Boo's Glucose Curve Going the Opposite Way

Status
Not open for further replies.

heldentenor2b

Member Since 2012
Hello all!

My Boo was diagnosed diabetic about a year and a half ago. To date, despite three types of insulin, tests, etc., she still is not regulating. We've even had x-rays performed, ultrasounds, and the only possible underlying cause could be pancreatitis or IBD - she mostly eats raw, so not sure how I can do anymore for the latter.

We started with Lantus Glargine and went to 7 units - no real dents in her curve. We then switched to Levemir and got up to 4.5 units - some better regulation in the 400's, but nothing significant. The Vet also said that Levemir really should not go over 2.5u for a 10lbs cat. Now we are trying Prozinc and are two weeks in. We started at one unit and after one week we got numbers in the high 400's with the numbers going up throughout the day (never saw that before). And now she has been on 2u for the last week and her pre-shot was in the mid-400's and now 3 hours later, 513. Is this common with Prozinc?

Any help would be appreciated. She has been a tough girl. She has not been doing great lately, but she's fighting hard. I just wish I could get her regulated which is looking more and more unlikely.

Ryan
 
Hi Ryan,

I have a few questions for you that will help give us a better picture of what is going on.
1. Has Boo been tested for any high-dose conditions? Levemir is actually a really good choice for the high-dose conditions because it doesn't have the "sting" that Lantus does. What was the reason the vet stopped trying after 4.5u?
2. How have you guys been approaching dose increases? How long are you holding doses for before increasing and by how much are you increasing at a time?
3. What is she eating in addition to the raw?
4. No dental problems or other infections? Any other symptoms she might be exhibiting?
 
Great questions!

1) I've been through three Vets at my clinic and though they have thought about acromegaly, they concluded it most likely was not. I'm going to the Vet tomorrow, what kind of test can they perform to find out for sure (I'm sure I could research online, but I'm very limited at the moment time-wise. As far as the dosage goes, the Vet read that anything over 2.5u would be bad. We also backed-off the dosage to 1u back in January and went up by half units in the event that she was experiencing the somogyi effect.

2) For the most part in .5 units. With the ProZinc she said to just go up a whole unit as she was near the 500 mark the entire course of the curve. We have been doing a curve every 6-7 days.

3) She is eating approx. 3ozs rad cat turkey or chicken (1-0 carbs) mixed with 3ozs Purina DM. The DM was a compromise back in January as the Vet thought Boo was having a Thiamine deficiency. Before that, she was only on raw. When she was first diagnosed she only ate DM, but that was not very compatible with her IBD so I switched her to raw.

4) She did have an abscessed tooth and it was surgically removed two weeks ago. She also had a complete cleaning when she was under. SHe goes in for her two week check-up tomorrow.

Thanks for your help!
 
Hi Ryan, I am not on here much anymore but felt your frustration b/c I've been there (and am still there). I had 2 vets tell me my cat was 'most likely' NOT an Acromegaly condition - when I finally got them to test her, she was positive. Same for pancreatitis - she wasn't showing 'classic' systems but I asked for the test anyway - it also came back positive. If you suspect it - ask them to test for it - at least it will get some questions answered for you and let you know whether to rule things out. I also ended up switching to a University Vet School for treatment which helped tremendously with the understanding of diabetes and all the ailments that come with it. Best of luck to you. I hope you and Boo get better results soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top