Boots' BG 568, OTJ 2 weeks.

Status
Not open for further replies.

LadyW

Member Since 2017
Fructosamine last week 182. This is first BG check since then. Is this an emergency, or just follow-up with additional BG readings and vet call tomorrow?
 
Last edited by a moderator:
wait, he's been off the juice for two weeks and got a reading of 568? Sounds like his remission was short lived and he needs insulin.
 
Yes. I don't know if I should call the vet or wait and test again later tonight. The big thing - is what level is scary high?
 
that's pretty high. How long ago was your cat diagnosed? What kind of insulin was he on? what dose? What numbers were you getting just before stopping insulin?
 
Diagnosed 18 months ago. He was on Lantus, 2.5 units for the past 4 months. (I had lowered it from 3u since his fructosamine had been running low.) Went in for his annual visit 2 weeks ago, he was at BG 67. Did a curve at home, high was 255, low was 192. He popped high again a few days later at 354. - Note: I was using 6 months expired test strips at that time. Today was one week since 182 fructosamine check.
 
the problem with a fructosamine test is that your cat could have been going way too low and then too high, and that was just the average. Your cat's dose was probably ready to be reduced, but not stopped. Your best chance of getting your cat into remission is to test frequently at home. minimum you should be doing a test before each shot time (test, feed, shoot), and at some point mid cycle. Days when you can be home all day, run a curve, testing every two hours to get a good picture of what is happening. You went from 2.5 units to nothing... it's not wonder his numbers are up. please write on the lantus boards if you want specific dosing advice... I have no personal experience with Lantus so I don't want to give dosing advice, but there are tons of experienced folks on there. If you could set up a signature such as the one below my message with vital info such as cat's age, date diagnosed, insulin used, any health concerns, food your feeding, ect, it will save time from people asking you those same questions over and over. Just click on your name at the top and chose signature.
 
are you using a human or pet meter? The numbers you got in your home curve are too high to have been off the juice. Normal remission numbers for a cat are 60-150 on a pet meter and like 55-120 on a human meter. If your cat is going higher than that than he is not ready to be off the insulin.
 
HI there! Sorry to hear that your kitty needs to be get back on insulin. I agree with all of the info and suggestions Janet is making. After you set up your signature as Janet recommended, please post again on the "Lantus (Glargine) / Levemir (Detemir)" Forum. There are many of us using Lantus and you will be able to get a lot of specific info regarding using that particular type of insulin. I started out with absolutely no knowledge about Feline Diabetes or how to treat it and with the help of the forum things have greatly improved (especially my state of mind!).
 
You ask if you need to call the vet today. The answer depends on how he is acting. Is he acting normal? Eating? Any sign of illness? Infection?
 
Thank you. I have called the vet, and have posted in the Lantus forum. FYI: 5:30p check is 603, he's going to get some insulin now.
 
Gave him 2 units at 5:30p last night. Boots AMBG 119. No insulin, a call in to the vet as to next steps.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top