Bosco's numbers

Boscosmom

Member Since 2025
Ok, I'm not sure what is going on. On Friday Bosco tested at 410 in the morning. The first day we were starting insulin. This is the hightest he has ever tasted! Why would that happen after being solid in the high 200 and low 300s. We have had two days of insulin. Can someone look at his numbers and offer any advise? I'm guessing we should just stay at the 1 unit for a while to see if things balance back out? I tested a lot today since I was at home most of the day to see how the curve would look. I'll be testing again at 9p tonight.
Thank you
 
Here is the link to your last post here, which we include for continuity: Getting ready for Bosco's first shot

When last you posted, you said you were just about to start insulin, but the spreadsheet doesn't show anything in the units column until yesterday. Why the delay? Lantus is a depot style insulin, one shots builds on the other. Until the depot is built, which can take 5-7 days when you first start insulin, it's hard to tell how a cat is doing on a particular dose. During that time, stick with this same dose.

The other thing that could be happening is bouncing. If the insulin is starting to take him down into numbers he's no longer familiar with, he could be bouncing. From the New to the Group Sticky Note;
Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
I recommend you read all those yellow starred Sticky Notes when you have the time. One of the Sticky Notes to read is the one on Dosing Methods. 1 unit is an insulin mount, not a dosing method. A dosing method describes the way in which you change doses. The two dosing methods we use here are the Tight Regulation Protocol, and the Start Low Go Slow Method.
 
Here is the link to your last post here, which we include for continuity: Getting ready for Bosco's first shot

When last you posted, you said you were just about to start insulin, but the spreadsheet doesn't show anything in the units column until yesterday. Why the delay? Lantus is a depot style insulin, one shots builds on the other. Until the depot is built, which can take 5-7 days when you first start insulin, it's hard to tell how a cat is doing on a particular dose. During that time, stick with this same dose.

The other thing that could be happening is bouncing. If the insulin is starting to take him down into numbers he's no longer familiar with, he could be bouncing. From the New to the Group Sticky Note;

I recommend you read all those yellow starred Sticky Notes when you have the time. One of the Sticky Notes to read is the one on Dosing Methods. 1 unit is an insulin mount, not a dosing method. A dosing method describes the way in which you change doses. The two dosing methods we use here are the Tight Regulation Protocol, and the Start Low Go Slow Method.
Hi, I wasn't about to start because I was supposed to pick up the insulin that day. Wallgreens never got it in. I had to call around to find a place that had it in stock.
Thank you for the feedback. Honestly with my dyslexia and ADD I get overwhelmed with the reading. I'm trying to absorb as much as I can.
 
Don't read it all at once, it is overwhelming!

That's too bad about the insulin start delay. But now you've started, you'll learn what we mean when we say Lantus teaches patience. He'll get there.
 
Back
Top