Bouncing?? Increase Dose? 2/2 Spazz 9.3 amps + 3 13.1, +6 15.6, +9 17.2

Krystal West

Member Since 2020
I am looking for some help in regarding to possibly increasing dose, or trying to prevent bouncing.

Spazz is fed Fancy Feast 1.5 cans and 3 units of lantus at 5am & 5pm.

She has been in the Yellows mostly and when she does get into the blue and i give her the usual dose she bouces, this has happened a few times then she stays high for days after. Should i be lowering the dose when she is in the blues for the amps? would that prevent her from bouncing? The vet said that i should give her the usual dose unless shes below 5. And that if she doesnt nadair close to 5 then to increase dose.
So im not sure if i should be increasing or not? Help please!!
 
Hi! Welcome!

I'm not one to give dosing advice but will see if @Wendy&Neko can stop by to help you. One thing to keep in mind with Lantus is it's dosed on how low a kitty goes, not on the preshot values.

Also, it looks like in your SS you have removed the US Tab? The FDMB is largely based in the US and the board "speaks" in mg/dL rather than mmol/L. The original SS Template here did the conversion for you. If you are able to add that tab back (perhaps it's hidden?) or reload the template & copy over your data, that would be ideal. If you need help doing this, let @Bandit's Mom know and she or someone else will get it sorted out for you.

Also for feeding - a lot of kitties do best with a few smaller meals during the day. I feed Jax 1/2 of his food at shot time and then feed him snacks at +2/+4/+6 (I use an auto feeder too which I love :)).

You may also want to read the dosing method stickies at the top of the board when you have time too - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

Hope that helps some :bighug:
 
Hi and welcome Krytal and Spazz. Waving at you from the wet coast of BC. :) Big fan of the tuxies here.

Bouncing - that is everyone's least favourite thing about feline diabetes. But also perfectly and annoyingly normal for cats in the beginning, and even for some who have been on insulin a while. A cat bounces when they see numbers lower than they are used to, or drop fast. The solution to lower number bounces is to get them to doses where they spend more time in normal blood sugar numbers (while gritting your teeth through the bounces). The drop fast bounces can be helped by those smaller meals Suzanne mentioned. Many cats drop fast at the beginning of the cycle, and with testing you can figure out if that is happening to Spazz, and when. If you feed 1/2 hour ish before the drops are coming, those fresh carbs on board will help counter the fast drop of the insulin.

I think you've got enough data to increase to 3.25 units now.

People here chose one of the two dosing methods described in our dosing methods sticky note, either the Tight Regulation protocol or Start Low Go Slow. The dosing method governs how quickly you increase, when you decrease, how you approach lower number preshots. So if you could decide which you'd like to follow, it'll be easier for us to help you. Over time and as you gather data, you will find it's perfectly OK shooting blue preshots, experienced people even shoot green preshots. Lantus is great at keeping lower numbers flat and low. The reason you see bounces after the blue preshots is because Spazz is bouncing from the blues, not because you gave insulin at a blue preshot. If you lower the dose on the blue preshots, there's a chance the bounce would be even higher.
 
Hi and welcome Krytal and Spazz. Waving at you from the wet coast of BC. :) Big fan of the tuxies here.

Bouncing - that is everyone's least favourite thing about feline diabetes. But also perfectly and annoyingly normal for cats in the beginning, and even for some who have been on insulin a while. A cat bounces when they see numbers lower than they are used to, or drop fast. The solution to lower number bounces is to get them to doses where they spend more time in normal blood sugar numbers (while gritting your teeth through the bounces). The drop fast bounces can be helped by those smaller meals Suzanne mentioned. Many cats drop fast at the beginning of the cycle, and with testing you can figure out if that is happening to Spazz, and when. If you feed 1/2 hour ish before the drops are coming, those fresh carbs on board will help counter the fast drop of the insulin.

I think you've got enough data to increase to 3.25 units now.

People here chose one of the two dosing methods described in our dosing methods sticky note, either the Tight Regulation protocol or Start Low Go Slow. The dosing method governs how quickly you increase, when you decrease, how you approach lower number preshots. So if you could decide which you'd like to follow, it'll be easier for us to help you. Over time and as you gather data, you will find it's perfectly OK shooting blue preshots, experienced people even shoot green preshots. Lantus is great at keeping lower numbers flat and low. The reason you see bounces after the blue preshots is because Spazz is bouncing from the blues, not because you gave insulin at a blue preshot. If you lower the dose on the blue preshots, there's a chance the bounce would be even higher.

Hello Wendy & Neko! :)
Perfect!! Thank you so much for the help! The blue preshots insulin amount was really what I was wondering about!! I thought maybe I was giving her too much insulin making her body freakout because she was getting too low, if not for your help I would have probably lowered the insulin dose when she had a blue preshot and messed it up further! I will increase her dose to 3.25 and learn to not stress about the bounces! And hopefully soon she will be in the good numbers. I am going to go with the SLGS method. So far even with the higher numbers she is in good health and not showing any clinical signs.
Thank you once again for your help!
 
Could you add "SLGS" to your signature? That'll help us help you faster. With SLGS, your goal is get to a dose with nadirs in the 90-149 range (5.0-8.2). Some cats nadir later, so we look at how low the dose takes the cat and decide how to change doses based on that. It is possible for a cat to nadir at preshot, my girl did occasionally on Lantus.
 
Back
Top