to be able to access it

Just send me a private message by clicking on my name and choosing "Start Conversation" so I can get some details
Thanks Chris!
 
I'd be happy to help you set it up, but if you're on a phone, you'll need to go to the Play Store and download Google Sheets and Google Drive to be able to access it

Just send me a private message by clicking on my name and choosing "Start Conversation" so I can get some details

Thank you for the offer. Right now, I don't have time to explore and learn how to do those things. The kitty's morning medical routine takes about 2.5 hours and the evening routine about 4 hours. Add to that I work full time and am the sole caregiver (only human in this house). I'm just barely able to keep up (and most days I don't and at this time, there is a lot that just doesn't get done.) Eating, bathing, sleeping and any other activity other than work or feline medical needs are luxuries. I go to bed at 12:30 am and get up at 4:32 am and go all day long. Cat or work. There are not enough hours in the day and the feline comes first.
Thank you again for the offer. I have my info in excel and I'll keep doing that. Maybe in the future we can get it set up.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top