Bouncing???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Erin Lewis and Boops

Member Since 2015
Well, in true Boops fashion, he is confounding my mind once again. I can't decide if he is bouncing or not getting enough insulin. The one recent day that he went down too low was when I accidentally gave maybe a drop more than the .5 dose. Therefore, that makes me think that he doesn't need more. However, I haven't seen greens with his current dose either. It may be that we just aren't catching them. It disturbs me that he is in blacks every morning. Bouncing? A result of his meal at +4?
 
Did you reduce his dose yesterday to 0.4u? I'm not seeing any reason for reducing his dose.

Am I remembering right that he needs a dental? Some cats really improve their blood sugar when they have a dental - not all of them, but many do. If i'm remembering right about him needing one, I'd get that done and hope that it improved his blood sugar control.

He is super bouncy - you can see that when he gets into blue or green numbers he bounces from them. But your dosing decisions are made by how low the dose will take him, so I'd be reluctant to go over 0.5u unless you can really monitor closely. I wouldn't like those black numbers either.
 
Yes, we did reduce. I was rolling the dice that maybe he was going low overnight. I am calling tomorrow to schedule his dental. Is there anything I need to be careful of when undergoing this since he is diabetic now?
 
There is some information on dentals on the New to teh Group sticky, in the bottom section of single topic posts.

I can understand why you'd have wondered if he was going low overnight - he is very bouncy.

Most vets will suggest no food after midnight and either skip the am shot or give 1/2 dose in the morning of the dental. Your vet should give you directions. If you have any doubt about the vet's competency with a diabetic cat, or if the vet expresses uncertainty about getting it done, then you might want to consider a veterinary dentist. We used one for punkin, but he had lots of medical issues from his acromegaly.
 
Sienne put together a post on dentals. The vet will probably have some recommendations for dose the day of the procedure, possibly the night before. Getting the dental work done with a vet that does dental X-rays is recommended. I too went to a dental specialist, since Neko has a heart murmur.
 
I have a suggestion to try IF possible - can you feed him about +8 in the pm cycle? Not meaning leave food out, you probably do that but actually wake him up completely and feed him something lc that he really likes. See if it changes those ugly black AMPS numbers....
 
I don't think Boops is dropping too low at night. There have been drops that resulted in a bounce but I don't think a dose reduction is warranted.

I'm not sure I'd feed after nadir the way Lyresa is suggesting. Typically, unless your cat is closer to remission, feeding after nadir will drive the pre-shot numbers up since there's less insulin available to offset the effect of food.
 
The reason I suggested feeding pm+8 - Doc was handing me high numbers at AMPS repeatedly. Changing strategy, I began to make him wake up and fed him about that time during the cycle. +8 is far enough from AMPS for the food to have gone thru the beginning digestive cycle which raises numbers. We always suggest not feeding within 2 hours of the shot to get a non-food reading, this is 4 hours prior. Just giving suggestions as to other paths to possibly try. Every cat is different, this help my silly boy.
 
First, I'm not really sure what protocol or method you are following for dosing so would it be possible, please, to indicate in your signature line either TR or SLGS? Thank you. Second, I think you aren't seeing any progress because you aren't following any particular protocol or method and that's why I can't tell which one you're doing ;).

My best suggestion to you is to read the TR protocol and the SLGS approach and decide if either of those work for you, pick one, and then follow it as closely as you can. And while there are other methods than those two, those are the ones we use here and are well versed in. I just think you'd see better numbers if you'd dose under one of those methods.

I also don't k ow if you e seen this post on Dosing with Calipers. Syringes are grossly inaccurate and though you think you might be shooting the same amount each day, you might not be and that might be the reason he fell so low 6/8.

I'm also not sure I would feed at +8. It might have worked for Dakota...and maybe would work for Boop, but the logic is a lev cat nadirs from +8 to +12 so normally you wouldn't want to feed then and slow down the effects of the insulin.

You are using the old, corrupted form of the SS. If you would send me a private message, I can get it onto the new SS for you. It looks to me like there are some formatting issues on the one you are using which is one reason why I did a new SS for us all. I'd be happy to do it for you and it will only take a minute but you'll need to PM me if you would like me to help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top